Customer Reviews for PENN Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel

PENN Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel

When developing the new SS, Penn incorporated consumer feedback and the latest innovations. The result is a lightweight reel with all the top features you'd expect from a Penn. Trip Friction Ramp prevents premature bail trip when casting. Ergonomic, contoured frame. Stainless steel main shaft. Five stainless steel ball bearings plus one infinite anti-reverse roller bearing. Sealed drag knob. Penn power drag. Techno-Balanced™ rotor. Leveline™ spool wrap system. Corrosion-resistant, gold-anodized, machined handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
29 out of 42(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Big Penn Fan

By
Location: Charlestown, RI
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I am a big Penn reel fan. Their reels have excellent corrosion resistance as evidenced by the fact that, without realizing it, I once dropped a Penn rod and reel overboard at my dock on the last trip of the year. That was in September. The following April I spotted the rod and reel half covered by bottom seddiment. I retrieved them to find the Penn reel in perfect condition after six months submerged in saltwater. My new Penn reel if a fine mid-priced reel with a smooth action and smooth drag. I don't plan on dropping it overboard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Northern Slayer

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great reel but wish it had a release or reverse option.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2012

Penn is now overseas with the lower end products

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very simple, Penn moved their operations for most of their product line overseas. I own 10 Penn spinning reels that were made in America, not a single problem. The first reel I purchased since their move is broken and will stay that way. A very bad decision on their part to move production, all in the name of profit for a certain few. I will never purchase another reel from this company. I work too hard for my money. When will we wise up !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2012

No antireverse lever

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Puchased thru catalog, surprised it did not have antireverse lever. First reel I ever saw without one.
Bad design! You cannot backreel, When you reel up to cast you may go too far or not far enough to pick up the line with your finger; Also, if you get hung up while in a boat thats moving you can't back reel before the boat gets turned around. When you have a good fish on and you get it to the boat it may break the line even if the drag is set right .Back reeling helps these problems. I'm sending it back!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

They last for years.

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just rebuilt a 20 yr older model now I have two. Penn has been very reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Not what expected for the money

By
Location: Nj
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Reel is heavy and the casting poor. The line on the spool i uneven when you reel it in, that causes poor casting and the line getting dangled.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

great reel

By
Location: montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
use it for catfishing, is durable and smooth enough for this. penn reels are just super dependable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Any fish!

By
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Fishing was part of growing up in my family. Whether fly fishing or spinner fishing. My father always bought Penn reels. I still use and own the first Penn reel my father bought which is a "SS-650". Since then I own nearly every size and model. These Penn reels are great for any type of fishing. Including surf, bait, trolling, and spinning. Extremely durable with no problems in quality. Made in America! Awesome Reels!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Looked Good But..

By
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The design of the bail would not pick up the line after the cast. The line had to manually put in the groove of the bail. Really very annoying. I returned this for a different brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011

good value

By
Location: Pennsville NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
just purchased 3rd reel-use for fishing out of a kayak in both freshwater and light offshore saltwater bay fishing, work great for smallmouth, largemouth all the way up to croakers, flounder and stripers...never had any trouble with any of them, simply rinse and lightly oil and they are just like out of the box. Infinite anti-reverse is great, only regret is I didn't purchase sooner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2011

Rod and reel

By
Location: Morrisville, VT
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
At the age of 67, I'm not exactly a computer whiz-kid, so, while on line, I called Cabela's for a bit of assistance. The person I spoke with was able to help me find the exact fishing rod and reel I was looking for. It's for my 12 year old grand daughter who loves it.
Many thanks!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2011

bad reel

By
Location: san francisco
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
after i got five 5 lbs bass, all nut or screw loose ????
hmmm ???
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2011

disappointed

By
Location: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i have used Penn Reels for years and decided to add to my collection. The 420SSg is a newer version of the 4 I currently own. I fished with the new reel two times and each trip I missed large rainbows because the bail malfunctioned. this is unacceptable for the maker of great products like Penn!!! i returned the reel and dusted of my ole reliable ones!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2010

4 out of 5 stars, on 1 of 15 reels, the rest all 5

By
Location: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was a saltwater angler for years and have used Penn Internationals from 965's up to the 130ST's. I love that Penn HT-100 drag system --and because of it, I have been using the 430SSg as my freshwater bass reel for a few years. I have more than a few now, and the only problem I can come up with is an occasional line tangle on the line roller (line loops on the roller) upon initial closing of the bail when the angler (me) is lazy or careless and not paying attention after a cast and lets excessive slack line hang down from the spool (I confess I've been able to do this with almost any spinning reel, so it's operator error)
The 430 is compact and lightweight. I like the size and added capacity when fishing 8# test. A long cast break off isn't going to cost you a set up during a tourney or give cause for a re-spooling to get it back into operation. The drag is fine, precise and everything you already have read or like about a Penn HT-100 system (the best)! The graphite body is tough and doesn't get boat rash easily.
I've fished with a multiple number of these (now over fifteen) and had one reel break down in three years (requires a bail spring spacer from Penn) which has been remanufactured into all newer 420's and 430's and is noted as a repair bulletin on Penn's website should you have an older reel with a malfunctioning bail. The newer ones are fine. The older ones, well it happens or it doesn't is my experience - so far and these reels have each been fished on average between 20-50 days a year.
As with any rod and reel, you have to do maintenance (check for loose screws, rinse, check/clean line, and lube) but the few minutes spent on such maintenance will normally give one a much greater degree of superior fishability for years to come. This is a quality product and has yet to fail me beyond the bail spring spacer issue which there is a fix. Thank you, Penn. Superior warranty service here in the USA.
Overall a great little reel that does everything I want it to and has helped me land many large (12# +) catfish and my last 6# plus largemouth bass with greater confidence and never a problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2010

My old friend

By
Location: Rock Springs, Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Last night while cat fishing my old friend finally gave up the ghost when the bail broke. I've had this 420 SS reel for over 18 years and it never failed to preform! I only cleaned and greased it every few years. I just took it for granted and tossed it around. We've caught trout up to 36 pounds, walleye, huge carp, 6 pound small mouth bass, salmon, 12 pound catfish, and yeller perch to mention a few species. The bronze main gear was unstopable! I'm just heart broken... I think I'll give it a proper funeral in the back yard and make it a headstone and everything. Goodbye old friend!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

The best of both economy and versatility!

By
Location: Puerto Rico
Well, For those of you trying to decide among all these reviews whether or not to buy SSg, here is my story. I have two 5500ssg that have been with me for two years. I use it for saltwater light tackle fishing for Mackerels, Barracudas, Snook and Tarpon. If you ask me, the best combo to have for those targets will be a 5500ssg with a hurricane redbone MH spninning rod. I have fought from 10-15 'Cudas to 30+ Tarpons on this reel with NO problem. That's my two cents; BTW I forgot to tell you that the ones I own were even previously owned!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2009

very nice!

By
Location: Tampa, FL
Just got this reel very nice. smooth and sturdy.
I use it for grouper , black-tip sharks , redfish , and snook and its just an overall reel size-wise.
awesome saltwater reel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009

Penn Spinfisher SSg

By
Location: Manawatu,New Zealand
Used the Penn Spinfisher SSg430 for trout fishing it was perfect for that. I use Penn reels for all my fishing there are none better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2009

Penn 230ssg

By
Location: Texas
I bought two 230 ssg's. After no more than 5 fishing trips, both are permanently retired with the exact same problems: the bails wouldn't snap shut completely. When I took the bail assemblies apart, the trip cam had broken off their plastic stems rendering them useless! Very cheaply made and poor design. It would cost more to replace the assemblies than to buy new! Also, the line continuously got caught in the bail roller--a pain. There are much better buys out there. Disappointed in Penn!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Penn® Spinfisher® SSg-Graphite Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Penn 440 SSg

By
I bought the Penn 440 SSg reel to go with a new Fenwick HMG rod (great rod, by the way). I was disappointed when I openned the box a found the reel to be noticably heavier than their one step smaller 430 SSg and almost twice as large. The big disapointment was when I went to put it on the rod and found the foot didn't fit the Fenwick's reel seat without a little custom filing on the reel foot. All my other reels fit the rod, so I suspect it to be Penn's poor design. Although I haven't gotten it out in the boat yet, the reel action is balanced and smooth and the reel is probably better suited for salt water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 42