Customer Reviews for PFLUEGER Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PFLUEGER Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels

The popular Underspin reel isn't just for ultralight enthusiasts anymore. Loaded with 6-lb. test or 10-lb. test for bigger lures and bigger fish. It sports the same four ball-bearing drive as the original Underspin. And each has a stainless steel front cone and rear cover, titanium line guide and dual pickup pins, lightweight graphite frame, spool-applied adjustable disc drag system, on and off anti-reverse, left/right convertible retrieve, machined aluminum handle with handsome rosewood knob.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.707 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
12
40 out of 58(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Review 1 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Reel

Date:July 23, 2013
Appears to be a good reel, and functions well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel for my girlfriend

Date:May 29, 2013
My girlfriend had a hard time using a spincast reel so I bought her this under spin and she can fish with ease and without getting frustrated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:April 16, 2013
I have used the 1806 underspin for a year and found it the best underspin for its size on the market. The pins do not always retract when casting, but this problem is small considering the quality of the product. Other underspins last only for a year for me. This product has preformed much better and longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never did work

Date:July 9, 2012
Purchased this reel half price at Cabelas; got to our fly-in lake in Ontario and discovered that the reel was missing a part and wouldn't cast. Never had the chance to use it. I gave the reel to someone to check it out, and he said it was a piece of junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buggs island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slabs

Date:April 16, 2012
Very smooth us as a crappie reel,it great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ADEL, IA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD REEL

Date:April 16, 2012
THIS IS MY FIRST UNDERSPIN AND I AM PLEASANTLY SURPRISED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE THAT HAS EVER LINE SPOOL OFF OF THEIR OPEN FACE REEL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for children

Date:March 28, 2012
Bought the reel specifically for pan fishing with the Grandkids. Easy for my 4 year old grandson to cast and retrieve.
I also have the ultra lightweight underspin reel that I bought for ice fishing, works great.
These are great reels built with Pflueger quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bridgeport,Tx
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nifty

Date:January 16, 2012
My father bought one of these to test out, as we do a lot of fishing in shallow water, dock fishing, or around scrap wood piles where accuracy determines cutting your line or reeling you lure back in. Nonethless,throwing simple football jig-rigged grubs into the fore mentioned wood piles, it worked quite well. I think the only complaint is that it restricts the user to a small spool of line. If you are looking for just a nice reel to catch those fish hiding under docks and pile ups, this is great for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wintering in Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1806 Underspin Pfleuger

Date:January 11, 2012
I purchased 4 of these 1806 reels for Crappie and other panfish. They are an excellent reel for their purpose. 2 of the 4 had sticky drags, which I knew from other reviews before I purchased them. This can be easily remedied by taking off the cap, removing the spool and very lightly polishing the inside of the spool with an extremely fine sandpaper or crocus cloth OR lightly sand the stem that the spool rides on. Do not oversand as this adjustment is very fine--make sure none of the sanding dust gets into the gears of the reel. The reels now works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: JAMES RIVER SCOTTSVILLE VIRGINIA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

NO DRAG

Date:September 25, 2011
LOOKED GREAT AND CAST LIKE A DREAM,BUT FIRST BIG FISH I SAY 9POUNDER AND THE DRAG SYSTEM COMPLETELY BURNED UP. NEED TO BUILD A REEL LIKE THIS WITH A GOOD DRAG SYSTEM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bluefield, WV
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Reel

Date:July 30, 2011
I bought this reel two years ago and loved it. I landed 2-3 lb. smallmouth with it not to mention a lot of smaller fish. It began to not to pick up the line when I cranked it. I took it apart and found that the cam on the pick-up was worn. I tried to find a replacement housing with the pickup cam attachment but never did. I have read where others have had problems locating Pflueger replacement parts. My reel now rests in our local dump. RIP.
I would love to have another one but feel that it would just wasting money.
I'll look for another brand that I can get parts for if necessary. Hint, hint Plfueger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Lske Odessa, MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Drag system

Date:July 19, 2011
Very, Very poor, if you like light lines. (2 to 4 lb test) I will admit that it works well with 6 lb test. But You can not tighten it for heavier lines either.
But if you are going to be using 6-8 lb test... It works very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible!!!! Do not purchase!!

Date:June 20, 2011
This reels has trouble retrieving even the smallest of fish. I purchased to use for white bass and it will not get used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: damascus,va
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best reel

Date:June 1, 2011
this reel is the best reel i have had in 30 years, the casting ability is great and the return is smooth as silk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good Underspin reel

Date:May 16, 2011
Nice Looking and highly functional 4 bearing reel the
1810 works like an open face less human scent due
to the underspin trigger. With the 10lb test original
line swapped with 6 or 8lb on a Lite rod they give the
crappie a rough tine. Proper lube and line changes
will keep them functional for a long time. I now have
8 of them with two over 6 years old. I suggest you
leave the 10lb on for catfish or Lake Erie White Bass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great triggerspin

Date:May 13, 2011
All reels have issues. This is the best trigger-spin I've ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good underspin reel

Date:February 1, 2011
after looking at many underspin reels, I was really impressed with the smoothness of the Phlueger reel. what was really nice was when I got a chance to use it. It was awsome. I have always used Zebco 33 for most of my fishing but I have a hard tme picking one up after using the Plueger underspin. the balance is so different and more comfortable when fishing for ten hours or more. I no longer have to switch hands when fishing and the sensitivity is so much more when fishing for crappie or bass. I love the reel. The only con is the single handle which sometime js hard to find when setting a hook and reeling in a fish. Other than that it is a great reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rochester MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never Again

Date:January 20, 2011
I bought 2 of these to replace Daiwa and Zebco underspins lost in a fire. Line binds are a constant problem. I am going to throw both reels out and go with the Daiwa. I would not even consider buying another Pflueger product. Fishing is supposed to be fun - with these there was more aggravation than fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

pflueger 1810

Date:December 28, 2010
When casting out, the line seems to tangle in the cone cutting down on the distance of the cast. I have tried different lines, and different weight lures. I have not had this problem with other reels. I think the shape of the nose cone is the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pflueger® Trion Underspin Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Plueger Reel

Date:September 8, 2010
I had problems with this reel from the start. It is poor quality. The drag does not work at all. Do not buy this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 58