Customer Reviews for Drake Waterfowl Systems Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Drake Waterfowl Systems Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo

Pair up the rock-solid President Spinning Reel with one of Pfleuger's IM8 graphite rods for a balanced system that's high on features and low on price. The President Spinning Reel gives you the ultra-smooth performance of a 10-bearing drive (nine ball bearings) without the high price tag of comparable reels. The sturdy aluminum spool has a strong titanium tip, and the machined aluminum handle has a rosewood knob. The instant anti-reverse, one-way clutch bearing ensures you'll have solid hooksets every time. The rod is constructed with aluminum oxide guides and a top-grade cork handle for a sure grip, no matter the weather conditions. (Spare spool not included.)
Overall Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
82 out of 92(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Review 21 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Henagar, Al
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Crappie Rod-n-Reel

Date:March 16, 2009
This is the best Reel I have ever used for crappie fishing and I can't believe I got it at such a low price. If you are looking for a great deal on a rod-n-reel you can't beat this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Detroit
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Decent reel, weak rod

Date:May 4, 2009
This seemed like a great deal because of the price of the combo with a nice Pfluenger reel. However, I'm on the fourth rod (thankfully Cabella's stands behind their products) after 2 years. Its since been retired from our normal walleye fishing (jigging, casting and drifting) and we use it mostly perch which seems like a waste at that price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape Coral Florida and Grand Rapids Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger President 6740 Spinning Reel

Date:May 4, 2009
This is my second purchase of the Pflueger President spinning reel. I had never used a spinning reel before. I have many Pfleuger bait casters: Pfleuger Echelon, Pfleuger President, Pfleuger Asaro, Pfleuger Supreme and the Pfleuger Patriarch.
I am hard pressed to tell you which one I like the best but I can say that the President spinning reel is the only one I have two of. I love it. I love it so much that I had to buy another one when they were on sale.
I have it loaded with Berkley Fireline and it has never caused me a problem in salt water or fresh water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

spin combo

Date:May 20, 2009
Would buy another in a heartbeat. I have caught Bass, Gills, Cats and landed two 30" Pike off this little gem. Great all round combo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger Combo

Date:May 30, 2009
Great rod and reel for large mouth bass fishing on lakes. Reel is smooth and functions well and President Rod makes a good match.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SportnWood

Date:June 16, 2009
Possibly the smoooothest reel I own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

incredible value

Date:June 23, 2009
I purchased this combo with the 7ft. fast action rod and have been so pleased even though the rod broke when only six weeks new. So.Cal. surfishing can hook powerful sand sharks for light tackle rigs, but incredibily Cabellas is sending me a new combo upon receipt of my broken rod. Customer satisfaction is their middle name, even with lower priced items.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: ill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

to big reel

Date:August 3, 2009
reel to big with rod combo. need smaller reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Central, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger President Spinning Reel Combo

Date:August 10, 2009
I have used Bait Casting Reels for the most part and decided to try Spinning in place without spending a fortune and yet get a good quality in the process.
The Pflueger Combo exceeded my expectations and after the first catch will not return to bait casting.
Casting Lighter weight Lures longer distances is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Cairo Egypt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

excellent reel extremely bad rod

Date:August 11, 2009
I love the reel I have 3 already fast retrieve action and very smooth handle
the rod is a totally different story snapper right outside the box didnt even make it to the first fishing trip
thanks to cabelas CS it is replaced now but dont think i will take this rod anywhere it will remain there in my cabinet with the rest of the forgotten about rods
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GREAT REEL, perhaps skip the pole

Date:August 24, 2009
Used the combo for the first time this weekend, and on the second day the eye chipped, frayed my line and lost me a fish. The reel was great. Switched it to another pole and hooked a 9 pound, 26 inch trout. Reel performed like a champ.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: grand Forks ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo

Date:October 1, 2009
The Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo package was a great set up for me. I moved from out of state and needed a quality set up to do some fishing. It performed well- trolling spoons and casting lures. The Rod has good action for casting and the reel is silky smooth. The combo had no problems handling 24" Northern Pike from start to finish. I can't wait to try it on some other species. The sales person was also very helpful even though I made the purchase that evening minutes before closing. Thanks Cabela's East Grand Forks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Black Hills in SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pflueger President spinning reel

Date:October 7, 2009
When it worked right is was a nice reel to use but it had a bad habit on retrieve to some-how get the line inside the the rotating head and winding the line around the spindle requiring the spool to be removed and untangling the line, keeping track of all the pieces in the process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good luck pole

Date:October 27, 2009
First northern pike (5pds.)caught after 5 casts. Following weekend, caught 3 northern (small) and largemouth bass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger

Date:January 18, 2010
Just purchased my second Pflueger. Love the smoothness of the reel. Great combo for bass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: House Springs, Mo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger ultra light rod

Date:March 1, 2010
Outstanding rod action, light weight, easy to cast. Reel is smooth and easy to use. I like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ferndale, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Sensitivity

Date:April 12, 2010
This is my second Pflueger rod I have purchased and stepping up to the President model was worth the extra money. The reel is incredily smooth for both retrieving and casting. The rod is the major difference in the combo. Great sensitivity has helped with the slightest of bites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mansfield, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger combo

Date:April 19, 2010
very nice combo for the money. the reel feels like something that costs twice the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dawsonville, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Combo1

Date:May 3, 2010
Very pleased with the puchase of this "combo" - Great trout fishing set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Pflueger® President Spinning Reel Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brodhead, Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pflueger President Combo.

Date:May 4, 2010
This is a really nice outfit, the reel is so smooth you don't realize that you are winding line in. The poles are also very good, we used them this last weekend trout fishing and they were excellant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 92