Customer Reviews for STRIKEMASTER StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger

STRIKEMASTER StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger

This clean, quiet ice drill has a demeanor that belies its power. It uses either its built-in battery pack or any other 12-volt power source to turn the blades at ice-shredding speeds. Stainless steel Lazer blades make short work of cutting chores. External battery cables provide an alternative power source. Powered by a Solo® motor. Available: 7", 8". Weight: 7" weighs 28 lbs., 8" weighs 29 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Review 1 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, NH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok- it rocks. Period

Date:February 16, 2012
I've been looking at this vs. the propane to get over the pain of my jiffy 10" I've had for years (and another jiffy before that one). Read reviews on battery and propane and decided to take a risk on battery powered one.
I don't regret it at all - and don't think I will. Here in NH fishing trout lakes you can only have 2 lines per angler - add 6 Cusk lines to that, and a couple more for moving around, jigging etc - I don't drill more than a couple dozen holes a day (and some days by myself only 3-5 holes if that)- even with a couple friends still way less than 50 holes. I fished last few weekends with it and it performed flawlessly. About 10" of ice - drilled about 30-40 holes each day and it never ran down. I did bring my ole reliable smelly gas puffing jiffy 10" as a backup but it never came out of the truck! I'll be selling the jiffy next fall just before xmas time :-). My shoulder / elbow & wrist thank me, no smell of gas, no scrubbing down carb before storing for summer, no spare plugs, no separate gas jug for my auger, and no mixing oil & gas. I've gone electric baby.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good So Far

Date:March 12, 2013
I have only had limited use this winter and things are breaking up so I don't feel that I will have the experience to give a full rating, but it has performed well so far. I was able to cut 4 holes through 24+ inches of ice without any difficulty. There was sufficient battery power to do more. The unit was quiet and easy to handle and my fishing buddies who are gas auger guys also tried it and were impressed. The only reason that this isn't a "5 " is my limited usage but if it works as well next winter as this one it likely will be a "5".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ortonville, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Depends on your use

Date:January 26, 2012
If your drilling inside a house, this is the ticket. If your going around popping holes chasing or looking for fish this is not for you. It is a good feeling know that its always going to start no matter the temp and is nice not dealing with the gas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Item

Date:January 25, 2012
This auger was definitely a good purchase. It's quiet, light weight and no more gas and oil. The battery draws down pretty quick (5 - 6 holes in 20" ice). I recommend buying a spare at the same time. The jumper extensions work great and help make up for the short battery life. It doesn't have the torque of a gas auger so you can't put the same pressure on it when drilling. Let it do the work and you will be just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Auger

Date:January 12, 2012
This auger is unbelievably good. It cuts fast and easy. Naturally it isnt going to cut as fast as a gas auger but in terms of everything else, it blows the gas augers away. The batteries are cheap and small making it easy to buy extras and carry the weight if need be. Starts everytime and no 2-stroke maintenance. It comes with a "jumper cable" to hook to a vehicle or external battery. It also comes with a 12 volt charger which is great because I plug it into my quad. I go on an annual ice fishing trip with upwards of 30 people. It was definately the auger of choice over the gas ones by those who didnt have an auger of their own. We drilled about 12 holes through 16" of ice before you could see a power difference. I then just plugged it into my quad and charged it back up. That trip was when I decided from then on, I would carry a spare battery. This works for me as well because it uses the same battery as my underwater camera and showdown fish finder. On another occasion, we drilled about 23 holes in 8" of ice and still barely could notice a power difference. It is too simple to just charge on a vehicle or bring another battery and keep on going. So much better than gas. My friends leave their gas augers home now because by the time they get them warmed up, Im fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strike Master Electra

Date:January 12, 2012
This is a nice auger if you are an occasional fisherman. For those older that struggle with hauling around the heavy augers or have isues pull starting this is definitly a good auger for you. It drills a nice hole and is able to go for quite a while. Worth the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Babbitt, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quiet and no fumes.

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought this auger for our fish-house. We were tired of being "gassed out" when drilling the holes. We use a deep cycle battery and solar charger while in the house and save the internal battery power to fish outside the house, when we get company or the weather is nice. The auger has plenty of cutting torque. The internal battery doesn't last for a lot of holes, so we use the gas auger when we go "swiss cheese" the lake looking for crappies. It fits the bill for the purpose we bought it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Battery Life

Date:January 4, 2012
Was only able to drill 6 holes through 14" of ice on Red Lake last week. When hooked up to auger is worked great. I recharged the battery and tried again with warm battery. 12 holes in 16" of ice. That is not good enough to head out to the lake with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best auger I've owned

Date:December 8, 2011
I have used this auger for 5 seasons. Always reliable and drills quickly. Never use my gas or hand augers anymore. No smoke in ice house. Re-drills holes nicely. Light, fits on ATV easily using bungies and 2 small 2x6. No need for special auger holder because of flat composite handles. Versatile, either using built in battery or external battery. I use my fish house battery to power auger if I ever run out of charge, which rarely if ever happens. Light enough for portable house. Strikemaster service is tops. They replace blades and check balance for less than $35. Never had a problem. Use often as I am retired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:March 1, 2011
cuts ice fast and easy, great not to have to carry gas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hensel N.D.
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:February 23, 2011
Auger drills good. battery lasts quite awhile, i've been drilling about 6 holes through 26 to 28 inch ice before the auger runs down. I wish it had metal handles! Overall very happy with it for drilling inside my permanent house. Also redrills holes well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cavalier,ND
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet tool

Date:February 17, 2011
Light,quite,no smell,no gas, very nice ice auger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: White Bear Lk,Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good driller

Date:February 8, 2011
Had couple gas augers, decided to get an electric one so I could drill holes inside of my portables instead of marking and then moving the shack to drill holes.
Electra works great when ice is less than 16"-18" thick. I could drill many holes on one charge. even drilling holes for tip-ups.
When the ice got to be 20" deep or deeper it lost juice after a couple holes. Pulled out the extention cord plugged it in.and drilled away just limited as to how far you can go from truck battery. Carry both gas and electa with now. Life is good. Fish away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Austin, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

StrikeMaster Electra Lazer Ice Auger

Date:February 8, 2011
I have used my electric ice a number of time. It has performed perfectly inside my ice house it turns a little slower so you do not have ice chips all over the floor. But the best thing is you don't have all those gas, and oil fumes inside the house. It is realy quiet unlike the gas, and oil models. I think it helps me sneak up on the fish better. ( but I'm not sure!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electra/awesome auger

Date:January 30, 2011
I feel bad for the guy who says he only gets 9 holes drilled outta his auger! But I can honestly tell you my fishin buddy is on his 3rd year with his Electra and I just bought mine last week, On sale ( thanks Cabela's) and yesterday was the first time to use it, our first lake we drilled 16 holes thru 8-10 inches of ice, then we moved to another lake about 20 minutes away so while driving I used the adapter to charge while we drove and then we drilled another 18 holes, and it wasn't out of power. Went home recharged it and went out today and drilled 21 holes through the same 8-10 inches and the power meter still said ready to go! I did buy a extra battery but haven't had to use it yet! So gotta say I love this auger!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Johnstown,CO.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:January 18, 2011
This is the second year and well over a hundred holes and its still going strong. purchased extra battries and a charger just in case but have never used them and I fished a mountain lake in Colorado that had almost three feet of ice drilled over 10 holes and never ran out of juice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Auger

Date:January 14, 2011
This is a sweet little auger. Depending on your fishing style, this auger fits most scenarios pretty well. You can get the 8 inch version, the 6 inch version, or there is also a 7 inch version, which is the one I decided to buy. Right out of the box, the first thing I noticed was how sturdy and heavy the auger actually was. This is, by far, no light weight piece of junk. When you drill a hole with it, you really don't need to put any pressure on the auger. It does most, if not all, of the work itself. This leads to my next observation. The blades are SHARP(of course you will need to replace them eventually). Eats through the ice like nothing. When it gets to the last bit of ice, it may kick or jerk a little but after a hole or two, you should be able to time it just right to where you are able to adjust it at the last bit and then it will not try to spin you in a circle. Not a big deal, most augers do this. Being a battery powered auger, you can drill holes INSIDE of a shelter without having to air it out from the fumes. This is great for anyone using a "permanent" shelter. As far as the battery goes, it has plenty of power and lasts for around (maybe more, maybe less) 20 holes depending on the ice. However, if it runs out of juice, you can use the battery cable to hook it to your vehicle or ATV and poke the rest of your holes. Then, you can use the car charger to charge it while you're fishing (leave vehicle running so you don't wear the vehicle battery down) or while you're on your way to your next hot spot. When you charge the auger at home, the light on the charger will turn from red to green when the charge is complete. Pay close attention so you do not overcharge it. Another thing I like is that there are 3 little lights on the auger that let you know how much juice it has. Overall, I would highly recommend this little beast to anyone looking for a reliable auger that will start on the first click and won't scare every bird or animal within hearing distance away. Keep in mind, this is a battery powered auger. It is not going to out-drill a good gas auger, and by no means is it a speed demon, but it does the same thing with less hassle and you come off of the lake without smelling like a motor. If you are the type of fisherman that pokes 30+ holes across the lake and then moves from hole to hole looking for fish, this is not the auger for you. Go get yourself a nice gas auger. I use this auger to poke 4 holes in my portable shack and then maybe 4-8 more outside and I can safely say that it works like a charm every time. It does what it's supposed to and meets my expectations and I'm sure you'll get along with it just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Power

Date:January 2, 2011
Do not buy this auger unless its strictly for only reopening holes in a permanent house. Ice is 15 inches thick and it only cuts 9 holes before going dead.
I cannot get 10 holes out of this thing. These other reviews are greatly exagerating the amount of holes it will cut. I'm mounting a car battery on my 4 wheeler to
cut holes with this worthless unit. This unit is ONLY
for permanent house use. 10 holes max, not 20.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Niche auger, not for everyone

Date:December 21, 2010
I bought this auger because it has advantages in the starting, smell (in the vehicle), and noise departments. I've taken it out one time so far and counted 26 holes through about 9 inches of ice before it gave up. As others mentioned, it does like to hang up at the bottom of the hole, but my laser hand auger does the same exact thing. I think it would be a good auger if you don't plan to move around much, but if you like to be mobile, which means many holes, you'd better look elsewhere. I'm considering exchanging it for a propane model....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for StrikeMaster® Electra Lazer™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nisswa, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electra Lazer Auger

Date:January 12, 2010
Wow, this is a good auger! Drills great, no fumes, instant starting, no warm up period. Just drill and fish. I will sell my strike master gas auger after buying one of these. Hands down better then any gas auger. Melts through the ice, no issues breaking through on the bottom. Great for re-drilling holes in a permanent. I have yet to drain an entire battery. My opinion is you will save yourself time and frustration going with this auger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25