Customer Reviews for GAMAKATSU Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig

GAMAKATSU Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig

When serious salmon and steelhead anglers asked for a premium mooching rig, Gamakatsu responded. These solid-tie rigs come with 6 ft. of premium monofilament and two sharp corrosion-resistant hooks. Rigs have the smaller hook on the bottom and the larger hook on top. Work great for running cut-plug baits and whole baits such as herring and sardines, or building hoochie rigs. Per 3.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Review 1 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mechanicville, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Salmon rigs

Date:February 1, 2012
Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gamakatsu Mooching Rig

Date:September 11, 2009
This is a very easy to use rig. It can be used in various ways beside mooching. Basic use was for coho and halibut using herring. Hooks are well tied and have excellent strength to handle coho and halibut.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable salmon leaders

Date:March 25, 2008
I make my own leaders using Gamakatsu barbless hooks, but use these readymade ones for the people I fish with. I chiefly use the 6/0-5/0, and 5/0-4/0 30 lb test versions. The hooks themselves need no sharpening, and I have never had one bend or break over four years. Likewise, the knots have proved reliable and strong. We give these leaders quite a test, using them on large Chinook salmon on BC's far northern coast. About the only beef I would have is minor: the spacing between hooks is a little larger than it might be for cut plug herring use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Valdez, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not durable

Date:February 3, 2008
The hooks are fine, no problems with them. The leaders upper hook snell will only survive one salmon. After that it comes untied or loose and unusable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tacoma Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hoochie rigs

Date:August 4, 2007
I was out today (08-04-07) on Puget Sound using a hoochie rig with a soft squid lure"unscented" and it worked GREAT! I pulled a 15 lb King and a 5 lb Silver... My fishing buddy pulled a 5 lb Pink and a 9 lb native silver"which was released!...only hatchery keepers allowed here!"
The jig and flasher worked perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palmyra Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Mooching Rig Yet

Date:May 27, 2007
I have been using these Mooching rigs for at least fours years and love the high quality. Every hook is always sharp out of the bag. They break less often than any other ever tried Fjim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gamakatsu® Mooching Rig
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

slip knot mooching rig

Date:February 24, 2007
the slip not won't tighten enough to hold a cut plug harring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.