Customer Reviews for ZEBCO Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel

ZEBCO Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel

Experience the next level of performance in spincast technology with the Zebco Omega. This is the first spincast reel to feature six ball bearings. Engineered from quality stainless steel for corrosion resistance, the bearings provide smoothness and a balanced base for the gears, axles and pinions. The materials selected in the Omega’s construction ensures reliability and performance that are unmatched. Positive line pick-up system incorporates multiple line pick-up points into the spinnerhead, allowing the reel to instantly capture the line for a faster retrieve than a normal spincast reel. The Omega’s spool oscillation evenly wraps the line on the spool during the retrieve. The all-brass helical-cut worm gear drive provides a perfect balance between power and speed. Diecast aluminum body and reel foot provide a solid base that eliminates flex and twist under high-torque conditions. This firm foundation also ensures the gear train system is always in proper alignment. Aircraft aluminum covers contribute a high-quality look and feel. Triple cam multidisc drag uses multilayered drag washers crafted from durable materials. The super-sensitive tension control system allows fine adjustment of the drag. Sealed soft-touch rubber thumb button provides outstanding grip and comfort, while preventing dirt from entering the gear system. Cutproof, hardened ceramic pick-up pins and "fast-flow" front cover guide eliminate the line’s ability to cut into the reel at key friction points. Continuous anti-reverse for solid hook sets. The oversized high-torque handle is reversible so you can customize the reel for right-hand or left-hand retrieval. The Omega 3 holds 80 yards of 10-lb. test. While the smaller Omega 2 holds 80 yards of 6-lb. test. Both models include quick-change spare spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
87 out of 94(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Review 1 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Gonzales,La.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Zebo Omega Reel

Date:January 11, 2012
Very disapointed ,the drag is very weak even when set all the way down..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: The Great Lakes
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your time or money.

Date:December 10, 2011
I hate to be the negative one here. However, I feel as though I should share my experience, in hopes of saving someone else from unnessary grief. I thought this would be a great reel, given all the positive reviews. The drag is a joke, it's all or nothing! I used the 10lb. line it came with it, and it kept getting tangled in the housing most of the time. I spent way more time messing with this thing then I did fishing. It almost ruined my trip, glad I had an old back-up rod & reel handy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The drag is a drag.

Date:July 20, 2008
I Purchased this real / rod combo for my five year old Daughter, as she was getting pretty good at casting and reeling with her little pink Barbie spin cast set up. I figured if I purchased the most expensive spin cast reel sold at Cabela's it should work fine, wrong. The reel casts fine the problem is with the retreive. This reel can barely reel in the practice casting plug unless the drag is tightened all of the way. My Daughter likes casting with it so I didn't return it (I should have) but I will not put hooks on the line as there is no way she would be able to get a fish in and I know that would really disapoint her. I guess I could put the reel from her Barbie rod on this new rod. The drag on the Barbie rod works okay. Well, so much for spin cast reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Aiken SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed in Zebco Omega

Date:September 12, 2007
The reel bird nested on me everytime.
It would skip when trying to reel it in.
I returned it and got my money back.
Got a real Lemon on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

salt water wasted it away

Date:September 1, 2008
Good try, no cigar. Very heavy reel, finicky drag, and using it for heavy-duty night kayak fishing on the coast, it was eaten up an corroded like a cheap toy. I rinsed it off after each use but that's not enough and for the price it should be enough.
Couple of times could not get the reel face off and actually had to use big pliers.
I think I know what Z is trying to do with this reel--feels solid etc but they need to do a salt-water model, lighten it up, and fix the drag. Would gladly pay more bucks, as night-fishing from a kayak mandates simplicity, simplicity, simplicity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Idaho Panhandle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

More not always better

Date:September 25, 2007
My hope in buying a more costly spin-cast reel was that I wouldn't have to spend as much time fiddling with the kids equipment and spend more time actually fishing. This reel did not fill the bill. The drag adjustment is so horrible that it renders this reel not much better than the cheap spin cast reels my kids are used to using. The dial on top of the reel turns so easilyy that the drag consistantly becomes to loose resulting in much line twisting as the kids retrieve. If I can find a way to fix the drag, I think this could be a very good reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Garner, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed in Zebco Omega

Date:July 3, 2007
I was looking forward to using my new Zebco Omega reel. I had decided to spend more money to get a quality reel. Unfortunately, although I love the way the reel casts, I have the same drag problem that I experienced with the Zebco Rhino reel. If I have a fish of any substantial size on the line, the drag strips and whines and it takes forever to reel the fish in. I guess I'll have to keep looking for a spincast reel that will adequately catch fish weighing over 1-2 pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zebco Omega

Date:August 17, 2008
Good reel but heavy for the size.
Really throws off the balance.
I think I prefer the Diawa Goldcast series.
Plus the Zebco doesn't have a small series like the 80 from Diawa.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montz, LA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST ONE YET

Date:January 11, 2012
This is the best reel I have ever used for Crappie. Throws and reels great. Only problem is the drag. It goes from nothing to all in about 4 clicks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tangle free

Date:August 18, 2011
I'm new to fishing and it's much more complicated than I imagined - so using a reel that doesn't get tangled when casting or reeling the line back in is a big help to a beginner. Now if I could just keep that hook away from the rocks....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

casting

Date:June 27, 2011
For the first time in recent history I am amazed that this closed face reel actually casts like a spin reel and the drag is the best Ive had on this type of reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zebco Reel

Date:June 27, 2011
I have the reel attached to a very flexible ultra light pole as I mostly fish for sub-2 lbs fish with this praticular set up. So far so good! Compared to other smaller closed faced reels the gears "feel" very smooth and it casts very well. For light recreational fishing I think it's a great reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Fishing Reel

Date:May 4, 2011
This is a heavy duty reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MADERA CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WORKS EVERY TIME

Date:January 27, 2011
IF YOU HAVE TROUBLE WITH SPINNING REEL OR A BAIT CASTER THIS IS REEL FOR YOU
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needs 1 Change

Date:October 11, 2010
My brother has one of these reels and I have seen him catch a number of large salmon (20lb and larger) and after using it a number of years it still works great. I purchased 1 and liked it so much I bought another one. *** If they made it with a triggerspin (under slung) it would be a so much better real ***. This is the only reason I rated this reel a 4 instead of a 5. It is worth the little extra cost to purchase it. --Caution-- this reel can't swim, my brother lost one of mine in Lake Travis.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In some ways prefer the Zebco 33

Date:July 2, 2010
I have 4 Zebco 33s (which I like a lot) and 2 Omegas. The Omegas have a more quality look and feel about them and function well. However, if and when they break, I may replace them with more 33s.
The Omega makes an audible whirring noise when casting, unlike the 33
The Omega drag is "continuous" and too easy to accidentally change. The 33s have discrete settings, which require a little more effort to move, which is a good thing.
The one big advantage of the Omega over the 33 is that the front face screws off. Sometimes the twist-off 33 face will come off accidentally. I've actually lost one of these in the water, although usually the line will catch it. Conversely, sometimes the 33 faces stick shut.
I like the Omega, but for the money, the 33 is a better deal. Both are great, IMO. I can't cast as far as with a spinning reel or baitcaster, but I can cast pretty far, and more accurately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: central, illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for the money

Date:May 10, 2010
have not had any problems so far with this reel. Great for crappies and bluegill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Term Review size 3

Date:August 5, 2009
4 years of moderate freshwater use has proved this to be a darned good reel. No spincast reel is perfect, but among this style, this is the best.
The drag adjustment is a bit sensitive to over & under adjusting, and the spool doesn't fully oscillate to stack the line evenly or completely full, but compared to all other spincasters I've used, it is very good.
I have 15# Stealth braid on one spool and DAM SensoFlex 10X# on the other. Both lines handle extremely well. But like spinning reels, if you try using stiffer lines like Trilene XT or Big Game, you're going to be plagued by twist. Flourocarbon is a NO NO No. Use lines which are more limp & flexible.
It's not a salt-ready reel, so hello!, you can't rinse these things well enough to fish salt with them. There are other reels stating salt-ready if that's where you're fishing.
Except for the over-sensitive drag adjustment, these are ergonomically a great reel to use. Comfortable to palm, not too heavy, solidly-built.
A perfect crankbait reel, with a nice steady fairly slow retrieve speed. Also great for bouncing & retrieving plastics off the bottom. For casting light lures this is a standup reel.
They're not an easy reel to sevice the gear case, but otherwise good.
The best spincasting reel, and I've used every brand and several models in each brand before this one.
Cheers!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reels

Date:July 25, 2008
I have two of these omega reels. They are a real improvement over the zebco 33s, but cost significantly more. I found them to be very smooth casting and retrieving. Like most spincast reels, the drags are not as good as on spinning reels. Set it carefully, check it once in a while and you'll be fine. Not recommended for fish over several pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zebco Omega™ Spincast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NY-North of the Fingerlakes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High quality, a few issues

Date:July 7, 2008
I have owned the Omega Z02 (small version) for nearly two years. It's been reliable, is very well built, and casts like a dream. But, because of its fussy drag and small line capacity, I can't give it a 5.
The drag seems to change easily on its own and the difference between a too tight drag setting and too loose is too small. This is a complaint I've had with other Zebcos.
After experiencing some line breakage in tough conditions with the 6 lb. test, I reloaded the reel wih 8 lb. Trilene and found the capacity to be only 65 yards. This limits the reel to small stream fishing in my mind.
The anti-reverse cannot be turned off on my reel, it's always on. For bait fishing, it's sometimes useful to be able to turn the anti-reverse off.
My Z02 is an older version with only 2 pickup pins. I see the newer Omegas have 3 pickup pins. Apparently Zebco is working to improve this model. Maybe they've addressed some of these issues. But in spite of the issues, I'd recommend this reel to anyone. It casts further and more easily than a small open face spin reel. It's a joy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 94