Customer Reviews for Eagle Claw Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Eagle Claw Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod

Sometimes the opportunity to fish presents itself at the most unexpected times. And when these chances arrive, you want to fish with top-quality tackle. Eagle Claw has just the rods for travel duty. These four-piece 98% graphite rods have smooth-casting actions many two-piece rods can't match. Aluminum oxide stripper guides. Tough graphite fixed reel seats. Graphite taper-fit ferrules.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Review 1 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Greeley Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked Well!

Date:April 29, 2009
The only thing I have problems with I expected when I purchased the product. Like all travel type rods I have owned through the years, the sections twist and the eyes get off-line. For this price though, they are not any worse than the rods I paid 4-5 times more for! Seem like very nice rods though.
Thanks Eagle Claw & Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbiana, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle Claw Trailmaster III 600

Date:February 1, 2009
I bought my first two TrailmasterIII's 4 years ago because they are able to fit under my seat in my amphibian. On my flight from Ohio to Fairbanks, AK, my wife and I caught many species from Grayling to Northern. The rod will take a beating, and I pair it up with Pflueger President spinning reels as well as #5 fly reels. I got convinced on one of my first stops in Stoney Rapids, Sask., weathered in, we got an Indian guide and caught 3 1/2 - 4 ft Northerns all afternoon.
In March of 2007 I took it on my first trip to Belize, I almost always use 10 lb mono with a 20lb Flouro shock leader, and coupled with the poles flex and the terrific drag you can catch Jack Cravelles schooled up all day long, same for bone fish tipped with a shrimp, snapper & Cuda.
Last year I took it to Cabo and enjoy fishing from the beach at daybreak and caught an immature Stiped Marlin, it was still 4ft long but skinny. I had taken off a spoon and put on a white salt tube jig when it hit!
I travel Canada alot and Florida, and NEVER have I had any Eagle Claw Trailmaster pole break under the stress!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle Claw Trailmaster III - ZLIII 600

Date:December 19, 2008
I bought a 7'6" ZLIII600 about 3 years ago from Cabelas and have used the rod as a spinning rod extensively in both fresh and saltwater. It can handle fish from bluegill to several pound of American Shad very well. This is my main fresh water rod now during the spring shad run in Delaware river and occasional saltwater fishing in Florida for those small species found on the beach. The rod can withstand lots of bend, sometimes even close to 180 degrees. The lure rating is also close enough, I could cast 1/8oz darter to 1/2oz bucktail without any issue.
The only things it can be better is the guides, they are small, but I guess this is normal since this rod can also function as a fly rod. Another thing is that I need to frequently align the rod since each piece will twist a little bit after couple of dozen casts, again this might be a common issue in multiple pieces rod.
Overall, this is a really nice rod with great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vista, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trailmaster 7'6" spin/fly pack-rod

Date:November 3, 2008
So far so good. Used this rod for the first time in Sierras, CA and it worked well & feels good. Worked nicely for u/l to light spinning with 4# mono & would be fine up to probably ~ 10#. Didn't use it as a flyrod, but think it would be very good for small streams & rivers. Overall it's strengths are versatility & packability, but it seems well built and a good rod to boot. No doubt one can get a better stand-alone spinning rod & better fly rod, but for both duties this is hard to beat - regardless of price (this one is an excellent value). But no rod tube - so had to make one for travel - easy to do, out of PVC drain tubing for ~$4. Used to have an old yellow fibreglass trailmaster from the late 60's that had an aluminium tube - long gone now but loved it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trailmaster rod

Date:September 23, 2008
Just got back from a pack trip to Alaska and used this pack rod. I found it to be very handy to stow in my rifle case with the rifle. I used it for salmon, trout,grayling , and artic char, I was a little apprehensive about horsing 10 to 12 pound salmon around with it, but it never let me down.
I wish it came with a hard tube type case to protect it, but I never broke it. It was sensitive enough to feel the char pick up an egg sack, so for the money it's a pretty good deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good pack rod

Date:September 22, 2008
recently used on high mountain backpacking trip in ID for westslope cutthroat. Rod had great action but still enough backbone for larger trout.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Tip breakage

Date:September 13, 2008
I purchased this rod in preparation for a flight to Colorado. I did about 2 dozen casts with a size 1 Mepps and the tip segment broke. I'll be returning it to obtain a Fish Eagle pack rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

rod

Date:September 2, 2008
one of the rods broke on the 3rd cast at the tip. i will be sending it back for replacment or refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rim Country AZ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

eagle claw trailmaster 111 travel rod

Date:August 25, 2008
I rate this rod highly. I got to use it last week and was impressed. I have several fishrods and I purchased this one to use with my quad and also when flying out on a fishing trip. Thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: manassas va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

i cant belive it

Date:June 9, 2008
ok so i am goin to canoeing in minnesota so i ordered the eagle claw travel rod because is was small and it had the best reviews compared to the other travel under $50 dollars. I took it out of the package put it together and was testing it and it broke in half. I was not trying to break it or anything but i have never seen a fishing pole break so easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bridgeville Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Travel Rod

Date:March 18, 2008
Good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rod

Date:September 12, 2007
My wife and I took two of these rods to Quetico Park in Ontario and caught loads of smallmouth with them. On the first day I was clumsy and stepped on the tip of her rod and had to break of the last two guides. Needless to say I had to use that rod for the rest of the trip and I still caught lots of fish. I called Eagle Claw when I gotr back and they are sending me a new end. Very pleased with the action and the service of this rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod

Date:August 13, 2007
Excellent product for the price. Dual function rod is surprisingly responsive for both spinning or fly casting. One drawback: For a "travelling rod" it lacks a hard travelling case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pacifica, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle Claw III Pack rod

Date:July 24, 2007
It is as expected. Cabela quality and a fair price. My old pack rod soldiered on admirably. It finally got lost in one of my moves. I still have the reels, flies and spinners from that rod. Still good tho. A good compliment to the rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Carlisle, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice rod. Where's the case?

Date:June 6, 2007
The rod is fine. I like th eaction and overall quality. This is the second one I've bought in the last 3 years. Unfortunately, the rod no laonger comes with a cose, making it difficult to store and transport properly. When I purchased the same product 3 years ago, it came with a nice case, essential for a pack rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Thousand Islands, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Hook keeper installed

Date:April 2, 2007
Well, the photo of this rod shows a hook-keeper installed.
This is a feature I prefer on all of my fishing rods.
When I got this rod, I was surprised to see that it came without a hook-keeper. Since I like the rod otherwise, I took it to a local rod-builder who installed the hook-keeper. This was easier and about the same cost as returning the rod.
If not for this one oversight, I would give the rod a better review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cottonwood, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wilderness Fishing

Date:March 27, 2007
The wife and I ride our horses in the wilderness and often come across a lake or stream that I would like to fish, now I can,this rod is just small enough to pack on my saddle,and it offers me the option of fly fishing or spinn casting,the action of the pole is great I would recommend this pole to anyone who enjoys fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bailey, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rod

Date:January 28, 2007
Just picked up one of these to take backpacking. I got the combo fly/spin (model 600). I am replacing a shakespeare combo pack rod. This one is much stiffer and feels much better for control and the way I cast. I haven't had the chance to fish with it yet, but I can tell already I will like it better. It seems like a high quality rod and packs down nicely to fit into my pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: EAST LONGMEADOW, MASSACHUSETTS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

guideman

Date:December 18, 2006
Excellent rod-What a combination for my Canada trip. I was able to use it not only as a top rod trolling rod but was able to convert it over for fly fishing in the streams. Rod handled lake trout up to 20lbs, pike in the 15lb class along with brook trout on flys with 8wt fly line in the 5-7lb class. I would hope the rod remains in stock for I will sure to buy an additional one as a back-up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eagle Claw Trailmaster III Travel Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westfield, Ma.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spin/Fly combo travel rod

Date:November 23, 2006
I bought this rod as a back-up for my regular spinnig and fly rods on a trip to Canada. I ended up using the rod most of the time. It was used for trolling, spinning and fly fishing. It can handle lures up to 3/4 and #7 fly lines. It handled trout up to 25#'s, Pike up to 15#'s and Salmon up to 9#'s. When we got back from Canada one of my friends called up and purchased one. Hopefully , they continue to be available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23