Customer Reviews for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel

Five stainless steel ball bearings and Uni-Lok? one-way clutch bearing make this a dependable and smooth performer. The four-pin adjustable centrifugal brake system (six-pin on 66 model) allows you to adjust this reel to fit your needs. One-piece machined aluminum frame removes frame twist for fighting those really big fish. Aluminum side plates, machined aluminum spool and the titanium line guide round out the finish of this reel and make it unbeatable. Thumb-bar spool release and multi-disc star drag system. Baitclicker feature on the 66 size reel.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Review 1 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2006

great reel

By
I own two Pflueger trion reels. They are great reels for
the money, well made with no problems ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

perfection

By
Location: central KS
This the best reel I have bought in about 10 years. I fish for giant flat heads and blues. It takes a beating and does not back down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Triton 66

By
Location: Citrus County Florida
Excellent reel for using live bait. In my case shiners for big bass.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2007

Pflueger Reel

By
This is an outstanding reel! its smooth and durible for reelin in those monsters!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2007

A good value

By
Location: Appleton, WI
I own several different baitcasting reels (7) including some that were 3 times as expensive and this is now my favorite of the bunch. Time will tell regarding its durability, but it is smooth and adjustable to suit changes from a light bucktail to a heavy plastic bait. I would only wished that it had centrifugal adjustments on the outside rather than the inside, but I have yet to find this feature in a reel that is not too expensive.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2007

Trion 66L

By
Location: Central IL
The Trion 66 is a very easy to use and durable reel. I have two of them and both are great. They seem to be less prone to backlash then some of my other reels, ABU.
The one problem that I have with them is not really a problem with the reel but the way they fit into my downeast rod holders. When in the rod holders you cannot release the spool. Not a big deal but it is an inconvenience.
I would recommend this reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2007

Pflueger Trion Casting Reel

By
Location: Jaffrey,N.H.
This reel is a great value for it's price.It works as well as some reels I have that are made with more bearings in them.Excellent casting,braking and a good drag system.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2007

Trion 66

By
Location: Texas
I bought 4 of these reels for my catfishing rigs. They are smooth and cast very well. Nice bait clicker and thumb bar.
I don't think you can find a better quality reel for the price of these.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

Musky fishing

By
Location: IL
The Pflueger Trion Machine Casting Reel worked very well for musky fishing. We only used it for a week but it seemed to hold up well with the constant daily casting. The only improvement that can be suggested is to increase the size of the dual crank handle. It is a bit small. Overwise it is a good reel for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2007

Buy more!

By
Location: Moultonborough, NH
This is a great reel! I use it with 8'6" Rods on Downriggers for Landlocked Salmon and Lake Trout. This has made me switch from the Abu's to these with no regrets and I'll never go back! Excellent customer service from Pflueger as well. I lost one of the screws that holds the body together while cleaning it and Pflueger sent me one no charge no questions asked! Highly Highly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2008

This Is The Best Reel I Have Ever Owned

By
Location: San Clemente, CA
This is by far the BEST reel I have ever owned. I love the one piece frame which gives it the ability to withstand almost anything. I use this reel for saltwater and the powerful drag allows me to reel in a massive yellow tail without even breaking a sweat. Also, since it has such a high line capacity I can get hooked up on a Dorado or a tough yellow tail and the fish can take an 150 yard run and I will not get spooled. I like the 5.2:1 gear ratio, it is not to fast and not to slow, it gives the lure the perfect presentation. The 5 ball bearing system makes the reel so smooth and so easy to cast. I can cast a 1/4 ounce jig at least 15 yards with this reel, let alone a heavy iron. I can not believe the price of this reel, it's wonderful!
This is a must buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2008

I might have got a bad one

By
Location: Libby montana
Reel looks and feels good. The two times I used it the antireverse doesn't work right or at all some times. I'm going to try it one more time before I take it back. But I'll get another one to try. If the antireverse works then I'll give it a 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2008

bullet proof

By
Location: johannesburg
Bought two 46 models-and used them two years ago Bass-fishing in Zimbabwe with 25 lb Berkley Big Game. Caught Bass up to 8 lbs. Only problem were the handle knobs which came off of both! otherwise a solid enjoyable reel to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2008

Trion

By
Location: columbus ms (Heart of the TRUE South)
great reel, well made ,cast good ,great for large crankbaits 12ft or deeper but a little heavy, that's why it;s a 3 not a 4
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2008

pflueger trion 66

By
Amazing reel for muskie fishing. I use it for trolling too. Very smooth. If I had to change one thing it would be to make the clicker a little louder...that's it. Highly recommended.
MC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2008

Pflueger Trion

By
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
I really like this reel. Its probably too heavy for guys that cast plugs all day but I don't do that. Its beautifly made, solid, with a fast retrieve. Whats not to like? I've owned Pflueger salt water reels since I was a kid and never wore one out (I'm 73 years old).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Great reels

By
Location: Mississippi, Gulfport
I just got two a Trion 46 and a Trion 66. I love them I have already caught a 24lb 2oz black drum and several 5 to 2lb spotted trout with the Trion 46. Love the reel
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2009

Pflueger Trion 66

By
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
This is a great reel. Haven't used a baitcast reel in a while and was casting lightweight baits on 17lb test line almost birdnest free, in a short time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Great reel

By
Location: Fairhope, Al.
I like a round reel and this one has given excellent service to date.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pflueger Trion Machined Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

Great Reel

By
Location: seaford, New York
This is my second Pflueger reel I use one for saltwater With 50lb Braid and one for freshwater, And I love them both. No backlash great retrieve. Will buy atleast one more. Excellent reel for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.