Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods

When you're carrying your rods, every doorway, car door and obstacle represents a possible hazard. That's why we've come up with the Whuppin' Stick, a nearly indestructible casting rod that doesn't sacrifice sensitivity and feel. Advanced polymer technology greatly enhances the strength of the fiberglass blank. The graphite twist lock reel seat keeps the reel snugly fastened to the rod for smooth operation with no wobble. Cork handles are easy to grip and remain comfortable throughout the longest days of pulling deep-diving crankbaits or bringing in monster fish. Stainless steel guide frames are as tough as the rest of the rod, so you can concentrate on fishing, not whether your rod can handle the fight. So if you're planning to go after tackle-busting lunkers, bust out an advantage, bust out a Whuppin' Stick.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
59 out of 71(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Review 21 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wpg, MB
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WSCH 80-2

Date:February 1, 2010
I bought this rod for Muskie fishing and it performed very well for the price. After 2 yrs, many hours and many fish the rod has stood up well. The rod has a cheaper reel seat and it tends to lossen off from time to time, but that is my only gripe so far. For the price it's hard to complain to much about minor faults.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Long Beach, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Handle too short

Date:January 31, 2010
This is regarding model WSCH80-2 rated for 14-50#. In addition to having a tinny tiny reel seat, it has a very short handle. It's hard to cast heavy weight w/ this rod. It really really needs to be redesigned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nebraska, ne
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best catfish rods ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:January 21, 2010
i gave this a five star because the 7' med action rod is the best catfish rod i have ever purchased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy

Date:October 30, 2009
The twist foregrip on these is made of cork and breaks very easily. I bought 3 of these and used one for a few weeks and the cork of the foregrip just broke apart while I was twisting it to take my reel off one day. I returned it and they replaced it immediately, but over the next few weeks it happened on each of the rods---the exact same break in the exact same place. The cork foregrip is part of the reel retention system and has no support underneath it and is rather thin so if you turn it too hard the cork just breaks in half. I returned all 3 rods and Cabela's did replace them with a different brand, but I would not buy these at all. Great rods and guides, but bad reel retention system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Burke, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rod!

Date:September 10, 2009
Great rod for the price and if it breaks they replace it free! No hook keeper but no big deal you can buy one that uses an o-ring and install it easily. I gave it 5 stars because it lives up to what they say it does and they have replaced 2 of these rods so far after I have heavily used them. If you are looking for a lot of sensitivity in a rod you will have to pay for it in a more expensive model. It is worth giving it a try!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: monroe michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad cork and reel holders

Date:August 28, 2009
I own 8 of these rods and have used them heavily after the cork has been handled with wet hands it starts to come apart and break also on two of the rod the reel base came loose from the rod and lets the reel turn around in the circle on the rod poor job of gluing the reel base to the the rod have been able to slide reel base ahead on the rod and reglue them to the rod and rod butt seems to be holding up for now future rods will be back to all ugly sticks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Altus Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fantastic rod!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:June 22, 2009
First off i just wish every one could see the picture of the fish !!!! 46 lbs flathead im 5'7"the fish is mid chest to my toes .... caught her out of the north fork of the red river in Southwest Oklahoma when the river was about as high as it was going to get. The fish jumped on like a ton of bricks and didnt stop till she hit the fast water. The rod handled it great fought her in all the waynever struggled it is the best i have ever had for the big cats around here. The rod is the best for any job you can put in front of it. now im planning on getting another in spinning for the smalls fish. best of fishing to all !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Magnolia, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin' stick

Date:June 17, 2009
My husband has this fishing pole and our youngest son really likes his and so do I. It works good...the bending ability is great. For this product to be a two piece it's very strong and holds together very well. Get one and try it for yourself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FishingEngr from Atlanta, Ga

Date:March 24, 2009
This is my 2nd Whuppin Stick Casting Rod. I find it serves me well with my type of Bass fishing. I have had very good success with my 1st Whuppin Stick Casting Rod and expect to do as well with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin sticks

Date:March 3, 2009
I have only been able to use these rods once so far. It has been to cold here. But the time I did use them I liked them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Panama City Beach, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

8" Hvy Whuppin Stick

Date:March 3, 2009
Bought the rod to go with an Abu-Garcia 6500C to fish for snapper in the Gulf of Mexico. The joint is way over sized and the rod is much heavier than what I thought it would be. It is very heavy forward of the reel and that makes it a chore to hold with one hand.
The power and feel with a fish on is alright, but it's just too heavy for the 6500C. I'll be trading it off first chance I get.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: JAPAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good crankbait rod!

Date:December 3, 2008
This rod is quite good for crankbait.
When I wind up a reel, the feeling is good.
I never miss a fish.
I guess this rod is good for Top Water Lure and Wire bait too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rod

Date:November 3, 2008
I have several of these rods I use on Lake Texoma with friends I take with me, they hold up real well for the abuse they get and have good action for bait fishing down there
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southwestern Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap but good

Date:October 27, 2008
I bought this rod to troll for musky. They have softer tips so if your bottom bouncing they will deflect and help prevent some snags. They pull big jakes and grandmas without a problem. Cork is cheap so its best to wrap it with tape to prevent it chunking out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: nova scotia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wasn't to happy

Date:September 14, 2008
yeah i order this rod and went fishing for some stripe bass and caught five nice size ones and on the last bass i caught i heard a noise from the rod but forgot all about it then i took it fishin again and on the first cast a good 13 inches from the top can flyin off cause it broke from the last fishing trip i wasn't to happy with that at all.......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

broke rod

Date:August 19, 2008
I had this rod for about a year. I was in the middle of a fight
with a big cannel or blue cat when about 5 minutes into it the rod snaped at the base of the rod so I only saw the fish for a moment then it was gone. I still have the handle of the rod but as far as wanting another one I'd rather buy somthing else
but the but the Cabelas tournament Z baitcaster I bought with the rod is a nice real
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Linton, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Whuppin' Stick 7' Casting Rod

Date:August 18, 2008
Purchased specificly for Northern Pike fishing. Just returned from an 8 day trip to Ontario, Canada. The rod performed adequately but was a bit stiffer than I expected. Would purchase the same rod in a lighter flex next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dubuque, Ia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Whuppin' Stick

Date:August 4, 2008
I was looking for an economical, durable catfish rod; and that's exactly what I found with Cabela's Whuppin' Stick. It is tough enough to hold up to big fish and sensitive enough to feel those bites.
I have two of these rods now and plan to pick up a couple more by next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods

Date:July 21, 2008
Nice rods handle well good and long. They have sensativity but not too heavy. Also make a good trolling rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Casting Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin Stick

Date:July 14, 2008
My partner and I use a whuppin stick, medium Heavy, casting rod for fishing for halibut in alaska. We have been catching up to 45 pound halibut with it. I gives us a better feel of the fish biting at 225 feet. The ensuing fight is a blast. The best feature of the 'stick' is it is reasonably priced. This way we can afford the shipping costs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 71