Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods

When you're carrying your rods, every doorway, car door and obstacle represents a possible hazard. That's why we created the Whuppin' Stick, a nearly indestructible spinning rod that doesn't sacrifice sensitivity and feel. Advanced polymer technology greatly enhances the strength of the fiberglass blank. The graphite twist lock reel seat keeps the reel snugly fastened to the rod for smooth operation with no wobble. Cork handles are easy to grip and remain comfortable throughout the longest days of pulling deep-diving crankbaits or bringing in monster fish. Stainless steel guide frames are as tough as the rest of the rod, so you can concentrate on fishing, not whether your rod can handle the fight. So if you're planning to go after tackle-busting lunkers, bust out an advantage, bust out a Whuppin' Stick.Images depict the "style" of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 151 reviews
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
136 out of 151(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Review 61 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Alturas California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin Stick Spinning Rod

Date:June 24, 2008
This was a gift for my wife (I broke her old rod). She likes the feel, sensitivity and, it casts further than her old rod.
She now has two Whuppin Sticks, one medium and one light.
She is happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Rod!

Date:July 21, 2008
I use Ugly Sticks, but I have found a new rod! I got the 6'6' medium whuppin stick and it has great action for bass! I will be buying more of these babies! They are similar to ugly sticks with regards to the durability, but at a cheaper price!
My only wish was that they were available in medium heavy or heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Danvers, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whup 'em All!!!

Date:July 28, 2008
WOW! What a great lineup of rods!! I have 9 of these bad boys, 2- 7ft. med. casting, 2- 8ft. heavy casting, 2- 9ft. med.hvy. spinning, 1- 9ft med.hvy casting, 2- 9ft. med. spinning. They all have been great rods! I fish catfish tournaments and these make for great BIG FISH rods! They are all sensitive, STRONG and durable! I have Buddies with these rods and have seen ENORMOUS Blue Cats and Flatheads worn out on these rods! Under sane fishing conditions, you simply can't break them! The strongest, best rod hands down regardless of price (which is really nice!). I strongly recommend these to everybody who has ever wet a line!!!! KUDOS to Cabela's, Keep 'em comin', so we can keep 'a Whuppin' !!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin Stick happiness

Date:July 28, 2008
I just got from a trip to Michigan Upper Peninsula. I used this rod almost everyday for a variety of fish. But one thing in particular I was pleased about was I caught 20 + Pike on this trip in heavy weeds. I had no problems with this rod pulling these fish out of the weeds.
It casted nicely, and had plenty of backbone to set the hook.
Very pleased with this purchase.
The only issue I had with it was twice during the trip while casting the two pieces seperated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southwest virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

whoopin stick

Date:August 18, 2008
I ordered this pole after i broke mine in half on a canoeing trip i really underestimated this pole i bought it hoping to get somthing that was tough somthing that didnt have to be the best pole ever but i wanted somthing that could take the punishment of our river trips, what i got however was one of the best poles i have ever bought it is very tough but is also very sensitive and i was shocked at how smooth it casted it casted almost as well as one of my lake poles that i spent hundreds of more on after i bought one and used it for bought 2 weeks i ordered another one for my lighter weight fishing and it preformes just as good so for the price this is one exceptional product in no way could an ugly stick compare to the whoopin stick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine Rod for the price

Date:August 18, 2008
I used this rod recently is for bass and walleye fishing. It makes a very good light jigging and still fishing rod because of the light color and sensitive tip. I also used it for casting small lures for smallmouth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great pole

Date:September 9, 2008
we've caught some awesome pike with this pole--great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It whups them good.

Date:September 23, 2008
I purchased the 8' H pole to go with my King Kat & it helps me drag those cats in & up onto the bank very well. Super strong with decent sensitivity for such a heavy rod & for an excellent price, an great purchase for any cost conscious fishermen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: fla gulf coast
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

too limber

Date:October 28, 2008
this rod is same as ugly stik and has same problem: too limber. Floppy almost. 7 foot length. l like the IM6 classic much better. This one's pretty, tho. trim color matches my quantum incyte reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: San Carlos Lake Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

whupping stick

Date:December 29, 2008
The rod would be nice, but I don't like the soft tip. I would send it back, but it is too much of a hassle. ( I live 30 miles to town) It will be ok for one of my grandkids to use this summer but not for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phila. Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whuppin' Stick

Date:January 28, 2009
Great Rods , I have five now and would recommend them
for all fishing. Great for trolling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: athens w.va
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gonefishing60

Date:January 29, 2009
i just brought a 6'6 medium whiuppin stick on janary 29th of 2009. i am very pleased with it. it casts so smooth.i love the color it awensome. keep on putting good products out like this one. you cant go wrong with buying one. ty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough as nails

Date:February 5, 2009
I have 7 Whuppin' Stickin poles in different configurations and they are the toughest poles I have ever had.
I am not gentle with my equipment and Whuppin' Sticks have taken some severe "testing" from panfish through chinook salmon. The only suggestion that would make them better is a higher quality in the guides. Under very heavy tension while fighting a large chinook I had the ceramic pop out of the tip. Another time on a snag I had the same thing happen.
Cabela's took care of the problem immediately.
I don't believe that a person could find a tougher pole at any price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: live in muncie in.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

saltwater fishing

Date:March 3, 2009
these rods are fan-------tastic fished intercoatel waters in fl. useing 20lb. braid for black drum and sheephead these huge fish would bend these 9 and 10 foot rods all the way under our boat time and time again and not one rod failed i love these rods i am 57 and have fished as far back as i can remember have fished lake michagan for big salmon lake erie western and central basen for walleye and alot of other fishing in between these rods that i used and love were med. action soft tips and braid you could feel the softest bite then enough backbone to set the hook and stand up to these line screamers and still give just enough to really have a ball i would highly reccomend the 9 and 10 ft. med. rods to anyone....thanks....the professer....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Wilkesboro, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is a great fishing rod

Date:March 13, 2009
I recently used this rod for some bass fishing and its a great rod, it casts a mile. I use this with a Plueger Medalist reel and I love the set up. Had some success with spinnerbaits recently and hooked some nice size bass with it. This stood up to the test with no problems. I'm looking to purchase some more in the near future. I have considered other higher priced "name brand" rods but why.... this does it all at a fraction of the cost. I can get several rods in different sizes for the cost of just one of the others. An awesome rod I highly recommend it. Great job Cabalas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

whuppin' stick

Date:March 22, 2009
after spending many hours catfishing in the northeast and using many different rods i find that this rod can stand up to the rigors of catching 15 to 20lb fish all night in all weathers while outperforming the competition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: QUAKERTOWN, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE IT

Date:March 28, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT STICK. I BOUGHT IT FOR A TRIP TO CANADA, AND COULDN'T GET ENOUGH PIKE ON THIS ROD. IT CASTS A COUNTRY MILE, AND FOR THE PRICE OF THE ROD AND/OR COMBO, YOU CAN'T BEAT IT. THIS IS MY SECOND WON THAT I BOUGHT, AND MY FIRST ONE IS STILL KICKIN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: monroe michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rods

Date:March 31, 2009
I have several of these rods with line counters on them.they are all different lenghts for pulling dipseys long lining and down riggers they are all different actions for the different jobs they do and they work perfect these rods are used sevral days a week I would recomend them to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greeneville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods

Date:April 9, 2009
I use this rod for crappie and bluegill...it works great for float & flie tactics and for live bait under a bobber. I thought it was going to be too stiff of a rod but once I hooked the first crappie on it I was convinced I purchased the right pole. I fish a lot and it has held up great. No problems to complain about...Another great product from Cabela's and typical great customer service & satisfaction!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Whuppin' Stick® Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: guam
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kool

Date:April 22, 2009
first thing I did when I got the rod is try and pick up a concrete block and I did. wow! kudos!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 151