Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Shakespeare Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel

Designed with seven double-shielded stainless steel ball bearings and a one-way clutch instant anti-reverse bearing, these low-profile baitcasters ensure the smoothest retrieves and powerful hooksets. Each has the patented six-pin adjustable centrifugal brake system prevents backlashes, as well as a smooth multi-disc main gear applied star drag system. Set on a lighweight, one-piece graphite frame, these reels have a machined an anodized aluminum spool with increased line capactiy. They also sport a thumb bar spool release and a titanium line guide. Gear ratio: 6.3:1. Line capacity: 100 yds./12-lb. test.
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
6 out of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Review 1 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hamilton, Al fisherman, hunter and outdoorsmen
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck .

Date:June 3, 2009
Last summer I purchased a Purist at a much more expensive price and just feel in love with it's smooth castabiltity. It s drag system is perfert for the bass and stripper fishing I enjoy everyweekend. The ball bearings are smooth with ever turn of the handle. I think I will fill my aresnal with 2 more to accomondate the many differnt lure set ups. Over all for the price its just a good deal for the novice or the pro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: clear lake ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pflueger purist

Date:April 26, 2009
i have had this reel for over a year know, I join it with my g loomis rod, for deep crankbait action the 6:3:1 reel speed is great to get those crankbaits deep and I can throught those far and long, the light weight of the reel really match's up to the rod bye far the cheapest reel you can get for your budget,
work hard and fish harder
kris
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Davenport, IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Flueger Purist

Date:February 4, 2009
Bought this reel new at an outdoor show in Feb, used for the first time in May and the reel did not make it past the first few casts before having issues, Hangs up with any type of load (ie spinner bait or fish on) The real knocked and seemed to skip. I should have returned but failed to get around to it. Tried to have repaired but worked good again for about a 1/4 day fishing, Will not purchase Flueger again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good entry level reel

Date:December 26, 2008
the reel performed adequately. what i would expect for a sub $100 reel. good for the person not fishing all the time. it did not last very long with me. didn't cast all that far. didn't stay smooth for very long. it kind of felt sloppy when using it. definately not a reel for the tournament angler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good beginners reel

Date:November 15, 2008
The Purist is a great little reel for medium distance casting. I've paired mine with a 6'6" medium Berkley Lightning Rod, throwing 3/8 oz & 1/2 oz spinners and cranks. Average distance with 1 set of brakes engaged is 90-100 feet. Once you tune the reel to your lure you will have nearly zero backlashes. Deduct 10 yards casting distance for every set of brakes that are engaged. Never attempt no brakes engaged, you will backlash. Flipping distance is between 10 feet and 50 feet, depending on your technique. The side plate removes easily, you'll want to make sure it is locked when youre done making brake adjustments. I would have given this reel a 5 but the housing is plastic. Even so, the reel is light weight, easy to adjust, and very easy to maintain. Nice reel at a nice price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: columbus ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk

Date:April 14, 2008
the side came off while fishing had a fish on in a tournement and the side fell into the water. it comes apart way to easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: enid, ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

pfluegar baitcast

Date:April 2, 2008
I have always head pfluegar was a good brand. I fould one on sale and decided to buy two of them. For about an hour both reels worked great. Then both reels started reeling hard in spots, not all the time but most of the time. I will not buy this brand of bait caster again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

atc

Date:April 1, 2008
One of the best reels I have purchased for the money to function ever!! Great buy that I would do again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sacramento ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

purist baitcaster

Date:March 24, 2008
this is an awsome reel,pfluger has always made nice reels but this reel for the price is unbeatable,i would recommend this reel to anyone and everyone. i plan on replacing all my baitcasting reels with this reel.it casts very smooth,the drag system on it is very nice and its just an all around GREAT reel,go get yourself one and you will be in love with it from the first cast and first hookset
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pflueger Purist Baitcast Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bang for the buck

Date:May 19, 2007
I've been using this reel since it first came out. With simple maitenence and a lot of casting this reel has performed extremely well set up on a 7ft G-loomis casting rod @ heavy power. The hook sets are very solid and casting distance and accuracy are excellent. pulling in 27-30in walleye's in the fox river current dosn't even stress the drag. Compared to my accursist at 129.99 this reel blows it outta the water. Wish i was using it right now instead of sitting on the computer but.....
deffinetly a good buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.