Customer Reviews for RELIANCE Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RELIANCE Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel

This reel combines High Efficiency Gears&#8482 with a Super Free&#8482 pinion gear system for superior reel operation. Aluminum frame and side plates are constructed to tight tolerances for long-lasting performance. Other features include an easy access side plate and Variable Brake System® casting control. GT® series reels utilize a weight-reducing wiffle spool, amazingly strong cold forged handle, stainless steel ball bearings and a roller bearing for unmatched smoothness.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.879 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcuttal 700TE

Date:November 20, 2006
I bought my first two years ago and liked it so much I got three more. I use it to fish for 60-100 lb yellowfin tuna on topwater plugs. On 30 lb test, it'll throw a 2 1/2 oz plug 80-90 yards and seldom backlashes. I've caught over 20 big tuna on these reels without any issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta 400 TE

Date:November 22, 2006
As a Muskie fisherman, I am always looking for that thing that will give me an edge on my fellow fisherman. Lets face it, there are more and more anglers out there chasing these big fish every year. Whether it is a hot lure or a secret color, we are all looking for that one detail that turns follows into strikes and what could have been into digital photos. For the latter half of the 2006 Muskie Season, the thing that defined my success on the water was the Shimano Calcutta 400 TE bait-casting reel.
This reel palms like a firm handshake, due in part to the one piece forged aluminum construction. The Paddle Knob Power Handle is easy for your hand to find and the slightly oversized paddles give the impression that you are gripping a wench style power handle. My hands were comfortable with this reel from the first cast.
Unlike conventional round bait cast reels that use magnetic brakes, the Shimano TEs Variable Brake System (VBS) utilizes centrifugal force to control the cast but not the distance. This reel casts further than any reel I have used and was the critical feature when I fished clear water. With the boat off structure to prevent spooking, long casts were a must and the TE delivered the distance I needed without back lashing. But what sets the TE apart from its competitors is the 5.0:1 Gear Ratio and High Efficiency Gearing (HEG). These features combine to create a smooth, balanced ride with each turn of the reel handle. At 25 inches of line retrieve per crank, I can fish faster and with less effort than other anglers fishing conventional 6.3:1 reels. This really shines when the Muskies are on the bucktail bite and looking to chase down these baits. Speed is key at this time and the TE allowed me to fish fast with less fatigue. I caught and released more fish than my boat partners who were fishing with conventional reels. The Shimano TE devours big lures in its gearing. I did not limit the TEs selection of lures as I have in the past with other brands. It handled each challenge with the same precision day in and day out. Lastly, the HEG feature on the Shimano TE also gave me confidence from a leverage standpoint that I had the torque to move big fish from hook set all the way into the net.
Although the TE boasts an above average price tag, this reel will not get you all wet. It is the real deal and worth every penny. The TE is truly a multi functional tool and should be a strong consideration if this is your first reel purchase. With the TE, you will have done it right the first time. It is as fluid a reel I have fished and the difference maker in my fishing season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Belgrade, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Want the best?

Date:November 23, 2006
The Calcutta TE 401 is the best reel that I have found for casting large Muskie And Pike lures. It is easily adjusted to make backlashes a thing of the past. Large handle makes wet hand slippage a non issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Irvine, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano CTE-400

Date:November 23, 2006
I am an avid and very successful spin fisher with a passion for Alaska Salmon fishing. My favorite target is the electric Sockeye. After several years of tolerating spinning reels, I finally was convinced by a far more proficient Sockeye angler that I needed to try a baitcaster and in 2006 I purchased a Shimano CTE-400. Owning many of the finest spinning reels, I was overwhelmed by the performance of the CTE-400. It is smooth and flawlessly in every function and feature including construction. This is probably as close to perfection as a mechanical device, a fishing reel at least, can get. Shimano scores another big one. At $350.00, this may be the greatest bargain in fishing tackle. I definitely plan to purchase a second CTE-400 just for saltwater fishing.
In summary, if you are considering a medium tackle class baitcaster, the Shimano CTE-400 is without peer. Buy one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westfield, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Calcuta 300 TE

Date:June 30, 2007
I first had the opportunity to fish with the Shimano Calcutta 400 TE during a trip to Lake Athabasca in 2006. Although I have used other bait-casting reels in the past, I had never experienced the ability to cast for distance without the risk of creating a birds nest due to the Variable Brake System (VBS). My hands on experience in 2006 left no doubt in my mind I would purchase a Calcutta TE - they are exceptionally high quality reels.
I purchased the Calcutta 300 TE bait casting reel in 2007 and found the reel to be every bit as durable, easy to use, and reliable as the Calcutta 400 TE I had used the previous year. The reel palms nicely in my hand which allowed for continuous fishing under a range of weather conditions. I would not hesitate to recommend this reel to any fisherman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oamaru, New Zealand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta TE 401

Date:September 24, 2007
Excellent quality smooth operation and drag system.
Purchased this reel for salmon fishing on our local river where the fish can offten be hooked and played in very heavy water and strong currents.
The shimano is in a class of it's own when it comes to holding fish in these conditions.
I would recommend it to any one needing a reliable reel to handle tough and demanding operating conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Mississippi gulf coast
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Calcutta TE 200GT

Date:December 15, 2007
Bought this reel and was nothing but trouble, after catching several big Speckled Trout on the reel something inside would start to grind and i would have to bring it back and replace it. did not have a good experience with this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: sacramento, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why I returned my CTE201 reel

Date:January 17, 2008
Its a great reel, smooth casting, great drag, light weight, solid feel. What I didn't like was when thumbing the spool to apply a little more pressure when fighting a fish my thumb tended to depress the thumb bar free spool release. This almost cost me a nice fish. There are two drain holes on the botton of the sideplates (one on each side). Its nice that they have the drain holes, I was bothered by the amount of water that continually drains out of them. My last dislike was the poor fit of the handle side sideplate to the reel frame. I would have expected that with computer controlled machining that these pieces would have been better alligned. These pieces have the same diameter but there is about .010 inch misallignment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it's my 4th real, great real

Date:February 7, 2008
great quality, i own 4 te's and 4 other shimano calcutta
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CTE-400

Date:September 17, 2008
After years of fishing for Canadian Pike with a spinning reel switched to the Calcutta this year. What an unbelievable piece of equipment! Caught and landed 100% of my fish over 40" (four in total) which with the spinning gear is typically at 50%.
There is probably better casting reels out there but for a casting newbie this reel made it the best experience possible. Pricey, but yous gets what yous pays for......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DeKalb, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shimano calcutta TE reel

Date:December 3, 2008
Nothing new. I purchased my 1st reel when they first came out. This is my 7th, because they do what they say, when the others don't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sperry, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta TE 50 reel

Date:December 11, 2008
I like the small size, light weight, and how smooth the reel operates. It handles light line and small lures effortlessly. I use it for throwing shakey head worms and drop shotting. My oldest son who was fishing with me after I received the reel could not believe the distance I was getting as I was outcasting him using similar lures on spinning gear. I also have a couple of the 200 series reels and they cast great also!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Francisco, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta 401 TE

Date:May 4, 2009
This is by far the best reel that I own. I fish with my Calcutta 401 TE about 4-5 days a week and it has never let me down! I use my reel for a number of different applications such as drifting for halibutt and striper/surf&jetty fishing/light rockcod fishing and does what ever the job flawlessly everytime. It is also the smoothest most powerful round reel in its class PERIOD!!! The engineering and design put into these reels really shine through and If you do some occasional maintenance on you reel they will last you a lifetime! Not to mention they make these reels in a lefty which is a real plus in my book!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Beverly Hills, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta® TE™ Reel

Date:May 21, 2009
Put this reel on a G-Loomis GLX casting rod #CR722 and you have the best Walleye jigging rod possible.
The combo is worth every single penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: India
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rolls royce of the fishing reels

Date:May 26, 2009
Rolls royce of the fishing reels .
Very smooth , strong and a powerful drag . If you get hooked on to a big fish with a tight drag setting the line comes off very smoothly without a jerk . Casts beautifully . Dartanium drags are outstanding . The reel looks like a work of art and is very beautiful to look at .
As a matter of fact I took the reel apart for greasing and the inside components look very high quality .
I combined this reel with a Shimano cennan casting rod 10,6 in length for mahaseer fishing in India .
The reel is a little pricey but is worth every penny , by the way to have this reel shipped to my country( India ) I had to pay 45% of the reel cost as frait and 35% Import duty on the total shipping cost + the cost of the reel so the reel costed me close to 650$ But in the end when I held the reel I forgot about the money spent .
The reel gets a five out of five in every aspect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loving My 401 TE

Date:June 16, 2009
I,ve had my 401 for three years now and I must say it's done everything from Blues,stripers, and everything in between well. I paired this reel with a saltiga jig rod and headed to Boston for giant porgies, the reel handled triple headers like a champ. The torque is amazing for such a small reel, I love my 401, It's a lot of money but worth every dollar. All can say WoW!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano Calcutta TE GT

Date:July 24, 2009
I am left handed and appreciate Shimano making its high end products available in a left handed model. These reels are super smooth, cast a very long distance, and have a very smooth drag system. They are also very easy to self maintain. Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Francisco, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lubrication Access

Date:October 13, 2009
Very convenient lubrication access to main bearings without removing the spool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Presque Isle, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Calcutta TE 400

Date:November 18, 2009
After using ABU 6500C3's for 10+ years, specifically for Musky fishing, this reel was unreal to jump into. After I picked it up and started fishing with it, I hated picking up the 6500's there after. Its an amazing reel, nothing better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano® Calcutta TE™ Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CTE 400 and CTE 700

Date:November 30, 2009
Been blessed to own two of these gems now, and can't be more pleased. The 700 is filled with braid with fluorocarbon topshot for saltwater use. The 400 I spooled with copolymar for throwing large swimbaits for our monster San Diego Bass. I love these reels, no issues at all. Very smooth drags, cast long and backlashes are rare. You can't go wrong with these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33