Customer Reviews for NILS USA Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NILS USA Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger

The experts in Finland say they can cut through 20" of ice in a minute or less with this easy-to-use hand auger. The high-precision chromium blade cutting head is equipped with tightly wound fluting for easy ice-chip removal. A fold-down handle makes it easy to store and transport out on the ice. Made in Finland. Sizes: 6", 8".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
98 out of 103(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Review 41 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: boston area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils 6" auger

Date:January 19, 2010
I have had no problems with my new auger, it has been one of the best investments I have made this year. It cuts thru the ice with great ease, and you do not have to put any weight on it to cut. Very pleased with it!
-Dan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Menasha, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Just Can't Believe It!

Date:January 21, 2010
I only saw one other poor review and I hate to do another one but I must let you know. I picked this up at Cabela's on the 18th. I was so excited to have it I went to the lake across the street to give it a try on the 19th. It drilled 3 holes with very little effort. I bought the 8 inch version. It drilled faster than a 6 inch lazer. It was so cool.
On the 20th I took my new Nils to Green Bay to fish for white fish. My first hole was great. The next hole worked great. Then it had a hard time doing the next hole. After the 3rd hole it wouldn't work at all! It would just spin and bobble up and down without biting into the ice. I cleaned off the head. I checked everything out. I tried a half dozen more times on different areas of the ice and nothing. I'm just dumbfounded. How does a hand auger not work?? I'm forced to return it. Dare I try another one? Hmm, just don't know.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dry Floor- Cat's Meow

Date:January 21, 2010
This thing is awesome (bought the 8 inch).
Quiet, light, reliable, no smell, leaves dry floors. Brought this out to dad's sleeper house, amazed how well it worked. Drilled very quickly and so easy I had to lean back to make sure it was actually drilling in. No gas exhaust in the house/truck/garage, but best of all, it left the ice house floor dry. With power augers, hit the bottom and it always spews water up on the floor. This thing chewed thru over 18 inches of ice, but didn't spit water 2 feet when broke thru. Nothing worse than waking up at 3 am in a sleeper and getting wet feet before putting on boots.
The rest of my family is ditching their power augers and getting one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NILS AUGAR

Date:January 22, 2010
I got to test my augar out to day this thing lives up to its rep.I drilled 20 holes this morning and it cuts though the ice like butter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shakopee, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

He's gone all the time so it must work pretty good

Date:January 23, 2010
I purchased this auger for my husband for christmas. Initially he was hesitant because he wanted a power auger. However upon his return later that day I was greeted with a big smooch and a "thankyousomuchthisisthebestpresentever" as he went back to the garage to admire his new favorite toy. If he were ever home, I'd ask him about the pro's and con's but of course, he's out fishing. I would advise any woman considering this as a gift to think twice before they lose their partner until spring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils auger everything people said it was

Date:January 25, 2010
I bought the 6" Nils. I found that it is everything people said it was. It bites into the ice without wandering around. Eats its' way through so fast, that I was concerned I was standing on unsafe ice. Ice was a solid 8" thick and only took 14 turns of the auger to break through. I did not have to lean into auger for the ice to cut, just turn nice and easy. Only issue, and it's a small one, is that you have to get used to having your top hand make a small circle motion, versus other augers where your top hand is centered.
Buy this auger. You'll be glad you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils Master High-Velocity Hand Auger

Date:February 1, 2010
This is an excellent tool. It is very sharp and goes through ice very quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milford, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils Hand Ice Auger

Date:February 3, 2010
I was really amazed how well this ice auger works! I have been able to easily cut through 12-15 inches of ice in less than 30 seconds. I haven't used a hand ice auger in about 30 years and can't believe how much these have improved. My heavy gas powered auger will be staying in the garage until the ice gets at least two feet thick!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Syracuse, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils 6" Hand Ice Auger

Date:February 22, 2010
I didn't think I would find a better hand auger than my Strike Light Lazer auger , but I did in the Nils. It's almost effortless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york,ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

auger

Date:February 22, 2010
this is the best of the best hand auger I ever used, is is what I call quality , speed, weight, its just perfect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pure Awesomeness!!!

Date:December 6, 2010
I puchased the 6 inch Nils hand auger this fall and just got to test it out this past weekend. About 4 to 5 inches of ice and the auger went through in about 3 and a half turns (about 6 seconds). My wife even tried it and we were both shocked--we thought the ice was really thin, but it is just that good. I am saving up to buy the eight inch for next year. Absolutely easy to use and minimal effort. I can't recommend it enough, just don't bang the head on the ice (blades are sensitive), use the cover and enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Park Falls, WI
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Auger

Date:December 8, 2010
This is truly an amazing tool. It cuts almost as fast as a power auger. Each turn cuts about 1/2 inch through the ice, so holes are drilled in no time. Plus it's light and easy to handle. More expensive than other hand augers, but clearly worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Fun

Date:December 27, 2010
I bought the Nils hand auger and a replacement blade head last night and this morning I was using it. I had trouble drilling out my first hole and then after my second I started to sweat. I switched heads and the second head didn't even get 5'' threw the ice. There was only 11'' of ice to go through. I ended up asking to use the nice persons beside me for his power auger and finished up the day making a new friend. I'm returning this auger tomorrow. Maybe I had a bad one... but I did try two different heads. Going from bad to worst is not fun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth the money

Date:December 29, 2010
The nils ice auger is the fastest cutting hand auger I have ever used, and I own three others of varius brands. The nils drills holes almost effortlessly. Excellent buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bethel. Ct.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nils

Date:January 5, 2011
I have been ice fishing for over 30 years and while I can not say that I have used every ice drill (auger) out there I will say that I have used many hand augers and gas augers. After reading and hearing so much about the Nils auger I had to try it. I bought a 6 inch hand auger Dec, 2010 and used it on 4 ice fishing trips so far. It is BY FAR the very best auger I have ever used. I fish mostly ponds in the northeast and many do not allow gas boat motors or gas ice augers so a hand auger is a must. The Nils requires little or no down pressure
and cuts like butter including breaking through the bottom of the hole! While it costs a little more than the others it is the best money I have ever spent on ice fishing gear!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake Minnetonka, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I have had mine for 3 years

Date:January 10, 2011
I bought the 6" model three years ago from Cabela's because, at the time I just didn't have the money for a Power Auger and I wanted to buy the best hand auger on the market according to the reviews. Well, three years later I could not be happier. It is worth every penny I spent and more. I live in MN where 2' of ice is common in January and February and she cuts through it without much effort at all. I will say that if you are a guy who wants to go out and cut 75 holes in a day that you could do it with this auger but you will be tired... it is still a hand auger. I have literally used my auger nearly every wintertime weekend since I bought and it is still as sharp as when I bought. Don't bang it on the ice and always keep the blade covered when not in use and you shouldn't have any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Derry, NH
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hands Down Best Hand Auger

Date:January 13, 2011
Have used the 8" model for over one year now in New Hampshire and it attracts attention every time anyone is around to see it perform. Some wonder if we are using a 6" because it is so fast. It drills at 1''/sec through black ice. Some fishermen have retired their gas augers and purchased a Nils. Not many in use in this area, but they will catch on. Can't imagine ever wanting to mess with gas&oil, hard starting, wet mess and noise of a power auger. Spend a little more and you won't regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

drilling machine

Date:February 8, 2011
everyone drilled though 2 feet of ice including the kids! What a day!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Auger on the market!

Date:February 11, 2011
This is the best hand auger on the market! You may pay a little more but its worth the money. I have used a strikemaster mora in the past but the Nils is better quality and cuts better. The ice I auger through is anywhere from 7 to 20 inches thick, it cuts with precision. You will not regret buying one of these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Nils USA High-Velocity Hand Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nothwest ct.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nils master

Date:February 24, 2011
fastest hand auger I ever used!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 103