Customer Reviews for Shappell Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Shappell Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter

These ice shelters protect you from the harsh elements winter days fishing on hard water can dish out. Durable 7-oz. polyester canvas cover is water-repellent and fire retardant. Large doors on each end of the shelter provide easy access, and two full-length windows with attached shades let you see what's happening outside. Cover is fully attached to the base, so there are no air gaps to worry about. Polyethylene base is lighter than wood and just as strong. Base features non-slip carpeting, which also insulates and keeps noise to a minimum. Molded-in bucket carriers. The 4000 Deluxe boasts the same great features as 3000 Deluxe, only larger. Easy one-person set-up. Two 11" x 35" holes. Double-stitched 300-denier polyester duck cover. Measures: 70"L x 47"W x 72"H setup. Weight: 44 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Review 1 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wiscasset, Me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good shack

Date:January 28, 2008
I have just used my ice shack for the first time night ice fishing. It worked very well, was easy both to put up and to take down, which was good because it was -7 degrees and windy. We had two men, most of our equipment, two heaters (you will note the outside temp), and still had plenty of room to jig and have one tip-up each in the shack. The windows gave a very good look at the tip-ups out side even though they did fog up a little. About the only thing that I would change on it is if they would put places to put anchor downs either in the floor or tie down loops. Everything else worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cassopolis, Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great ice house

Date:February 6, 2007
I have had this Shanny for just over 2 years and have yet to have a problem with it. You hear about the windows cracking in cold temps but im using it right now and it is about 5 degrees during the day and in the afternoon its getting as low as -8 and i have yet to notice and cracking going on. i would recommend this house and i feel is the best i ever had. There is more room then you will ever need. 2 people if works great you can keep everything you need inside and out of the weather. The only thing is it takes alot of to heat it. But overall i am very happy with my shanny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shappell DX4000

Date:January 30, 2007
The Shappell DX4000 is a well designed shack in every way. Lots of room and folds down to fit in a mid size SUV or van. The windows cracking is a problem for any shack with PVC windows which every shelter company has. Shappell is the only company I know of that guarantees there shacks for everything including the windows down to -15 degrees. Clam and Frabill say right in there manuals that they do not guarantee their windows. I say stay with Shappell, at least they take care of their customers when they have a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MINNESOTA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT ICE HOUSE

Date:November 19, 2006
This is a great ice fishing house if you are looking for a very comfortable house for two people and can even fit 3 people comfortably and has two large hole which you can easily fish tow holes in side the one and have two hole per person great price for this house and great having two doors and two big windows. i would recomend getting this one you can even stand up inside it and i am a 6-1 guy so it is nice very light and flattens to almost nothing easy to pull and transfer a must buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a good shack

Date:February 20, 2008
The Shappell 4000 is a good shack, especially for tall people. It's pretty easy to put up/down. It's roomy and comfortable and easily heated with the Coleman Procat.
I wish the carpets were removeable as they take a long time to dry. Ice anchors are crucial on a windy day, especially if the wind shifts to the side. At about 70lbs and four feet long, it can be a little bulky and cumbersome to move around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so good

Date:January 15, 2007
I have owned this Shack for a little under a year now. The windows are already cracked and both zippers are damaged due to cold weather. The shack would be a great one if these two things could be improved upon. I will have to now by another shack (that is my second one in less than a year) in order to enjoy the fishing this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shappell 4000 Deluxe Ice Fishing Shelter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:November 22, 2006
This fish house is junk. After my first season with this fish house I found a 2" crack in one of the windows. During a fishing trip to Winnie in Feb 2006. The fish house was trashed by the cold weather. Now both windows are cracked from one end to the other end. The zipper on one of the doors is broke. The day this all happened the temp was in the low teens and about 5 mph winds. I had this fish house for 13 months. If you are looking for a fish house that you can fish 2-3 people in and something that lasts longer then a year, buy a Frabill or a Clam!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.