Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods

Cabela's Inner Cast? rods reduce many of the common problems associated with traditional-style rods. Because the line runs through the center of our IM-7 graphite Inner Cast? blanks, we were able to eliminate rod guides for more line contact points and super sensitivity. These rods have fewer flat spots caused by rigid guide feet, and no line-slap or tip tangles for greater castability. Smooth, titanium entry guides and tips handle the toughest super braids and reduce line friction for unbeatable casting performance.Each model comes complete with line threader. Due to limited quantities, current stock will be checked when you add an item to your basket.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Review 1 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

innercast rods

Date:March 18, 2008
I like mine because of its simplicity, no eyes no loops in the line, nothing to tangle on wile walking to my favorite spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Littlerock, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

knot so funny

Date:February 21, 2008
It was a pleasure using my new rod for the first few days on the opener. I was able to land an 8 1/2 and 9 lb. trout with no problem. However I was fishing on a windy day and had an unfortunate wind knot enter the inside of the pole. It got jammed up in the tip and I am still trying to get it out. I have had to continue fishing with my back up traditional pole. I like the innercast feature just watch the knots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: uvalde, tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

inner cast

Date:February 16, 2008
I use this rod when kayak fishing on a river. By not having the guides lets me put it in and out the SIK whithout worring about braking or bending the guides. The only complaint I have is casting distance is reduced by about 5 to 10 feet and weights a bit more then regular rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Marlin, Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

innercast rods

Date:February 13, 2008
These rods are great-no half hitch knots around the tip of the rod. The back bone and tip action on all the rods I have which I own (4) of them. The only draw back I have with them is went using braided line especially small diameter has tendency to cut or slice the entrance hole and hang up and stop free flow of line after several cast and probably after several fish hook-up. The entrance orifice should lined with metal to stop this problem. For Mono line in works--GREAT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montreal Canada province of Quebec.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Inner Cast Spinning Rod & Bait Caster

Date:September 7, 2007
Have used all summer & tested spin casting & bait castin with different types of line. Love them both. Great thinking!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ewing, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Guides-WOW!

Date:September 7, 2007
I ordered this rod a long while back, however, I did not use it until this past July. I took the rod with me on my yearly trip to Upstate NY for smallmouth, pike, and walleye. This rod was a lot of fun to use. I caught many smallmouth and a few pike on it. It held up, fought well, and felt great in my hands. The best fish I caught on it was a 8 1/2 lb Bowfin out of the St. Larwence River. Bowfin fight hard and the rod held tight with no issues at all. My son and buddy both used the rod and said they want to get one too. The only down side, and it's so minor it's hardly worth saying, but the line appears to hang at the tip from time to time....nothing serious at all, just caught me by surprise. I would not remove the 5 Star rating due to this minor problem. I only wish I could get one of these in a 4 1/2 to 5 foot ultra lite....that would be fun on the streams for trout.
Good work Cabela's....I love it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Intercast spiner rod

Date:July 3, 2007
This is a nice rod but I lost about 20 yards of casting distance with it. But my son tried it and he loves it. So now he has a new rod and I'm going back to the catalog.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: central valley California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

impressed

Date:June 18, 2007
i bought the inner cast rod (medium heavy action)and have only used it once so far for about 3hrs, but i am really inpressed by the way it cast. i was just relaxing under a tree so i wasn't really casting far. it was nice not having to untangle the line off the eyes before evey cast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wyncote pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dads little helper

Date:April 25, 2007
this is the perfect rod for my now 7 year old son. he has 2 now with the first given to him at age 5.
with this rod i was able to say good bye to most of the tangles from your standard spinners and crank baits. this allowed my son to fish with more confidence as well as boosting his casting skills to a high level. our fishing guide in maine last year was impressed how he handled the 6'-6 rod while casting in a boat.
for serious fisherman coaching thier kids in the great activity of fishing this rod is highly recommended. i guarantee after your child quickly masters thier casting, you will have more time with your line in the water as well.
the unique looking pole can be a task to re-line with the piano wire supplied if you are in the wind etc, but this is the only drawback.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Canton, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I was thinking

Date:April 16, 2007
I am an avid hunter and fisherman. I am very particular about the products I buy for these hobbies. Cabelas is my number one source for my hunting and fishing supplies. The Cabelas Innercast is another in a long line of quality products. I use spiderwire fishing line, and with the flexibility of the line it continued to get caught in the eyes of the rod. The innercast eliminated this problem while at the same time increased the sensitivity of the rod. I have been extremly satisfied with the innercast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Morongo Valley, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love Them

Date:March 27, 2007
Have loved my inner cast rods since I bought them. Needed to work with getting the reel to work with the set up the first day but after that I was hooked. Second place at a tournement at Lake Casitas cemented my opinion. Going back this year trying for first
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rod

Date:March 20, 2007
i used this rod in canada and i caught 2 pike over 30 inchs and this rod worked great. i use super braid with the rod and it perfoms great this is the best rod id ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KC area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A really good rod

Date:February 25, 2007
A great rod, I own a couple of these and use them regularly for fishing Pike. Great action and work well for casting rather heavy spoons and spinners. The line flow really helps when I have a need for casting a light lure as well. I would recommend these rods and they do take a bit of getting used to as they have a really solid feel that is a bit different than traditional rods with guides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ontario, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carry 5 rods in one hand - no tangles!!!

Date:February 14, 2007
These rods are just the nuts if you're tired of tangled up lines that make one big mess while you're moving your rods around. Even trying to quickly grab two or three rods and move them to the other side of the boat can become a nightmare with conventional rods. Line, hooks and guides catching on each other and slowing you down while you untangle everything. Not with the Inner Cast rods. Its easy to pick up four or five rods at a time and move them to the other side of the boat, to your rod locker, or the trunk of your car. It can even be done with a lure attached as long as you keep the lures staggered so they don't come in contact with each other and with no line or guides outside the rod a hook can catch on the rod but it is easily disengaged without even touching it! OK, so they're tangle-free but are they any good - you betch! I've been using 7 rods over the course of three years and I can't find anything bad to say about them except I wish they were offered in more action choices - a slow action 7 footer would be nice. I rarely use any other rods except for a very light weight one and a very heavy weight one. I use the Inner Casts for flipping and pitching, worms and jigs as well as cranking and surface work. Then why only four stars - if you fish a lake that is heavy with algae using a braided line it will slowly over the course of the day collect a build up inside the rod making for shorter casts. I solved that problem by attaching a piece of very heavy braid to a pipe cleaner and on occasion if I'm fishing that type of lake I run it through the rod every hour or so. I've only run into that four or five times in the course of three years and I usually get in four or five days of fishing a week during the bass season. Really wish they were offered in a wider range of actions and lengths. If they did its the only rod I'd have in the boat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth fishing

Date:November 21, 2006
The innercast rod makes fishing smooth and easy. I fish in the Canadian wilderness a week each year by canoe and the inner cast is the way to go. No guides to get hung up on gear in the canoe even when a big Northern Pike is flopping around. Smooth casts and retreives. Take an extra threader with you just in case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ile Bizard Quebec Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for traveling

Date:November 20, 2006
The feeling is good, I was only disapointed that it works only with mono,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Inner Cast Spinning Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wellington, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inner Cast Rod problem

Date:October 19, 2006
I was really excited to use this rod. I fish Pyramid Lake in northern Nevada, Lahanton Cutthroat Trout to 18 - 20 lbs are caught every year.
I caught one fish (2 -3 lbs trout) on a down rigger and the rod tip snapped as I was getting the fish into the boat. the fight was good and i liked the action of the rod. It was a fairly light fish on a medium to heavy rod so I don't have a lot to say about the action. The retreive was smooth and easy with a Shimanno Corvalus bait cast reel. I am not sure why the tip broke but I would be interested in hearing about other problems.
Threading the rod is not easily done.
I sent the rod back to Cabelas today and should have news on a replacement rod soon. I am going with a traditional rod with guides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.