Customer Reviews for STRIKEMASTER StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

STRIKEMASTER StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger

The Lazer Mag is a lightweight powerhouse ready to chew up the ice. The potent 42cc, 2-1/2hp Solo® motor has an electronic ignition for easy starting. Twin serrated stainless steel Lazer blades make quick work of the ice. The Tufflite Dupont® Zytel® handle system makes holding the unit easy and doesn't add excess weight. Great on fuel, the 24-oz. tank capacity is enough for hundreds of holes. Powered by a Solo® motor. Available: 8", 10". Weight: 8" weighs 26 lbs., 10" weighs 29 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
41 out of 49(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Review 1 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmington, MN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8'' lazer mag

Date:March 1, 2011
I picked the auger up about a month ago and have had nothing bad to say. Been out on the ice with it about 5 or 6 times and have drilled over 100 holes. Was a little skeptical about how the new solo powerhead would be for starting because of some prior reviews but i have not had any issues at all. cuts nice and fast and look forward using it in the years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific power for the size

Date:January 25, 2016
I've had my 8" auger for 3 years now and this thing has power. The mora blades go through ice with ease. When you keep the blades sharp very little pushing is needed as your drilling, it pulls itself right through. To get through 18 inches of ice maybe 6 to 8 seconds. My buddy has the Honda engine model and it's a lot quieter but doesn't nearly have the torque as my 2 stroke. The only thing is when it's cold you have to let it idle for 30 seconds to a minute before you start drilling or you'll snub it out and you have to constantly tighten the the screw mounting the auger to the power head. A bolt with a lock nut solves that dilemma. Other than that it runs great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Like a hot knife through butter"

Date:January 22, 2016
Went out ice fishing with friends and among other Augers this was the top performer. I bought the 8 inch and it drills through the ice with zero effort from operator's side. All my friends had has good feedback.
This auger did better than 3 HP Jiffy.
Will keep posting after the next outing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One season in the books

Date:September 26, 2015
After a full season with mine I feel confident enough to write a review. I'm conservatively estimating I've drilled 500 holes with it but its likely more than that. First problem I encountered was the fuel lines not staying attached to the primer bulb. Strikemaster sent me new "cold weather" lines that don't contract, free of charge. 5 minute installation. They worked as described, problem solved. The auger ran flawlessly through the season after that and punched holes as fast as I could move with it. Its an animal. Then with a couple weeks of ice season left I ran into problem number 2. The bit started to spin about 60 rpm (1 per second) at idle. I figured I knew what the problem was and decided to continue using it until the end of the season before getting it looked at since it was almost over anyway. Took it in after ice out and bingo, broken clutch return spring. Ok no problem, Strikemaster sent one and had it installed free of charge. Problem solved, bit no longer spins at idle. So overall its had its problems but neither prevented me from getting holes punched. Strikemaster stood behind it with fast responses to my 2 situations. Overall I love it. It took a season to get to know each other but we worked things out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stay away!!

Date:March 4, 2015
I bought this auger a few years ago. I have to admit, the first month or so I owned it, I was impressed. Since then it has slowly turned into the worst piece of hunting/fishing equipment I've ever owned. Broken recoils and kill switches, blown transmissions, multiple carb rebuilds, and constant fouled spark plugs. This past fishing trip was the last straw. After snowmobiling many miles to my spot and not even being able to drill a single hole, because it refused to start, I finally made the decision to get rid of it for good.
It's unfortunate because my old Strikemaster is 30 years old and still runs like a champ, it just doesn't have enough power for a 10" auger or thick ice. I also love the lazer auger.
For what it's worth, my dad and uncle have the same auger and both are selling theirs as well because they are fed up with all of the same problems.
You'll love this auger when it runs, but it is way to unreliable to keep around. Stay away!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Started off Great

Date:February 20, 2015
Took this auger out 3 times and drilled about 45 holes The auger started easy and ran great. Next time out drilled 15 holes. Went to drill hole #16 and the auger would not start. No gas present in the primer bulb. Engine obviously was not getting any gas even though there was a half tank. Returned for replacement. Only hope is I get a better one this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Patience Pays Off

Date:February 13, 2014
Con: Very loud engine
Pro: Light-weight, reliable (once you understand it)
I have had this auger through 4 winters now and am pleased with it. Being sure this auger starts & runs reliably takes a little practice and understanding -
1) Do not fill the gas tank more than 3/4 full. If topped off, the air filter will foul with gas and the engine will shutdown after drilling ~5 holes.
2) Starting - experiment a little. I have found it to start consistently after giving three strong pulls with the choke engaged and then switching the choke-switch to run ... two more strong pulls and it starts every time (even first time out on new ice). Nearly every one of my buddies has picked it up and struggled to start it their first time due to lack of familiarity, I'm sure a new owner may be get frustrated at first also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A step up from jiffy

Date:December 23, 2013
I had an old jiffy passed down to me from my dad and it has always been great. Thinking jiffy was the way to go, I bought a new model 30 2 years ago and was never able to get it running right. I had taken it to small engine shops and tried the jets in every imaginable setting to no avail. Not to mention the excessive weight and constant icing up. After getting so frustrated having to prime my auger to keep it running WHILE drilling holes I decided to get rid of it and try a strike master. Boy am I glad I did!!! The solo motor starts very easily and once its running you wont look back. It has instant power when you hit the throttle, consistent cutting speed, and it stays running without so much as a sputter, even if you set it down on the ice! The blades cut like a hot knife through butter. The absolute only thing I dislike about this auger is that sometimes it will jar your arms upon breaking through the ice. Not sure if that is because of the lighter weight or that it doesn't have the "chipper" style blade that jiffy has.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thank God for Strikemaster!

Date:February 5, 2013
Purchased this after baving three terrible experiences with brand new Eskimo augers and poor customer service from Ardisam. My buddys Jiffy is heavier than heck and ices up a lot. Being pleased with my Lazer hand auger, I bit the bullet and will never look back. Drill does turn at idle but I suspect a high idle setting. Doesnt bother me one bit though considering I start and drill like crazy immediately! German Solo engine is a beast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk From Day One

Date:January 10, 2013
Pros: light weight
Cons: pretty much everything else
Rough starting right out of the box and after several years and three trips to the repair shop it hasn't gotten any better. Blades need replacement often or they are useless. I'm back to using my 25 year old Jiffy this week. Its a tank but starts on the second or third pull even at sub zero temps. I will likely be buying a new Jiffy when the season year end clearence sales begin. Look for my Lazer Mag on Craigslist next fall. Junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strike master beats Jiffy

Date:November 20, 2012
I bought my auger last year and ended up drilling around 300 holes. i've gone around lakes drilling holes and carrieing for a long time with out getting tired. Also my friend has a jiffy that is two years old so we race and I eneded up drilling two more holes faster then he did. ( we did a 10 hole race)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ice auger

Date:March 28, 2012
This auger flies through ice, the top end power is unmatched for its horse power and weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Auger

Date:January 24, 2012
This thing cuts through the ice no problems at all. Late season it still goes through over 2 feet of ice with out any issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Big Lake
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuts Like Butter

Date:January 24, 2012
Great machine, easy to start and purrs like a kitten. Yep, I'd recommend this to all you frigid lake dwellers.
Makes ice fishing a lot easier to deal with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prior lake, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice upgrade

Date:January 18, 2012
Owned a Mag 2000 for 8 yrs. of reliable, hard use before the 2 hp. engine gave up. This is our 1st yr. with the 8" Lazer Mag and it seems a little lighter and quieter, starts faster( 1st or 2nd pull), and cuts with amazing ease. I also got the best price from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Auger

Date:January 11, 2012
About a year ago I purchased a StrikeMaster LazerMag. I have enjoyed having this power auger. It is light enough to carry easily, starts easily, and cuts thought ice like a champ. With a years use the blades are still sharp and cutting well. I got the 10" hole size as that was what was left when I bought mine. Glad I got the larger hole size. It just gives that much more room for a flasher unit to be in the hole. The larger hole size doesn't slow the cutting speed going though the ice. A great working unit overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jackson, Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8' Strikemaster Lazer #1 on Market

Date:January 11, 2012
Would highly recomend this brand auger to everyone as it starts everytime usually on 2nd or 3rd pull. Also not that heavy to carry over your shoulder if you have to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Four years, still great

Date:January 11, 2012
I have an 8" with the older, Tecumseh motor so I cannot compare against the newer Solo.
After four winters of 400 - 600 holes/year, I still love this unit. Last winter, when the ice got to almost five feet (seriously!) the machine still managed the conditions well. At that point the machine started to be challenged by the ice depth but when the ice has been shallower, no problems.
The machine is lightly built, and that has turned out to be a plus. Nothing has broken, but I am pretty careful with it.
It is a little fussy on the starting (you have to be quick to turn off the choke once it fires) but it has always started in a dozen pulls, usually much less. I am scrupulous about using synthetic oil and fuel stabilizer.
Really glad I bought it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best auger ever

Date:January 9, 2012
finally upgraded augers and I love it. i even went with the 10" which is great for the electronics. now i just wish it would get cold again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for StrikeMaster® Lazer Mag™ Ice Auger
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk River, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10" Strikemaster lazer mag

Date:February 24, 2011
Cabela's had to order this in for me and it came in earlier than I expected which was great. It has done everything I hoped it would. I was concerned about the new SOLO engins. Well not any more....It performed great. Much quieter than my old auger and drilled about 5 times faster than the old one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 49