Customer Reviews for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel

Still the world's fastest baitcaster. Its ultra-fast 7.1 to 1 retrieve rips in more than 31" of line with every turn of the handle. Yet, there's cranking power to spare because of the rigid drive train support of Power Mesh?Drive. Five stainless steel ball bearings provide a smooth retrieve and allow for long, effortless casts. Autocast? Lifetime clutch coupled with Magforce anti-backlash control provides smooth, tangle-free operation. Built on a one-piece aluminum frame. Also features a Flipping selector. Line capacity: 175/10. Gear ratio: 7.1:1. Weight (oz.): 9.3.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Review 1 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DALTON, GEORGIA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PT33SH CASTING REEL

Date:September 23, 2008
THE PT33SH REEL IS BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST CASTING REELS THAT DAIWA HAS EVER PRODUCED FOR BASS FISHING. I OWNED SIX, AND PURCHASED TWO MORE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO. TWO OF THE REELS I USE, WERE PURCHASED OVER TEN YEARS AGO, AND STILL FISH AS WELL AS THE FIRST DAY I USED THEM. I WOULD RECOMMEND THESE REELS TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A HARDWORKING, RELIABLE REEL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Norcal, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Old workhorse

Date:September 1, 2008
I like the idea of using a reel that was the "reel deal" at one time and still holds its own. Using this larger yet still light reel is just a real kick. Much can be said about a reel like this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good reel

Date:June 8, 2008
good reel but the flipin selector is a joke since you will probly pull off two or there aremlengths of line to let lure sink straight down by cover but i guse Diawa just didn't want to have to change anythig about it. have several over 25 years old work good anti reverse part can be difficult to put back on the notched warsher right just be sure to have the two pices of tin pintch on it youll see have good luck fishing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa Procaster

Date:February 19, 2008
I had one of these reels that I first purchased in 1986 had it overhauled once and Im still using it. Bought two more of these recently and there they same quality as the one from 1986. Comfortable in my hand and easy to cast with a fantastic drag and backlash setting. Will be buying more of these in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dickson, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Diawa Procaster PT33H

Date:February 7, 2008
I had one 20 years ago and it worked great then, bought this one and it works great now. I would recommend this reel to anyone needing a high speed baitcaster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Vancouver Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK Reel

Date:January 8, 2008
A love - hate relationship. I love the rubberized side plate in cold weather. It fits my hand nicely, casts very well and has a great high speed retrieve. The external adjustment is easier to work than most of the Diawa-dial models. Great line capacity, as stated which is unusual. 5+stars.
Built like a truck, tough, probably last a lifetime... Five stars.
Smooth enough, quiet enough. Good, 3 stars
It's not a beginner's reel as it can get away from you quite easily, leaving you wanting a line-pick. 2-3 stars
The pawl-stops are fine and solid, but at this price I expected roller-bearing anti-reverse. However, you can still get a really good hookset. 3 stars
The handle knobs are a hard, slightly-textured plastic, slippery when wet. 1 star.
The drag is terrible. A 3# trout caused me to go to full drag. At home, a measured 4 pound max drag, not the 8.8 mentioned on Diawa's site. This will not function well in its' intended use... Steelhead & Coho salmon. 0 Stars
Drag, knobs & easily backlashed 'drag' it down to a 1-2 star.
I wish it were not so, because of the sturdiness of the reel, but there are many other, better choices.
I suggest pass on this otherwise quite nice reel.
Cheers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: gardendale, alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa Procaster PT33SH Casting Reel

Date:June 15, 2007
it is very fast. i would like to see a little more silky smoothness out of the bearings, but i am very picky. i would recommend this reel to anyone looking for a fast reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa reel

Date:May 15, 2007
Excellent high speed reel. No gear noise or vibation and helps to make extra long casts. Reel is well made with many features. Takes less reeling effort to really move a crank bait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reel

Date:May 8, 2007
This is my third one of these. I have found them to be tough and dependable through years of tournament fishing. Great backlash control even with lighter lures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa Pro Caster PT33SH

Date:April 17, 2007
Great reel for the money. Very dependable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Daiwa Procaster® PT33SH Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Niles, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa Procaster� PT33SH Casting Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
I am very pleased with my Daiwa Procaster� PT33SH reel. I owned another Daiwa Bait Casting reel previously, and was happy with that one. I like that they have a Magforce anti-backlash control, I also like the flipping switch, and the ultra-fast 7.1 to 1 retrieve. The five stainless steel ball bearings add for a smoother retrieve and for longer casts. I would recommend this Daiwa Reel to everyone that likes to fish, its easy to use, looks good and handles great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.