Customer Reviews for BERKLEY Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool

BERKLEY Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool

Ensure even filling with constant line tension on both casting and spinning reels. Included is a built-in line stripper and cutter.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 191 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
12
1 Star
15
164 out of 191(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Review 1 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

Excellent Product

By
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Makes spooling any reel simple and fast. Keeps line taunt and consistent throught the spooling process. A great tool for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014

Works but should have built in line counter

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought this and a Berkley line counter that fits on a fishing rod for counting how much line is out for trolling. I bent a 6 1/2" piece of 3/8" dia. steel rod in half at a right angle and cut threads on one end and with two nuts and washers positioned it next to the Berkley red logo on the semi-round area located abut 2 inches behind the reel seat jam nut. (See attached photo) This allowed me to mount the line counter and count the amount of line going on or coming off the reel. I'm giving it only four stars due to lack of built in line counter, otherwise it does the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Works well when modified

By
I use this for stringing spinning reels and it works well with the following modification. Search for 'Berkeley Line Spooling Station Issues Resolved' to find a nicely done article on how to modify for fast, one-handed stringing of spinning reels. It is a cheap, easy fix. Leaving the rubber band on while stringing keeps the string from unraveling and provides the tension for smooth reeling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2013

Good Tool

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Works well. Wish it was a little easier to hold down, but still easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2013

Great for bait casters, OK for spinning reels

By
The line strippers works fine, much faster than the soup can and bolt setup in a cordless drill.
This is outstanding for freshwater bait casters, it keeps adequate tension. However on spinning reels there is no way to keep tension on the line unless you simply pinch the incoming line with your fingers. I don't know why some line manufacturers insist on putting odd indents on the lip of the spools either, makes spooling spinning reels a pain.
The threads on one of the collars that holds the tension stripped out the second time I used it. A material other than the soft brass would be a good choice.
Overall, not bad, but could be better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013

Efficient, Easy, and Fast

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This makes re-spooling your reels, quick and easy to do ! I would recommend one for anyone who really likes fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

Does well what I bought it for

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I am fairly new to fishing and have ended up with spinning reels, closed faced reels, and bait casting reels.
I was having a very difficult time putting new lines properly on each type of reel. This line winder has made it very easy to change the line on each type of reel without twisting any of them.
The line stripper works very well and is almost worth the total price alone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2013

almost perfect

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This linewinder works as advertised, the only thing that should be done to improve it is to add somethjng to lock the spool holder in place>
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

good product

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
So easy to use I can feel my reels up in no time & ready to go fishing in no time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

The Perfect Line Winder

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've used this product to spool mono on a spinning reel and braid, from a 1500 yard spool, onto a casting reel. The tension works flawlessly for all applications. After spooling all of my reels at home, the time and money that this winder has saved me has already payed for itself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

Excellent tool

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this line for salmon and steelhead fishing. I've since used it to spool up mono, braid and fly line on spinning reels, bait casters and fly reels. It's very easy to use and winds the line evenly. A must if you're a serious fisherman who uses multiple reels and lines for different applications.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2013

Spring time in the Rockies

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The guns are cleaned and lubed, and tucked away in the safe. My old friend of fifteen years is sitting in front of me as I write this. Each spring is the time for new line on all my reels, (12), and this spooling system has never let me down. Compact, efficient, dependable, and adjustabe line tension. Can't miss system.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

great buy

By
this product is a great buy for the price. it worked extremely well spooling all of my baitcasting reels. will get a chance to respool my spinning reels next spring. definitely recommend this for the guys who don't have an extra set of hands to help in the process of respooling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2012

Fishline winder

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a piece of junk ! The stripper doesn't work, the wheels don't fit tight against each other. The holder for the fishing line doesn't fit tight enough in the base and keeps falling down. Would NOT recommend this unit to anyone...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012

Favorite tool

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've used this lindwinder for years. It is handy, adaptable, and keeps my line fresh in just a few minutes of use. Great gift, too, which is why I buy one or two a year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012

Work Saver

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This line winder with line stripper is a real time saver.
I don't know why I didn't get one of thses years ago.
Easy to setup and not only easy to use but it makes changing line fun. Good quality, should last for years.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012

pretty much useless

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The included line stripper simply does not work and the line winder does not help when loading a spinning reel. I bought it to use almost exclusively with spinning reels.
If I still had the pachaging, I would surely return it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2012

This is a great product

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I do not know why the others had problems.
Mine works great.
I spooled 4 spinners and had no problems.
Did them in all in 30 minutes.
The line stripper performed so well that even with
Semi dead batteries, it stripped the line in short
Minutes instead of hours.
Great product, would buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

Berkely Line Winder does the job

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
I had wound my own line until i purchased this line winder. The directions were simple and t did a great job on the four reels I rewound.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Berkley® Line Winder with Stripping Tool
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

ANOTHER BERKLEY WINNER

By
I'VE HAD A FEW OF THESE OVER THE YEARS AND MANAGED TO LOSE THEM OR SOME OF THE PARTS. I KEEP ONE IN MY BOAT. THEY WORK GREAT AS LONG AS YOU FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I LIKE TO HOLD A WET CLOTH ON THE LINE IN FRONT OF THE REEL AS I SPOOL IT. THE DE SPOOLING TOOL IS GREAT ALSO. I WOULD HAVE GIVEN THIS A 5 STAR RATING, BUT ONE OF THE SCREWS THAT HOLDS THE SPOOL IN PLACE WOULD NOT SCREW IN AS THE HOLE HAD NOT BEEN TAPPED ALL THE WAY - I DID MANAGE TO MAKE IT WORK WITH THE PLIERS - WE'LL SEE HOW LONG IT HOLDS. ALWAYS HAPPY WITH BERKLEY!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 191