Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod

CABELA'S Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod

Our European Predator spinning rods are designed for bait-fishing northern pike, catfish and other large fish. These rods are great for long-distance casting of hard baits for almost any species of fish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Review 1 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

Great Rod

By
Sensitive, Great casting ability, Fairly Light,
Too many guides, guides too small. doesn't seem to affect casting greatly
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Good Purchase Experience

By
Location: lena, Ms
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I am very satisfied with my Fishing Rod, even though it broke accidentally when I was fishing, but i was able to send back my rod for return with the mail label and information provided.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Awesome Carp Rod

By
Location: Ellington, CT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have used this rod for over a year and caught many carp on it.. Holds up to very powerful river carp.. I caught a 28lb common a few months ago and it fought it well.. Best Carp rod for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2011

excelence

By
Location: sugarland tx
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
good
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

Awesome Surf Rod

By
Location: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Hands down one of the best rods I've ever used. It's 11' so you'll get distance casting, light enough to troll with, strong backbone, and breaks down so you can store it easy. Caught numerous fish on this rod including a 35 pound flathead catfish no problem. Paired with an abu garcia 6500c3 and berkley big game line in 30 pound test.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011

a predator in the surf

By
Location: long island, ny
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
a perfect rod to match up with a casting reel, a 2oz jig/spoon/plug for bass 'n' blues in the suds. i have three, each with a swedish abu lw reel loaded with 12-15# mono. love the predator rod!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Rod of Many Talents

By
Location: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Exceptional Rod! I use it for Carp and Cats freshwater. It is a valuable addition for me to take to the coast (NC Outerbanks) and use it for Trout and Drum when the fish are not in close. A 2oz pancake weight and a Gulp Jig connected approximately 20-24 inches up the line and you can cast either into the far breakers or in some cases past them.....then just work it slowly and if the fish are hanging out there you will reap the advantage while your short casting, short rod buddies can only display frustration... For the price....a must have....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010

for surf fishing

By
Location: Greensboro, north carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These rods are just nice to use for many surf fishing applications. You are limited to about 3 oz, 4 if you just lob it, so if it is really rough I use this for my 'close-in' rod. It is plenty of rod for 99% of the fish you catch in the surf and if you get a big drum or skate, just take your time. With 12lb test and 25lb shock leader, it will cast a mile.. MOST IMPORTANTLY it is light in the hand and won't wear you out like some of the rods that throw 6-8 oz. I have caught big blues, drum to 36 inches. It has a handle too long for plugging if you ask me, .. gets in the way. I always take mine when I got to OBX. I do NOT recommend the 1 3/4 lb curve..just TOO noodly.. I wish this rod came in a 3 1/2 or 4 lb curve. I'd throw all my old rods away...Also my fishing pals have them...and these are the first rods in the water, weather conditions allowing...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2010

predator rod

By
Location: bardstown ky
This is a well balanced fishing rod if you think this rod wont hold up to the big fish you are wrong we was fishing at a pay lake and friend of mine caught a 63 pound flathead using this rod Im fixing to buy me a couple of these rods myself its stong enough to handle the big fish
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

great rod

By
Location: PISMO BEACH ,CA
I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS ROD A COUPLE OF WEEKS, BUT JUST LOVE IT , NOW ALL I HAVE TO DO IS GET USE TO CASTING IT . WORTH EVERY PENNY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2008

Great For Surf

By
Location: Lansford, pa
i have the 2 1/4 lb model and we were surf fished on Assateague Island last week and the rod cast's really far with 2-3 oz sinker. we only caught croakers & flounder. i did hook it to something really big but i could not bring it in, the rod didnt break but it flexed a lot. great rod for the money, i am going to buy the 1 3/4 model.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2008

Excellent pole, great price.

By
Location: Hawaii
I bought the 1-3/4lb pole as a whipping/mempachi pole for small game in the Hawaiian waters and it works great. The length and light weight makes it easy to cast a 1 oz egg sinker 80+ yards. For the price, this is an excellent value fishing pole and it works great with the Stradic 4000/5000.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2008

Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod

By
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Great all-round rod for the money, good action and handles well. They catch a lot of fish for me on an ongoing bases. :-)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2008

Excellent Long Range Rod

By
Location: OK
This rod is ideal for bank fishing when one needs to cast long distances. It casts farther and more effortlessly that either of the surf rods I own and does so with less weight. The Predator's light weight (mine is 1 3/4 #) and extra long handle make it possible to cast well over 100 yards for long periods without tiring. The only design shortcoming (also mentioned in another review) is the relatively small diameter of the guides. Larger guides would make it possible to cast even farther.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2007

Awesome rod

By
Location: Tulsa, OK
This thing zings the top waters out there. Paired it up with a nice Flueger reel and I'm in love with the setup.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2007

Predator Spinning Rod

By
Location: Northern California
Excellent weight, length, and action for surf casting with artificials or bait. Excellent combo when teamed with Cabela's Prodigy 4500A. Light enough combo for constant casting while moving up and down long stretches of beach areas where surf perch and stripers frequent. Perfect length for close inshore casts as well as long casts with artificials in the half ounce to three ounce range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2007

predator

By
This is a very good rod, I have had mine for 4 years and have caught many fish with it. For the price you can't go wrong, you don't need to worry about scratching or breaking it, just buy a new one. This is a tough rod and it has proven itself in many tough and rough areas in Hawaii.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2007

predator rods

By
Location: Spokane WA
i now own one each of the predator 1 3/4 and 2 1/4 test curve rods and have found them to be excellent for my purposes.
My only very slight criticism is that the reel seat could be a couple of inches higher up the butt section,apart from that,perfect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2007

Best bang for the buck

By
Location: CT
I have had one of the European Predator Spinning Rods (2 1/4 version) for 4 years and it is great. Like one of the other reviewer said, if they made one with larger guides for spinning reels it would easily blow away most of the other surf rods out there. I use it for surf fishing for Blues & Stripers in LI sound, Montauk or RI & it works great paired with a Shimano Stradic 5000. I was easily matching a young guys with a Van Staal with a Lami and I was only throwing a 1.5oz tin vs. his 3 oz plug. If I thew a 3 oz tin .....no comparison.
One of the best deals out there, I believe they are also popular with West Coast surf fishermen too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's European Predator Spinning Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2007

European Spinning Rod

By
Location: Staten Island NY
I wasn't to sure about this when it was recommended to me by the salesman but I took his word and I'm glad I did.The rod is a little tough to get used to with the long handle but it is comfortable working big tins and plugs for strippers in the surf.Paired with Shimmano Stradic 5000 it casts well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 38