Customer Reviews for EAGLE CLAW Leader Links – Per 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

EAGLE CLAW Leader Links – Per 5

Connects fly line to leaders and allows for easy leader changing. Per 5. Sizes: 3-6, 7-10. Color: Clear.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leader Links – Per 5
Review 1 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: redding,ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leader links

Date:November 29, 2008
absolutely wonderful, 200 days / year fishing, never broke or slipped. extremely easy to change leaders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Leader Links

Date:April 29, 2009
I've used these for years and have never lost a leadered fish yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Next best option!

Date:May 21, 2009
The only thing better (or longer lasting) than leader links are the welded loops found on newer fly lines.
Replacing nail knots streamside can be downright bothersome. They need to be replaced seasonally. Plus they can hang up on the guides when landing a fish.
Braided loops are a pretty good option. They are durable and seem to go through the guides okay. I use them on my sinking lines -- but I secure them with two nail knots rather than the heat shrink connector.
But the leader link has so many advantages: Speedy replacing of leaders. Requires two simple overhand knots. They are very durable. No spray, hinging, or leader catching problems. And they slide through the guides without a hitch.
And they cast really well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Zealand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

strikeadventure

Date:July 23, 2009
highly recommended product for catching 6lb brown trout with strikeadventure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Quality

Date:May 1, 2012
Eagle Claw Leader Links work really well for connecting your fly line to your leader. I have used them for years, just bought another pack and changed my leader again. I would recommend them to everyone! Thank You!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ever

Date:May 1, 2012
ive been using leader links for 25 years they are the the best connection from to your tapered leader to your fly line!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice, but kinda small

Date:September 16, 2012
I bought the size 3-6 for a 6 wt line and it is quite small, just barely able to contain single overhand knots. They are inexpensive enough to order some of both sizes. My guide in New Zealand swears by these, and they performed well with large fish in heavy current. I will order some of the larger ones next time. A tip, and as the item pic shows, pass both lines through, tie the knots, then pull them into the connector.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't bother...

Date:November 19, 2012
Once the overhand knot is tied to secure the end of the line in the link, the knot is too big to slide into the link and the connection will not go through the guides. Good idea, p poor execution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leader Links – Per 5
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too Small

Date:November 26, 2012
I'm not sure how they say you can use the LL1 for up to a 6wt line? I bought two packs to use with a 4wt line, and I couldn't get the line through the hole. I was using a Rio Trout LT line which has a small tip, and there was no way it would fit.
I'll try the bigger size, but they need to make the holes bigger if they're going to claim it fits up to a 6wt line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.