Customer Reviews for BERKLEY Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BERKLEY Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke

FireLine® is unlike anything you've ever fished before. It's stronger than monofilament. It casts farther. And it handles as well - even better in some situations. It doesn't create birds' nests by digging into your spool. And it ties easier knots, makes smoother casts and stays hassle-free in any kind of weather. FireLine® is as durable as it is versatile. It won't deteriorate over a lifetime. Ultraviolet rays and cold have no effect on it. No other line delivers this combination of easy handling, castability, strength and sensitivity. Don't let the small diameter fool you: FireLine® is the ultimate in abrasion resistance, plus it is three times stronger than monofilaments and 30% thinner than braided lines of comparable knot strength. Color: Smoke. Spool size: 125 yards.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
9
48 out of 63(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Review 1 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Elgin Illinois
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Horrible

Date:May 6, 2011
while fireline may have the typical superline qualities of no memory, no stretch, and low diameter, I can't reccomend it. my friend put 8 lb test on his spinning rod and lost 4 lures in 1 day from the line simply parting at the end of his cast. it seemed like the line was rotted in certain spots. one time his lure fell off as he was holding his rod over the side of the boat. buy powerpro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Berkley Fireline.... AWFUL!!!

Date:May 8, 2010
I had a sporting good store spool my new Pflueger Arbor spinning reel with 10# Fireline and i had more line tangles than i do with monofilament! The line feels like dental floss, and breaks easily. I spent more time attempting to untangle my line than fishing.... 120yds was wasted in less than a month, finally i got fed up and respooled with 10# Spiderwire with no problems... I've used Spiderwire stealth and Stren Super/Sonic braid and swear by them. Those lines have never given me any problems with tangles, knot holding or line breaking (i have not tried PowerPro so i cannot give my opinion of that)... If you're looking for a good superline, AVOID FIRELINE, its a waste of your money!!!
I fish for largemouth about 4-5 times per week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dawsonville, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible

Date:May 3, 2010
This is the worst fishing line I've ever used. After two days use it was breaking as though it were dry rotted. Please do not use this product!!! To be fair I bought the 4 & 6lb test - both were terrible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:May 2, 2010
I got the 20lb fireline to put on my spinning reel. I re-spooled with power pro after my first fishing trip. The Fireline did not cast well at all and seemed to be hard on the rod guides. It also had much more memory than I anticipated. I would not recommend this line at all for spinning reels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

psps

Date:June 26, 2009
This is by far the worst fishing line I have used. It works great the first day. After that get ready to lose soom tackel. I have used bargan priced line that out shined this stuff and cost $11.oo less. Save yourself the agravation and find something else besides this stuff. Berkley should be ashamed for this product hands down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

30 pound Fireline

Date:May 28, 2008
I was really disappointed with the stiffness of the 30 pound test Fireline. It probably works good with Tuna lures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Small Town Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not reccomended

Date:January 24, 2008
I bought some of this line to try it out because my friend just bought some and he told me he liked it well we both fish alot and most the time together and at first i liked the line but it does not last long at all i had to change my spool the same summer i put this line on because it looses its shape which causes it to go on the spool wrong and it dry rots fast. My friend who bought his about a week before me had the same problems at the same time and we both take excellent care of our gear... I lost many lures because of this line i will never buy it again or reccomend it for any one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Impressed

Date:July 23, 2007
I bought 20lb Fireline and put it on 2 large baitcasting rods. I liked it at first; it was tough and abrasion resistant. I also liked that it had a relatively small diameter.
However, I soon found out that the small diameter on a big baitcasting reel would prove to be a bad thing. The line would get wound up on top of itself in the reel and very often when casting, the line would hit a spot where it was on top of itself, and abruptly stop. I lost many large plugs and lures due to this. Furthermore, if you fish as much as I do, the line seems to dry-rot quickly, so its only good for a year, if that.
I just replaced my Fireline w/ 20 lb mono on one of my rods, and I plan to do the same on the other soon. I will never buy Fireline again. Sorry, but this product just is not for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worse Line I've used

Date:July 21, 2007
I originally wrote a review on fireline crystal saying it's the best line I've used and I really would like to retract that. For one, I was wrong it DOES cut into your guides, after only about a years use the 6lb damaged my ugly stick and I've had two big water ugly sticks suffer the same fate. Fact of the matter is this line DOES cut into your line guides unless you have an expensive rod or guides. I would stick to power pro, it's smaller, smoother and just as strong if not stronger than this stuff. Don't use this line, you will be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Point OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR PRODUCT

Date:August 16, 2010
Superlines=superflops.Most of the superlines,braided or fused have proven to me to have limited applications.I have found Fireline to be the worst .This stuff wore out quickly,had 0 abrasion resistance,tangled around the rod tip,and lost a lot of lures.Sensitive? yes, strong? yes ,BUT BROKE NEAR ROCKS OR OTHER STRUCTURE .VERY POOR PRODUCT.Power Pro worked well when frog fishing or flatline trolling as did Fireline,BUT OTHERWISE WAS USELESS.Don't know if I will try any other brands.Overall,I fish with monofilaments like original Stren,Maxima,and other premium monos with complete satisfaction.THESE ARE THE REAL SUPERLINES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: pennslyvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not good

Date:November 4, 2008
it was good till one day i got out and every cast the line broke
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: sparta, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

berkley fireline

Date:February 19, 2008
I first bought fireline when it came out thinking it would be the best superline ever. It was perfectly fine for the strength to diameter part. BUT, they said it would make knot tying easier. It actually was alot harder with the knots slipping and breaking every time I switched a bait. And the Worst thing, the line tears into your rod eyes and decreases your casting distance greatly. I had to buy all new eyes for my pole and then I switched to my original superline once again, Spiderwire. If you want good superline that doesn't tear into your rod eyes switch to Spiderwire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: carmel ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tough

Date:January 30, 2009
I was using some clipers to cut a bad uni knot. I squeeze them ccch a little part breaks again ccch a little part breaks again a few times and finally crack but it wasn't the line... It was the clipper blade that snapped off! This is some tough stuff. Probably it would snap if a tooth scraped the line. But if he
just chomped on it might last. Probably good with a steel or wire leader. Probably good for toothy fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Berkley 125 - Yard Fireline

Date:July 28, 2008
The line is very strong but hard to tie knots and have them hold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not use on spinning reels!

Date:January 9, 2007
I tried 20lb test on a spinning reel and it would have been easier to cast bailing wire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: VIOLA IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD LINE

Date:June 27, 2011
THIS LINE IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY YOU SPEND FOR IT.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Has proven its brute strength

Date:June 13, 2011
Great line overall. Just came back from Quebec fishing for Northerns and the lake we were on was FULL on sunken timber. We got snagged every 10 minutes and not ONCE did this stuff fail. We even ended up making a game of trying to break it by pulling in-line with the guides (no bending of rod) and this stuff WILL NOT BREAK. I had a treble hook snap in two before the line did.
Because it has no stretch it has great feel for bottom fishing with worms and such. Care must be taken not to rip hooks out on topwater hooksets. The zero stretch is both a pro and con in that regard.
I must note that two friends have experienced lures snapping off/line snapping apart during casting. It didn't happen to me during a week long trip fishing in Canada, but sure enough just the other day one of my lures went flying off after the line mysteriously snapped in two during a cast. I have read about this in other reviews and it is worthy of concern. But, it seems to ONLY happen during the motions of casting and I have not read about anyone's line snapping from any fish, snag or the like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fireline

Date:November 18, 2009
I still think this is the best line. However I will start using a p-line leader in clear water conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great color for beading

Date:July 29, 2008
This line is good for beading and the smoke color is great! The line has a little more memory than I prefer but it is not unworkable. I also like the small guage of the line - it makes beading projects with small beads much easier when you have to make multiple passes through the same bead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Berkley® 125-Yard FireLine® – Smoke
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good line

Date:June 5, 2007
Been using fireline for 2 years now, and won't use anything else on a spinning reel. It is the most sensitive line I have ever used. You can feel everything. The only small draw back is that it takes a couple outings to get the line set on the reel. After that, it is great. Great knot strength, and with no stretch, the hook sets are solid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 63