Customer Reviews for SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods

SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods

These feature double-built Howald Process™ blanks composed of an E-glass out layer with a graphite core, an extra-fast taper, and a reinforced fighting butt for strength and durability. They also sport blank-through-handle construction, fighting-length EVA foam grips and graphite Fuji® reel seats with stainless steel cushioned hoods. Casting models (BWC) sport stainless steel reinforced guides and tops. BWCAO models feature aluminum-oxide guides. Spinning models (BWS) has genuine Fuji guides. Five-year limited warranty. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
130 out of 133(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Review 1 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2013

Not As Pictured

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Don't buy this rod. The rod is different than pictured.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2015

Great rod

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got it for sturgeon fish
Have yet to get one on it but I am very happy with it
Going to order another one soon and have a match set.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2013

Good Sensitivity for a Heavy Rod

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought these for bait fishing of the Oregon Coast. They handle the heavy lead needed for deep fishing and still have enough tip action to detect the hit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

Good value

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Does the job in the salt for a decent price. I have the BWC2201 (7', 20-50 lb.). Some less expensive rods don't have enough guides, but these do. The handle in a bit too large in diameter in my opinion - I have men's medium sized hands. I think the Tiger Lite series have smaller diameter handles. Don't expect Calstar/Seeker quality, these rods will often have noticeably mis-aligned guides and crooked blanks (minus one star), but still work just fine for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

great value

By
These rods are a great value. Tough as nails.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Great value

By
Location: WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Shakespeare has about the best value as anyone in the business, and has going back to my Grandpa's days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

River Rod

By
Location: Ville Platte , La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I use these rods to fish where there is alot of current or rough water. They hold up very well. The ML casting rod is great to use with live bait. Good buy for the price and will get many years of use from them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2010

Finally Broke One

By
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I use these for fishing oversized sturgeon. One finally broke last week bringing in a 10+ft sturgeon. The same rod has brought in 14ft sturgeon in the past so I don't know what happened. Regardless, this is my favorite rod for any big fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2010

Ugly Stick

By
Location: Boone, NC
Nice rod for money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2008

Shakespeare Ugly Stik Tiger 7-ft. Spinning Rod

By
Used this rod in Alaska spinning for king salmon from the shoreline. It performed well! I would like to have had it a little longer for better balance and line control (especially for riverfishing). But, the rod is rated for 10-50 pound-test lines, which gives it great versatility in what you can use it to fish for.
It is a beautiful-looking rod too! Nice hardware and finish. However, I wish all the manufacturers would make sure to align all their guides (and reel seat) with the "spine" of the blank. That would make for better casting accuracy and less hand fatigue because you wouldn't have to twist or torque the rod to keep the guides in line with the bend of the rod when you're fighting a big fish.
If it was about 8' 6" and had better guide alignment with the spine, I would have given it a 5 star rating. But, it still is a very good value for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2007

Great rod!

By
Location: Palo Cedro, CA
This is a well built, good quality rod. I like it much. However, I fish from a boat, so I wished I would have purchased the 6.5ft rod instead of the larger 7ft rod. Anyway, not a big deal. It is a great rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2007

Ugly Stik Tiger rod

By
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Well made rod for the price. The reel seat tightened up real well and did not come loose. I used it for bottom fishing with a 4 to 6 ounce weight. No problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2006

Ugly Stick Tiger

By
Location: Honolulu, HI
If you are looking for a super strong big game rod at a reasonable price this is it!!! Not as much backbone as other higher priced rods, but it will certainly do the job and will not fail...period.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Perfect for big tarpon and yellowfin

By
Location: MD
I pack all my toys 2x/year and fish on a piece-o-junk boat in Costa Rica. It's just a tiny tad stiff for my tase for tarpon but for yellowfin, wowzer!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2006

Ugly Stik Tiger Rod BWC2201 7' 1pc. Med. action

By
This was one of the first saltwater rods I have purchased many years ago. This rod has withstood the test of time over and over again. The Ugly Stik fishing rods in my opinion is one of the most durable rods out there. The only downfall is the rod's weight. I would recommend getting the Ugly Stik Lite rods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2016

Great Rod

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This Rod has been amazing! Good tip! I just caught a 51" 43 pound sturgeon last week and this rod handled it like a champ! Great sensitivity to see the bite and the strength to haul the catch in and with the price i have yet to find a more reliable rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2015

Gave him a sore lip!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Looking for just the right mix of a flexible tip and a lot of backbone, for my blackfish trip to Rhode Island , well I caught a 10lb blackfish and the bite was very light I hooked him and stopped the dreaded plunge into that hole because of my ugly stick
I LOVE IT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2015

Tiger rod

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Excellent rod. Caught 25 to 30 lb black fin tuna while jogging in 300 feet water. Most fun I ever had. I was using 100 lb power pro on a daiwa bg 90 reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2015

Ugly Stick Tiger Rods

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These rods are very well made. I am using the casting and spinning rods in medium heavy fishing for monster blue cats. Great rods. I have replaced everything in my boat with these.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013

Tiger Rod

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I use these rods for downrigger fishing on the great lakes. They are an excellent value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 67