Customer Reviews for SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods

SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods

These feature double-built Howald Process™ blanks composed of an E-glass out layer with a graphite core, an extra-fast taper, and a reinforced fighting butt for strength and durability. They also sport blank-through-handle construction, fighting-length EVA foam grips and graphite Fuji® reel seats with stainless steel cushioned hoods. Casting models (BWC) sport stainless steel reinforced guides and tops. BWCAO models feature aluminum-oxide guides. Spinning models (BWS) has genuine Fuji guides. Five-year limited warranty. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
60 out of 61(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Review 1 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not As Pictured

Date:April 2, 2013
Don't buy this rod. The rod is different than pictured.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Sensitivity for a Heavy Rod

Date:April 4, 2013
I bought these for bait fishing of the Oregon Coast. They handle the heavy lead needed for deep fishing and still have enough tip action to detect the hit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value

Date:August 11, 2012
Does the job in the salt for a decent price. I have the BWC2201 (7', 20-50 lb.). Some less expensive rods don't have enough guides, but these do. The handle in a bit too large in diameter in my opinion - I have men's medium sized hands. I think the Tiger Lite series have smaller diameter handles. Don't expect Calstar/Seeker quality, these rods will often have noticeably mis-aligned guides and crooked blanks (minus one star), but still work just fine for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great value

Date:May 16, 2012
These rods are a great value. Tough as nails.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:April 16, 2012
Shakespeare has about the best value as anyone in the business, and has going back to my Grandpa's days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ville Platte , La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

River Rod

Date:January 18, 2012
I use these rods to fish where there is alot of current or rough water. They hold up very well. The ML casting rod is great to use with live bait. Good buy for the price and will get many years of use from them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally Broke One

Date:June 6, 2010
I use these for fishing oversized sturgeon. One finally broke last week bringing in a 10+ft sturgeon. The same rod has brought in 14ft sturgeon in the past so I don't know what happened. Regardless, this is my favorite rod for any big fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boone, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ugly Stick

Date:February 9, 2010
Nice rod for money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shakespeare Ugly Stik Tiger 7-ft. Spinning Rod

Date:June 30, 2008
Used this rod in Alaska spinning for king salmon from the shoreline. It performed well! I would like to have had it a little longer for better balance and line control (especially for riverfishing). But, the rod is rated for 10-50 pound-test lines, which gives it great versatility in what you can use it to fish for.
It is a beautiful-looking rod too! Nice hardware and finish. However, I wish all the manufacturers would make sure to align all their guides (and reel seat) with the "spine" of the blank. That would make for better casting accuracy and less hand fatigue because you wouldn't have to twist or torque the rod to keep the guides in line with the bend of the rod when you're fighting a big fish.
If it was about 8' 6" and had better guide alignment with the spine, I would have given it a 5 star rating. But, it still is a very good value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palo Cedro, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rod!

Date:July 23, 2007
This is a well built, good quality rod. I like it much. However, I fish from a boat, so I wished I would have purchased the 6.5ft rod instead of the larger 7ft rod. Anyway, not a big deal. It is a great rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ugly Stik Tiger rod

Date:May 13, 2007
Well made rod for the price. The reel seat tightened up real well and did not come loose. I used it for bottom fishing with a 4 to 6 ounce weight. No problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Honolulu, HI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ugly Stick Tiger

Date:November 28, 2006
If you are looking for a super strong big game rod at a reasonable price this is it!!! Not as much backbone as other higher priced rods, but it will certainly do the job and will not fail...period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for big tarpon and yellowfin

Date:November 20, 2006
I pack all my toys 2x/year and fish on a piece-o-junk boat in Costa Rica. It's just a tiny tad stiff for my tase for tarpon but for yellowfin, wowzer!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ugly Stik Tiger Rod BWC2201 7' 1pc. Med. action

Date:October 25, 2006
This was one of the first saltwater rods I have purchased many years ago. This rod has withstood the test of time over and over again. The Ugly Stik fishing rods in my opinion is one of the most durable rods out there. The only downfall is the rod's weight. I would recommend getting the Ugly Stik Lite rods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tiger Rod

Date:July 16, 2013
I use these rods for downrigger fishing on the great lakes. They are an excellent value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:May 14, 2013
Very wide range of lures & line can be used with this rod , from cocktail blues to monster striped bass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:January 29, 2013
Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tiger rods are great! Best purchase for me.

Date:August 16, 2012
I have used the shakespear tiger rods for two years and just purchased two more. I got the medium two piece rods because I travel to the coast to fish. I used to use ten to thirteen foot spinning rods for surf fishing . Throwing a rod this size will realy wear you out. I can throw just as far with my seven foot tiger rod as I could with my thirteen foot rod. I also use my tiger rods for kayak fishing. They have a very sensitive tip and a strong backbone. You would have a very hard time getting me to switch to anything else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Bermuda
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great produt

Date:July 31, 2012
good product to buy worth for money and long lasting.
i wish to catch big tuna from this rod. great rod.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shakespeare® Ugly Stik® Tiger™ Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Blue Cats

Date:July 9, 2012
We've caught 50+ lbs cats on this and it feels indestructible. I have a total of 4 and its all I use for trophy size fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 61