Customer Reviews for DAIWA Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel

DAIWA Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel

At the heart of this spinning reel are three stainless steel bearings supporting a precise machine-cut brass pinion and drop-forged aluminum drive gear. An exclusive worm gear system lays line on the Longcast spool in even 5° cross-wraps. Fine-click, micro-adjustable drag; whisker-graphite body; silent anti-reverse; titanium and Teflon- impregnated felt drag discs. Lifetime bail spring and one-touch folding handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
54 out of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Review 21 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent reel!

Date:April 26, 2011
The Daiwa SS Tournament spinning reel is the best reel I've ever owned. Smooth. Durable. Solid. Top notch. I use 8# mono for all types of fish where I live and it works without a hitch. Love this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: rochester ny
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet

Date:April 17, 2011
this reel is unbelievable for the money you cant beat it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

daiwa SS tournament spinning reel

Date:April 7, 2011
bullet proof. the guy next door keeps one on a rod under his boat in Canada. it;s never been cleaned, never serviced. over 15 years now. full of sand and whatever. he has only changed the line twice. (not very often, mono.) after hearing him brag about it for 10 years, i bought one. he's right. i do take a bit more care of mine, clean, lube, line, etc.
.
perfect drag. don't worry about only 3 bearings, it's not the bearing count but, the quality and placement. brookies to lakers, pike to musky. trust this reel when paired to the right rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Modesto,Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only spinning reels I own !

Date:March 23, 2011
I own 6 of these reels since 1990 when I bought my first one, I Bass fish in the Motherlode Lakes in California and Trout fish in the High Sierras. I have had friends on my boat with smoother reels but it's the drag that seperates this reel from the rest. I must often fish with 6lb test because of the clarity of the water and have brought in many very large Bass into my boat......you have to have a great drag to do this. They all work as well today as when I bought them.......I am hooked on this reel !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wenatchee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reel smooth

Date:March 22, 2011
I have used these reels for many years and have never had one fail or give me problems. Other reel models come and go but the SS series have been around for a lot of years and are still the best deal for the money. I own a least a dozen and will add to that number in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: colorado springs, co
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

daiwa reels

Date:March 2, 2011
the first time i took it fishing the on/off switch did not work and i was uanble to use the reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Repeat purchase, very reliable.

Date:January 25, 2011
Even though this model is twenty years old, it is still the most dependable and durable light tackle on the market for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great reel

Date:January 18, 2011
I have used the 1300 for trout and steelhead for many years. They cast far, reel smoothly, and have a good drag. Unfortunately, they are no longer selling extra spools for this reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cookeville, Tn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Daiwa SS 1300

Date:July 2, 2010
I know this reel is old and there are newer and lighter reels out there but this reel is bulletproof. Fantastic Drag, light weight, holds a lot of line. In my opinion one of the best spinning reels ever made, proven by its longevity in a reel world where reels are changed every 4 to 5 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: st. joseph, Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bcsdenforcer

Date:June 22, 2010
Outstanding reel, very light...very dependable & reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bulletproof

Date:June 15, 2010
I bought my ss1300 in 1989. I sold it in 2005 after years of river striper fishing, the largest weighing 11 lbs., and two Choke Canyon largemouths weighing 9 lbs., and 9 lbs. 6oz. Since that time I have used several other spinning reels which were smoother and had more advanced features, but none of which possessed the balance of performance and rugged reliability. Never once did I have any issues with the drag or bail. I intend to purchase another in the very near future. Ironically, the price was about the same then as it is now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The REEL deal

Date:May 23, 2010
Maybe it's just me but it seems that tackle companies make fishing gear to catch fishermen more than fish. Reels with 20 ballbearings and enough gold plastic as an 80's Japanese "luxury"sedan are everywhere. Ignore them all and just buy any of these great black beasts and you'll never have to buy another reel. Yeah-yeah, it only has three bearings and looks chunky but it's a proven design that will continue to stand the test of time. Just say no to jewelry and get yourself a proper reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a drag

Date:February 15, 2010
This is my 2nd purchase of this model. I have had the 1st one for 5 years. It casts great and the drag will handle the big fish no problem. Have it on a 7ft 8in rod to fish live bait with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rboone3

Date:February 8, 2010
Have not had much of a chance to use it yet but it is as it was described and feels great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Simple Truth

Date:December 2, 2009
I purchased my first Daiwa ss 1300 just recently. Yes, its not the smoothest reel out there, but I enjoyed every minute catching a good number of perch the first time I took it out. Its by far the lightest and most efficient spinning reel in its class that I have used.
It is very clear why Daiwa never changed its design through the years. This reel is simply good for its price.
As for the aesthetic side, I love the black retro 80's box-style look. Definitely it stands out from the rest of the myriad of glossy over-rated (junk) reels out in the market today.
......And thats the simple truth about this simple reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nor Cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great reel, no complaints

Date:November 30, 2009
I needed a spinning reel short notice for a tournament on Clear Lake a month ago, a friend told me this was a decent reel for the price. I got it, threw on some 12 lb line and caught over 20 bass on this reel over the course of 5 days. Biggest one I caught on it was a 6 lb 9 oz, and I had to man-handle it out of some dock pilings and the reel had no problems. Casted traps and deep divers a mile, jerkbaits just fine, senkos, etc. Great reel so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no fail drag

Date:May 6, 2009
15 years this reel is vertually indistructable. drag works perfect everytime no matter what you put this reel through . put on fresh line its ready to go. hands down the best reels I own and I have tried alot of reels in the $50- $200 price range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Diawa SS`Tourn. 1300

Date:February 5, 2009
I own three of these reels and just can't seem to want to upgrade to a fancier model with more bells and whistles. I asked a reel repairman in St. Paul what his favorite spinning reel was and hands down he picked the Diawa SS Tourn. He said they are simple and don't break.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: long island surf
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one of the best reels for the buck

Date:November 14, 2008
I OWN ABOUT 15 OF THESE REELS FOR ABOUT 14 YEARS NOW.
SIZES 1600 AND 2600. FOR THE MONEY YOU CANT BUY A BETTER REEL. THATS WHY DAIWA NEVER CHANGED IT.
I USE THEM IN THE LONG ISLAND SURF WITHOUT EVER HAVING
A PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BEST DRAG SYSTEMS EVER BUILT.
BIG STRIPERS AND BLUES ARE NO PROBLEM FOR THESE REELS.
BUY THESE REELS AND FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF.
YOU WILL LOVE THE CASTING DISTANCE.
GREAT REEL'S FOR THE MONEY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mass
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my most durable reel

Date:October 7, 2008
i bought this reel because i've had such gook luck with my first one. i dropped it in a lake and it sat on the bottom for 2 weeks. i went back and found it and it operates flawlesly to this date. this reel is not the prettiest and not the smoothest.
but i have not found a more durable reel. it is very worth the
money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 57