Customer Reviews for DAIWA Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel

DAIWA Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel

At the heart of this spinning reel are three stainless steel bearings supporting a precise machine-cut brass pinion and drop-forged aluminum drive gear. An exclusive worm gear system lays line on the Longcast spool in even 5° cross-wraps. Fine-click, micro-adjustable drag; whisker-graphite body; silent anti-reverse; titanium and Teflon- impregnated felt drag discs. Lifetime bail spring and one-touch folding handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
58 out of 61(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Review 21 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011

top of the line

By
Location: charlestown md
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
this is a great reel i have 4 ss reels i dont think you can beat them you might pay more but you will not be any more pleased
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

awsome reels..

By
Location: franklin p.a
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ihave owned the daiwa ss 1300 for ever since they have been out on the market! and they work flawless! i now own 5 of theses reels.I have had other reels in the 150 plus price range..they didnt match the daiwa 1300 ss at all! i recommend that anyone whom fishes hard to give these reels a run for thier money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2011

Bang For You Buck

By
Location: Salem, MA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought a 1300 over 20 years ago. At first, I used it mainly for freshwater, but the last 15 years or so has been exclusively used in salt water. I use it for mackerel and schoolie stipers. I would rinse it most of the time, but many times it got put away without a rinse. It finally failed on me after all this time and abuse. I was pumped that Cabela's stocked them and bought a new one immediately. I have it loaded with 15 lb braid and feel comfortable that I could land a 30 LB stirper with it. You can't go wrong with this reel. My hat's off to Daiwa for keeping this jewel in inventory for as long as they have. Why wouldn't they. And as always, Cabela's is a pleasure to deal with. The icing on the cake is that my old spool is still fine so I have a spare.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011

Built Like A Tank, Best Reel For $100

By
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have the Daiwa SS1300 paired with a 5'-6" rod. This reel is extremely reliable. I use it mostly as a stream/light tackle bass set up. I purchased this reel after having numerous problems with a PENN Spinfisher 440SSG. I had nothing but problems with that reel, and will probably never buy another PENN again, although I hear the PENN Slammer isn't bad. I've had my Daiwa for a little over a year now and have had absolutely no problems with it. My only complaint is the bail closing mechanism. The bail closes as it rotates over a wheel. Once it flows over the little wheel, located on the support arm, the bail closes. But honestly it’s not a big deal; you just have to pay a little more attention to the position of the bail when it’s open, specifically on the smaller reels as it will hit your hand from time to time. I really don't even notice it anymore, and have never any knots form due to the mechanism. The handle could also be a little longer, but all-in-all for $100 you can’t find a more reliable reel. THANK YOU CABELA’S FOR ACTUALLY USING PACKGING MATERIAL! Unlike some other people. When I got my fly rod in from Cabela’s a few months ago it was stuffed with protective packaging. Same with my Revo Inshore I purchased a year ago-which Cabela’s offers in a left-handed model-FYI. Enough brown-noising – DAIWA SS=FOREVER AWESOME.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Excellent reel!

By
Location: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Daiwa SS Tournament spinning reel is the best reel I've ever owned. Smooth. Durable. Solid. Top notch. I use 8# mono for all types of fish where I live and it works without a hitch. Love this reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2011

sweet

By
Location: rochester ny
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this reel is unbelievable for the money you cant beat it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

daiwa SS tournament spinning reel

By
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
bullet proof. the guy next door keeps one on a rod under his boat in Canada. it;s never been cleaned, never serviced. over 15 years now. full of sand and whatever. he has only changed the line twice. (not very often, mono.) after hearing him brag about it for 10 years, i bought one. he's right. i do take a bit more care of mine, clean, lube, line, etc.
.
perfect drag. don't worry about only 3 bearings, it's not the bearing count but, the quality and placement. brookies to lakers, pike to musky. trust this reel when paired to the right rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2011

The only spinning reels I own !

By
Location: Modesto,Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I own 6 of these reels since 1990 when I bought my first one, I Bass fish in the Motherlode Lakes in California and Trout fish in the High Sierras. I have had friends on my boat with smoother reels but it's the drag that seperates this reel from the rest. I must often fish with 6lb test because of the clarity of the water and have brought in many very large Bass into my boat......you have to have a great drag to do this. They all work as well today as when I bought them.......I am hooked on this reel !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2011

reel smooth

By
Location: Wenatchee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used these reels for many years and have never had one fail or give me problems. Other reel models come and go but the SS series have been around for a lot of years and are still the best deal for the money. I own a least a dozen and will add to that number in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

daiwa reels

By
Location: colorado springs, co
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
the first time i took it fishing the on/off switch did not work and i was uanble to use the reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2011

Repeat purchase, very reliable.

By
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Even though this model is twenty years old, it is still the most dependable and durable light tackle on the market for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

A great reel

By
I have used the 1300 for trout and steelhead for many years. They cast far, reel smoothly, and have a good drag. Unfortunately, they are no longer selling extra spools for this reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2010

Daiwa SS 1300

By
Location: Cookeville, Tn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I know this reel is old and there are newer and lighter reels out there but this reel is bulletproof. Fantastic Drag, light weight, holds a lot of line. In my opinion one of the best spinning reels ever made, proven by its longevity in a reel world where reels are changed every 4 to 5 years.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2010

bcsdenforcer

By
Location: st. joseph, Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Outstanding reel, very light...very dependable & reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2010

Bulletproof

By
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought my ss1300 in 1989. I sold it in 2005 after years of river striper fishing, the largest weighing 11 lbs., and two Choke Canyon largemouths weighing 9 lbs., and 9 lbs. 6oz. Since that time I have used several other spinning reels which were smoother and had more advanced features, but none of which possessed the balance of performance and rugged reliability. Never once did I have any issues with the drag or bail. I intend to purchase another in the very near future. Ironically, the price was about the same then as it is now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010

The REEL deal

By
Location: Eastern PA
Maybe it's just me but it seems that tackle companies make fishing gear to catch fishermen more than fish. Reels with 20 ballbearings and enough gold plastic as an 80's Japanese "luxury"sedan are everywhere. Ignore them all and just buy any of these great black beasts and you'll never have to buy another reel. Yeah-yeah, it only has three bearings and looks chunky but it's a proven design that will continue to stand the test of time. Just say no to jewelry and get yourself a proper reel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

What a drag

By
This is my 2nd purchase of this model. I have had the 1st one for 5 years. It casts great and the drag will handle the big fish no problem. Have it on a 7ft 8in rod to fish live bait with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2010

rboone3

By
Location: Michigan
Have not had much of a chance to use it yet but it is as it was described and feels great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2009

The Simple Truth

By
Location: Chicago IL
I purchased my first Daiwa ss 1300 just recently. Yes, its not the smoothest reel out there, but I enjoyed every minute catching a good number of perch the first time I took it out. Its by far the lightest and most efficient spinning reel in its class that I have used.
It is very clear why Daiwa never changed its design through the years. This reel is simply good for its price.
As for the aesthetic side, I love the black retro 80's box-style look. Definitely it stands out from the rest of the myriad of glossy over-rated (junk) reels out in the market today.
......And thats the simple truth about this simple reel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Daiwa SS Tournament® Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009

great reel, no complaints

By
Location: Nor Cal
I needed a spinning reel short notice for a tournament on Clear Lake a month ago, a friend told me this was a decent reel for the price. I got it, threw on some 12 lb line and caught over 20 bass on this reel over the course of 5 days. Biggest one I caught on it was a 6 lb 9 oz, and I had to man-handle it out of some dock pilings and the reel had no problems. Casted traps and deep divers a mile, jerkbaits just fine, senkos, etc. Great reel so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 61