Customer Reviews for LOWRANCE Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo

LOWRANCE Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo

Put the power of two award-winning technologies to work. This Hybrid Dual Imaging™ (HDI) combo teams up the fish-marking and lure-tracking power of the Broadband Sounder™ with picture-like detail of DownScan Imaging™ (DSI). This revolutionary combination displays a DownScan Imaging overlay with one of the most stunning views of the aquatic terrain beneath your boat. This easy-to-read, full-color image separates and clearly exposes fish targets from surrounding structures. Transparency and color palettes are fully adjustable to get a crystal-clear image under any condition. The 7", widescreen, color display boasts brilliant, detail and clear visibility in all conditions. Proven Advanced Signal Processing reduces manual adjustments to automatically see fish and bottom details quickly and easily. The TrackBack™ feature lets you scroll back into the sonar history to review covered areas and to pinpoint potential fishing spots. The easy-to-use GPS navigation system includes a detailed U.S. background map that can be upgraded with many popular navigation programs that use micro-SD cards. Advanced NMEA 2000® networking compatible. The multiwindow display lets you choose three panels in split-screen mode, and the page selector delivers a simplified menu system with quick access to all features. One-year warranty. Available: 83/200kHz DualBeam transducer 50/200kHz DualBeam transducer
Overall Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Review 1 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elite 7 HDI combo

Date:October 21, 2014
really cool. First upgrade in several years. I've only been out twice, so still learning. The only negative comment so far is, the processor is slower than I expected. With 3 windows open, the chart updates are slow. With only the chart window up, it's OK. It also slowed down even more after loading Hot Maps Premium. Again, OK with just the chart map on screen, but the chart window is so slow with 3 windows open, it's really not useable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:May 13, 2014
Great sonar for the price. The DI is a great improvement over older sonars . The combination Di and regular screen gives great information on the activity of fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Unit

Date:April 30, 2014
I like the way the GPS and the depth finder works. I am still on the fence about the Nautic Insight ProV 14 software. Where I have used it around Kodiak Island the charts do not seem as accurate as I would like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowrance fish finder

Date:April 29, 2014
The GPS on this finder is user friendly. The quality of the of screen is excellent overall it is a great fish finder and GPS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:April 25, 2014
Just purchased last month, installed myself and have used it 6 times already and love it. Down scan imaging shows up just like on the simulator in the store. Everything i expected when i paid for it. Use it for inland lakes in southern wi. Have not used it in deep water yet. I find the interface fairly easy to navigate and understand. Simple to make setting changes on the go.
For the people who hate it because there is too much interference, i would relocate or adjust the transducer. Also, run clean power to the unit, not through and old relay that everything else runs off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowerance ELite 7

Date:March 11, 2014
I use this on the Sacramento river and it is very effective at graphing Salmon and striper. I have also had great success at the lakes with it. I have full confidence in its ability to detect fish allowing me to change tactics if they are not biting. Do yourself a favor and get the Ram Mount. It makes it super easy to take on and off if your worried about it getting stolen or weathered. also is nice if you move positions in the boat allot for different types of fishing. Good Luck!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SO disapointed!

Date:February 23, 2014
Began with this unit on the Columbia River estuary. Performed poorly, thought it must be me. Read and re-read the manual. Now here in Yuma I'm figuring out it's not me!!! Features have started to disappear, including the sonar screen! Shuts off every few hours, doesn't know the depth on occasion, never has displayed lat and long, just blinking 0's. Definitely reports fish where there were none (when sonar worked) and didn't notice strippers when they were visible right under the transducer. Will call Lowrance tomorrow and report later as to how they handle this. We FISH. No time to be sending off a unit for repairs, and after SEVEN MONTHS! Geeze.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:September 27, 2013
delivered extremly fast great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This baby rocks!!!

Date:August 23, 2013
Picked up this unit 1 week before my yearly north woods trip. Sorting through all the options in buying a new depth finder was a nightmare but I settled on this elite 7. Install was a breeze with only one phone call to tech support which went well and only took 1 min to get through and get my question answered. I also picked up lake insights maps for this unit. I just got back from a week of fishing on a lake which I have been fishing for 30 years using every thing from flashers to pretty decent eagle and hummingbird units. WOW this thing is great. GPS put me on structure I had never been able to find before. Finding rock piles drops and sunken islands is easy when u combine GPS with the sonar. You spend no time driving back and forth looking at your depth finder. I love the HDI sonar. The detail you see is unsurpassed. You can see the fish, count the fish, and see where they are in relation to the structure. I have no regrets with my purchase. If you can't catch fish with this thing in your boat, your doing something wrong. I didn't read any directions and still found the operation of the unit easy after an hour or two. I'm giving this unit 5 stars and would highly recommend getting one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

to many defects

Date:June 16, 2013
1st unit locked up. returned and got 2nd unit that shut off about once a hour then read 2.1 feet in 100ft of water. after i turned it on and off several times started showing correct depth. really nice unit when it works.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Unit at a reasonable price

Date:June 11, 2013
I did a lot of research before I bought this unit and I am very happy with my choice. It has most of the features of the more expensive Lowrance units at a much lower price. If you can live without sidescan, this is the unit for you. It uses the same transducer as the HDS Gen2 Touch, just no sidescan capabiity. The 7", 800x480 screen is fantastic. The basemap is good but the addition of a Navionics chip is a good choice. I needed to flush mount mine and Lowrance had the only 7" model that was compact enough to fit, After a little use, I find the menus easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Its not a Gen2, but its good for the price, but...

Date:June 4, 2013
I have owned the LCX line for the last 5-6 years and this is a great breakthrough. Although I now have a hole in gunwale less an LGC-2000. The GPS for an internal unit is unbeatable, the 4 frequency transponder which provides that great new publicly released technology of "downscan imaging" is impressive. The menus are easy to navigate. Why no ethernet? trash the nema 2000 for freshwater apps. The only complaint I have on this unit is Lowrance itself again, why they cannot document the usage of all the features that they market in a manner conducive to the technical savvy public in this day and age....examples would be great and an explanation of what there features actually do...this would be most helpful to make the end user comfortable knowing he can configure and re-configure his or her unit and know what to expect from it. Lowrance pick up the ball as the product is excellent but you fall flat on your face for documentation. Ask Dr Sonar and why he is so successful,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

undecided

Date:May 24, 2013
Nice unit when working but after only 6 weeks on the boat it is going back for service. shuts off a few times a day on it own and once a day read only 2 feet of water no matter what depth you are in. Will wait to see how long the repair takes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not sure yet

Date:May 21, 2013
Have used 4 times and still not set up right. Need a computer nerd for help. Sunday went to lake and it would not stay on. I find out that it needs the up grades. I have only had it since 4-17-13and it won't a lwork because it needs up grades. What a deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elite 7

Date:May 14, 2013
This device has taken my fishing to the next level. You can see your baits submerged on the slow troll ensuring your in the strike zone. Easy to install and operate. Lowrance has a winner with this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Unit

Date:May 11, 2013
I have had my elite 7 for about 6 weeks now and have had it on the water about 20 times....it works great even though I am still learning how to use it...
I crappie fish and the split screen of sonar and downscan with the downscan overlayed on the sonar is the cat's meow...
I love it...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'll be glad when it works.

Date:April 23, 2013
The first unit I got lasted about 4 power up and down cycles, then it failed. I returned it to the factory and they replaced it with a new one. That one lasted for one four day fishing trip, then it failed. It's on the way back to the factory now (4-23-2013).
Having said that....I like the unit a lot. With down scan it's the best I've seen for the front of the boat. Also, if you network it with an HDS you can share waypoints. I like that too.
Navico has been very cooperative with my problems, and they provide quick turn-around (maybe 10 days all told). I hope this is just new product introduction problems that they will get fixed pretty soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bag for your buck

Date:March 19, 2013
After researching several brands and models with GPS I found this to be the best unit. It can be split screened several ways. 1,2 or 3 screens at 1 time. Great display. Have not used it very long at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

upgrade!

Date:March 13, 2013
took the boat out to Lake Livingston and Lake Somerville, used the Elite-7 to find my old spots, it took a little getting used to, but finally got it, down scan worked really well, the map was pretty accurate, upgraded from humminbird 5" to this Elite-7, I'm loving it!!! lets catch'em.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowrance® Elite-7 HDI Sonar/GPS Combo

Date:February 10, 2013
Very nice, used it twice on 3 different lakes. 2 lakes out at night and very dark, I mean black outside, GPS did a great job getting me back to the boat dock and around the lakes. Down scan with the sonar works great. Nice to have all 3 windows up at one time. Very wise investment. Just makes you wants to go out on the water every weekend. Can't wait to get it the bays around Port A. & Rockport.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.