Customer Reviews for LOWRANCE Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

LOWRANCE Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo

Cabela’s proudly offers fishermen the exclusive Mark 4 – a full-featured sonar/GPS system at a budget-minded price. A sharp 320x240-pixel resolution, combined with DownScan Imaging™, reveals detailed baitfish schools, thermoclines and secondary structure.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Review 1 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice unit

Date:June 18, 2013
the unit was easy to install and works great, for the money you can't beat it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mark 4 DSI/GPS

Date:June 11, 2013
I am very happy with the Mark 4 DSI/GPS. The graphics are clear and crisp,and the GPS is handy for knowing trolling speeds and marking key lake locations, I have only used it on my local lake but find it to be a helpful and quality product. If you spend some time learning what you are seeing on the graph it doesn't take long to distinguish fish or baitfish. The screen is a little small so I would recomend installing it in a location where you can sit relatively close to the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:April 2, 2013
Great product for smaller boats. Screen is a little small but a great space saving product. Very detailed images.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Found our way in the fog

Date:March 20, 2013
Easy to install, GPS works great, sonar very crisp and clean. Lost all visibility while fishing due to fog and was able to safely navigate around the obstacles on the lake using the GPS, depth finder(with alarms) and maps on unit. Sonar picks up everything with good detail from small schools of fish to the larger fish and finding bottom structures was very easy. I have been happy with unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best small unit money can buy currently!

Date:February 5, 2013
If you have limited space as I do, buy this unit. Amazing Fish finder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fish finder?

Date:September 4, 2012
Maybe I was naive but I assumed that a depth finder would show fish and the indicator for the fish would be easy to see at a distance of three feet. To my dismay the fish indicator is about as small as a dot from a sharp pencil. If you are more interested in finding fish than using the GPS to tell you where you are on this earth at any given moment, then this is not the one you want.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mark-4 DSI is a winner

Date:August 31, 2012
Mark 4 DSI offers great water column definition and a GPS for great price. Space was a consideration...I run it along side a traditional sonar on a 16 ft tiller. The DSI shows a narrower but more definitive view of the structure seen on the regular sonar. No sunken school buses or bridges in my lake yet...LOL....and please do not expect cute fish icons.....just learn to interpret what is shown....No interference .....units are different frequencies. The base map in the GPS had decent coverage for my lake, but I am running a Lakemaster chip( LPWIC10) for more complete data. Reading water is no problem at full planing speed...just get transducer right! This monochrome is very daylight visible. I have run the color Elite DSI and find little or no difference in daylight visibility. For my old eyes, the reverse grayscale is second only to the purple on the color unit for definition. A quality unit Cabelas.....especially at your sale price. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good sonar.

Date:August 25, 2012
I gave four stars because the sonar on this model is strictly structure scan, there is no normal sonar, which is fine and is basically what i bought it for. If you are looking for a structure scan sonar with GPS this works great but is hard to read for beginners. Be very familliar with the instructions and realize that if you are a beginner it will take some time to be able to read it correctly. Other than that it is a great item especially for the price, (even better when it's on sale).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for kayaks

Date:June 23, 2012
DSI gives some really nice detail, and the GPS works great. I cannot complain about how this FF/GPS does its basic functions.
My complaint is that it is unsuitable for use on kayaks. Lowrance markets this unit for kayakers, and its compact size is perfect for our limited space, however, 3 members of NorthWest Kayak Anglers (NWKA) have had their Mark4 DSI units fail after being capsized. The IPx7 rating (submersible to 1m for 30 minutes) given this unit is NOT valid. If you are a flat water kayaker, you may want to take a chance, but up here in Oregon, where surf launches make capsizing inevitable, this is not the unit for you.
It appears that the main culprit is the SD slot. There is a cover for the slot, but it is not secure. I blew water out of that slot for two days after my capsizing. Lowrance has replaced our units under warranty, but I am going to have to be very careful using it in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowrance Mark 4 DSI is Awesome!!!

Date:June 18, 2012
I've researched sonar systems for months before buying this one. I've asked all the questions to boat owners, sportsmen & knowledgeable sales reps. I've researched and read everything on the internet and viewed the limited YouTube videos on available sonar equipment. Here's my conclusion...
The Lowrance Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS combo is the Best quality sonar system at an low affordable cost. Easy Installation & operation. Screen size & clarity is superb in and out of the sun, dead nuts on accuracy with depth, temps and navigation. The DSI soundings are crazy clear and amazing! Color screen is a novel idea, but contrast and battery consumption, especially when engine is off, were important to me. Thumbs up to Cabela's for special ordering this ideal system! I'm happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lowrance® Mark 4 DSI Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome for the Money

Date:May 16, 2012
Using this unit on the bow of my boat and the resolution and ease of use for a unit in this price range is exceptional!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.