Customer Reviews for COLEMAN Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

COLEMAN Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

Value-minded prices on lightweight, quiet and reliable four-stroke outboards. A convenient, front-mounted F-N-R lever shifts smoothly between gears (F-N gears with 360° steering on 2.6hp model). CDI ignition system and large recoil wheel for trouble-free starting. Other highlights include twist-grip throttle control; adjustable steering friction; convenient, easy-to-monitor oil-level gauge indicator; shallow-water drive; start-in-gear protection; and vibration-reduction system. Their ultralow emissions rating meets CE and EPA approval. Coleman stands behind this motor with over 1,200 authorized service centers in North America, state-of-the-art parts and technical support, and a full one-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Review 1 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2016

well built

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the Coleman 20 hp Four Stroke outboard and have to say I rate it right up there with the Mercury's. This motor run's great and consumes very little fuel, I love it.
Mark
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014

AWESOME MOTOR

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased the 5 hp 3 years ago, I run it on a 14 jon boat, and a 12 ft plastic fishing boat. I have never had a problem with it, starts on 1st or 2nd pull everytime, and has plenty of power for what i do. The motor does very well in tough current too. i went jug fishing yesterday and went about 10 miles up the river. I would highly recommend this motor to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013

5 HP 20"

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had the 5 hp for just over one year and its been great. Its on a small 16 ft boat and scoots along pretty well at about 20 mph. Great gas mileage and starts on first or second pull every time. I had it out in cold weather (30-40 deg) and hot weather (100+) without incident. Its pretty quiet and has low vibration. I would recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013

poor quality 5hp

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Pull starter went out before the end of the break in period and I had to row the boat back.. .Reason for buying a brand new motor was to avoid issues like this. Never buying from coleman again
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

Great little outboard

By
Bought the 2.6hp for a 10.2 Sundolphin fishing boat. Have used it several times and am pleased with how easy it is to use. It starts on the first pull and is plenty of motor for this boat with 2 adults in it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

great motor

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
had my 15 hp out on the river over the weekend it ran great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2013

Great little outboard

By
Country: United States
Bought the 2.6hp to push a 17 foot canoe around Lake Powell. Ran it for 4 straight days almost none stop. Burned very little fuel and not a bit of trouble. Gets it up to about 5mph max.
We finally pushed it to it's limit trying to go up the Colorado river. At the rivers narrowest point the water was flowing the same speed this little motor could push us.
Since then I've tried it on a 17.5 foot ski boat as a trolling motor. Won't be winning any races at about 2.1 mph max but again it pushed us all day without complaint.
If there is one con I would say it is the throttle. You go from idle to full speed in almost no twist. The rest of the rotation changes nothing.
I would buy one again without hesitation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

Been a FISHING SUMMER

By
Purchased the 5hp Coleman at the beginning of the summer and couldn't be happier. Operation has been trouble free. My 2 sons and I have spent just about every weekend on the lake trolling for trout.
Thanks Cabela's and Coleman for a fun FISHING SUMMER
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012

5hp Coleman motor good motor, very good price

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought a 5hp Coleman outboard several months ago and love it. Starts on the second pull and runs smooth. I called their 800 number recently for some ideas on off season storage and they were very helpful. It is a good motor at a very good price and I would recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012

Great Value

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I was leery but took a chance on the 2.6 because of the reputation of Cabelas and Coleman. I've been out twice with it now and love it. Very easy pull to start. Starts first or second pull every time. Runs well, not too noisy, smooth operation. I wish they'd offer an extension handle but I make do with a piece of plastic pipe over the handle which can steer it and grabs the rubber handle enough to twist it for speed control. Great price, of course.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2012

2.6 hp is a good motor

By
I got the 2.6 hp Coleman for my 10 foot outcast inflatable pontoon boat.. It has plenty of power for the pontoon but might be a bit fast for trolling. the slowest it will go on still water is 1 mph top speed is 6 mph. I have a video of it on youtube.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2011

great outboard!

By
This outboard is great and i have no qualm about it except it's a little hard to start after it's bin sitting four a while.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011

Coleman motor

By
Location: CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the Coleman 5hp motor for my 12 year old son to roam the waterways at our lake house. The motor arrived and I installed it on the boat no problem, but it failed to start right away. I called and left a message with Coleman and they returned my call *over the holiday weekend and helped us get it going. It now starts on 2-3 pulls and my 12 year old can start it on his own no problem. The manual's photos are so small I wasn't sure I had it set up right, they were great on the phone but need a better manual. All in all, great motor!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Great motor great price!

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very nice! I now get more time to fish when I am out at the lake. The motor is very dependable, and very easy to learn how to use. Highly recommend this motor!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2011

Best Purchase Ever!!

By
Age: 56-65
I purchased the Coleman Four Stroke outboard motor as a birthday gift for my husband. He loves it! When I went into the store and told the salesman what I was looking for he took me right to the Coleman. I asked him about other products but he told me for the money this would be my best purchase and it has been. We called the 800 number and got set up instructions - very helpful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2011

Great gift!!

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I bought this as a gift for my husband... he LOVES it... couldn't be happier! We called the 800 number with a couple questions about set up and they were so helpful!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

By
Location: Lake Tahoe, Ca
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These outboards are great. The motor runs great and works everytime. I am real happy with my purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2011

200 miles for nothing

By
Location: Duchess, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
First of all, cabellas is a great store with excellent service. Drove 100 miles to get the motor, drove 100 back. Hooked the motor up, went to the lake, wouldn't start. Should have read some reviews first. This thing makes an excellent anchor but sure is expensive. DO NOT BUY. Called manufacture, got an answering machine....awesome!
My recommendation is cabellas should not carry this motor, just not what I would expect from them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011

not bad for the price I guess

By
Location: Craig, Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Used my motor for the first time this weekend and I got to say I am a little disappointed. I have a 12’ aluminum boat and it really seemed to struggle to push it through the water with any speed. The RPM’s seam to top out when the throttle is at 75% witch doesn’t seam right, the start in gear feature doesn’t work, and it won’t idle ( I think all I need to do to fix that is adjust the throttle screw ). All and all it is ok for the money but if you are able to spend a little more I would get a merc!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Coleman® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2011

WEIGHT !

By
Location: LAKE BELTON TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
JUST BOUGHT THE COLEMAN 5hp OUTBOARD FOR MY 12' PORTA-BOTE. THE BOAT HAS A MAX ENGINE WEIGHT OF 54 LBS.... THE COLEMAN 5hp IS LISTED AS WEIGHING 38 LBS, THIS IS NOT THE CASE...... MOTOR WEIGHS 56.2 LBS.... I TRIED IT ANYWAY, MOTOR RAN AWESOME ! WITH THE BOAT EMPTY, IT PLANED QUICKLY, ACTUALLY MADE ME A LITTLE NERVOUS AT W.O.T..... WITH TWO ADULTS IT DID BETTER THAN I THOUGHT. FOR THE BOAT, BUY A SMALLER MOTOR, I JUST WONT RUN MY WIDE-OPEN. 2-26-11
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.