Customer Reviews for HUMMINBIRD Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HUMMINBIRD Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit

Maximize your angling experience with the 788ci HD DI sonar/GPS combo. It features a best-in-class high-definition display, DualBeam Plus™ and Down Imaging™ sonar with 4,000 watts of peak-to-peak power output, GPS chart-plotting and advanced fishing-system capabilities. In addition, it includes dual card slots for maps and saving waypoints, as well as three programmable preset buttons to save your favorite views.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Review 1 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Manitoba
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hummingbird 788

Date:June 3, 2014
I was so happy to finally receive this Hummingbird. I had ordered others over the past year and they seemed to be back ordered or my order was cancelled. Anyway I installed it on my pontoon boat,installation was easy and I really like all the features the 788 has. The fish aren't quite jumping in the boat but it really helps find the illusive walleye! The screen is big and bright and easy to see in any weather.it also comes with a screen cover which is handy to keep the sun and rain off when not in use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

788ci hd di

Date:April 26, 2014
great unit... but justwanttofishguy a tip to fix your problem...all you need to do if you are using a puck style transducer with the hose clamp is put a small piece of doubled up rubber like( inner tube type) between the puck and motor housing and your problem should be gone...if the problem still exists after that which it should not...then also do the software upgrade
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

open the cooler lid

Date:March 29, 2014
All you need to do is open the cooler lid and the fish will jump in on their own with the 788 down on board they can get away from these eyes watching them GREAT JOJ HUMMINGBIRD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:April 15, 2014
Does everything it said it would do. The only thing i didn't care for was the built in map, spend the extra money and get one of the better map cards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice clear images

Date:August 20, 2013
This is the best GPS/Sonar unit I have ever used. I have it on my trolling motor and use only the provided transducer and have had zero problems with any kind of interference. The imaging is so clear that I can tell the difference between crappie and blue gill schools by the type of signature each type of fish leaves on the screen. I also bought an extra transducer and mount and installed them for my console as well. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I had to send it back to Humminbird as it would shut down if I hit a big wave or it was jarred while it was in use. Zero problems since.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chanhassen, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Personal Favorite

Date:July 27, 2011
I do agree with you "justwanttofish" on the unit being aggravating. I was sent the new power cable, the PC-11 as well as you and it did not fix my problem fully. It did help with the screen being able to be seen a bit clearer. Also changing the noise filter in my unit that the people at Humminbird told me helped out as well.
Even though this did not fix my problem fully, I did call back and they asked me a few questions to get a clearer view of what trolling motor I was running and some other information on the interference issue.
They then went and got my email address and sent me a software upgrade for the unit and, what do you know, my unit works perfectly now and I am having no problems with running my trolling motor and seeing my screen now.
This new software worked amazing and I am so glad i spent the money on this Fish Finder.
It may have been a bit aggravating at first but it all paid off in the end.
This unit is my personal favorite and I am and always be a Humminbird Customer for Life.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: wonder lake ,il
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

headache alley

Date:October 31, 2011
the unit works good my headache is with the male adapters on the back of the sonar plug warped out of shape tried to mold it back it broke while on a fishing trip this is my only depth finder and to top it off the power plug keeps coming loose and shut down the unit what a head ache i did not need !!!!!! hummingbird is sending a new transducer and power cord afraid that my headache is not over only 2 month left on my warranty fishing season over will not know if my headache is fixed til next year???????
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best purchase

Date:March 9, 2013
best purchase I every bought
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Headache 2

Date:September 14, 2012
I bought a new Lund 1775 Impact boat equipped with a Minn Kota Terrova Ipilot 80(US2 transducer), Humminbird 385ci DI and 788ci DI HD sonar units and have experienced display and performance issues with the equipment configuration. I have also incurred considerable expenses to fix the issues.
I had the Lund dealer install the trolling motor and sonar units
The 385 unit connected to the trolling motor US2 transducer didn't display an accurate depth reading. It registered 60' when the 788 registered 15' which was an accurate reading. Both sonar units also had noise interference on the displays rendering them useless when the trolling motor was running.
After numerous calls to Humminbird customer service and one HB referral to Minn Kota who promptly sent me back to Humminbird, the problems were tentatively identified as incompatibilities between the 385 sonar unit and the Minn Kota transducer and the interference issue was related to unfiltered power and transducer cables.
To avoid potential warranty issues on both the trolling motor and sonar units I took the boat back to the Lund dealer for repair. The dealer installed the new sonar power cables with chokes and installed ferrite rings in the transducer cables(apparently a challenge to get 8 wraps of cable on the rings) and charged me for the labor. Humminbird Service refuses to reimburse me for the labor costs.
The problems are fixed. Because of this experience I wouldn't recommend the purchase of these sonar units. Since Minn Kota noise interference on Humminbird units appears to be a long term problem according to various blogs and both Minn Kota and Humminbird service reps were familiar with the issues/solutions, the modified power and transducer cables should have been provided as part of the installation package which would have prevented my interference problems.
Johnson Outdoors Marine Electronics as the parent company for both Minn Kota and Humminbird should certainly ensure that the 2 divisions communicate compatibility/maintenance issues to each other, the public and marine dealerships.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Humminbird® 788ci Sonar/GPS DI Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Webster, MA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Read Before You Buy!!!

Date:May 17, 2011
If you have a modern trolling motor with a digital maxximizer (which you probably do if you are going to invest this much on a sonar unit) I have to reccomend you stay away at least from this Down Imaging unit (Don't know about other models). For some odd reason they decided NOT to magnetically shield these transducers. Motor creates interference with transducer (whenever you run trolling motor) causing screen to get a "static" fuzzy picture like an old t.v. with an antenna. Also will not show the depth if I am in less than 10 ft. of water (due to this interference). They sent me a special power cord stating "it may fix problem". No dice. No date given on when a new magnetically shielded trans. will be avail. Oh and f.y.i. the side scan transducer cost $199. What are the odds they will offer us free upgrades when it's available? Very dissapointed. If you are looking for a front of boat unit and want to mount trans. on your troll. motor be preppared for a lot of aggravation and unsatisfying results after dealing with the manufacturer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.