Customer Reviews for MARCUM MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MARCUM MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device

The easiest, most convenient way to rotate the lens of any underwater camera. This tool lays over the hole in the ice and allows you to lower a camera and remotely turn it with the gears on top (camera not included). Operates on two C batteries (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
1.857 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
2 out of 7(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Review 1 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality

Date:January 16, 2011
Marcum completely missed the mark on this. Great product but incredibly poor design! The screws used to secure the cover plate for batteries are the same size (tiny) screws that are in your kids plastic toys which strip after a couple uses...exactly what happened me. The rubber gasket to seal the batteries doesn't fit properly so it's not ready for water. Second time out the switch to pan the camera was on laying on the ice and moisture got into the switch mechanism and froze the button, and eventually the switch would only move the camera in one direction...uugh! Marcum should give this away for free until they improve the design for ice fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK

Date:February 3, 2011
I purchaced 2 of these and out of the box both were faulty. The first one would do nothing. I think the motor was bad. I returned it and got another. This one out of the box would only turn in one dirrection. I think this one had a bad switch. Marcum usually means quality but this thing is pure junk. Dont waste your money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Idea, Terrible Design

Date:February 18, 2012
I've had the same problems as the other posts. I'm currently on the second unit and this one is ready for the trash. I have the tools to build a PC so thankfully I have a small enough screwdriver. It didn't matter though. After changing the batteries 3 times the screws are now stripped. The rubber gasket inside is off and was when I purchased it (Both units). I've glued it back down myself a couple times. One big problem is the battery door is on the bottom with a worthless gasket so the inside fills up with slush and stops working.
I'll use the pan option for about 10 seconds every 30 minutes and I'll be able to get 3 hours out of the 2 C batteries.
Save yourself the trouble and do not purchase this until they come up with a better design which shouldn't be to difficult.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Minot AFB ND
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Marcum Ice Camera Panning Device

Date:March 3, 2012
Mine came included with my Marcum camera, so it didn't cost me anything but frustration. I really wanted to like this, and for the first 5 times out, I had no complaints. But this time out, it decided to keep turning to the left. It only stops turning left when you make it turn right, and as soon as you let go of the button, it starts going left again.
Unlike others, I've got no bad feedback on battery life. I will echo others complaints about the screw heads...whoever put 4 little bitty phillips screws as the only means of holding on a battery compartment has obviously never been on the water. Imagine trying to remove & replace 4 very tiny screws while icefishing, just to swap batteries...good luck not messing that up.
I wouldn't buy one of these. Stick with the old school method.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Lakeville, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mrcum Underwater Camera Panner

Date:March 4, 2012
Worked great until I got some moisture into the remote switch. The remote control for the panner allows me to turn the viewing direction of my Marcum underwater camera without geting up from my seat. Just be careful to not drop the remote control in any water on the ice or into the water in your drilled hole. I did this and the control shorted out and the panner stopped working. The rest of the unit has seals to keep water out of the panner, but the remote does not. I think that Marcum should wise up and realize that ice fishig is the type of sport where it's difficult to keep anything dry and design the remote so it is waterproof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Save your money!!

Date:January 31, 2013
I bought one of these devices a year ago. Used it a half dozen times last year and it worked well. This year it only turns in one direction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MarCum Automatic Camera Panning Device
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must with a camera

Date:March 19, 2013
This product is a must for anyone that has a underwater camera, easy setup, and easy to use .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.