Customer Reviews for LOWRANCE Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

LOWRANCE Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo

A 5" color, 480x480-pixel, enhanced Solar MAX™ display with fully adjustable screen and CCFL backlit keypad offers the best combination of brightness, contrast and resolution ever. Powerful 4,000-watt peak-to-peak, 500-watt RMS, 20°/60° dual-beam transducer provides legendary sonar performance and coverage. Sonar history scrollback permits you to go back and look at previous GPS and sonar screens to find and mark waypoints. Graphically enhanced menus make operation simple. Quick-release, tilt-and-swivel bracket makes removal and adjustment easy. Broad-coverage 83/200kHz frequency. Skimmer-type transducer with built-in temperature reads depths to 1,000 feet. Combo unit has 16-channel internal GPS antenna that works great even when backmounted. Compatible with Fishing Hot Spots, Lake Master, Navionics Premium and others. Stores up to 1,000 waypoints and 100 retraceable plot trails. Micro SD mapping card slot. One-year manufacturer's warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Review 1 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elite 5 Combo

Date:August 9, 2010
I fish over 150 days a year, live on a lake and am retired.
I've fished my whole life and have had every sonar from the "Green Box" to Color CRT units. I've owned all the major brands.
Every other sonar I've had is a toy compared to this unit. It is unreal in every way. I'm seeing fish and learning about bottom content, I never knew existed. It operates very well and the seperation is great. If your looking and can afford it...buy this unit it's great.
Lowrance could provide a little more informative manual but it does give the basics.
I love this unit !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Instruction Manual

Date:August 6, 2011
I purchased this unit because I knew something about Lowrance GPS/Sonar units since I had an 18C that I sold with my last boat. I actually printed the User's Manual from Lowrance's site before receiving this unit. I haven't put the unit on the water yet, so I can't speak as to the quality of the actual GPS/Sonar capabilities, but the User's manual is perhaps the least informative I have ever seen. You have to fumble your way through the options and hope for the best. If you're an expert (which I am not), you shouldn't have any trouble. I am hoping through actual use, that I can work out the details not fully described in the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montello Wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use and install

Date:March 4, 2012
Yery user friendly .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, Oh
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Sonar/GPS for the price$$

Date:March 11, 2012
The instruction manual is a little vague and had to hook it up and use The Simulator for about 1hr to learn a vast majority of the functions. However it is the best unit ive owed for ease of operation, detail, function, etc... I would suggest this unit to any serious angler that has minor experience with Sonar/GPS units and anyone who wants a great unit @ a affordable price!! With the functions and ease of use I would have priced this unit around $799.00 .
And yes for everyone who has asked or cant find it in the product description it comes with a dual 83/200hz transducer. And the scroll back feature with the GPS enables you to look back a certain distance and set waypoints for fish you passed and you can move a cursor to a targeted area and get the exact depth!! Love it and fish on!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Base map inaccurate

Date:December 12, 2012
The base map that comes with the unit is not accurate in northwest florida (Oyster Bay) where I fish. For example, I beach my boat on Smith Island, but the unit shows Smith Island as 200 yards away. But in other areas where I fish, the base map is accurate, for example when I am in the St Marks river the unit display seems to be accurate. I bought a higher resolution map chip, and when using that in the unit, the map display is accurate in all locations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

don't buy for gps

Date:December 31, 2012
The color graph works good,i'ts the gps that's lousy.I bought this unit for the gps to mark brush piles,but it is not accurate.I've even tried sitting in a spot for awhile, then marking it,but i dont think the cursor kkeeps up when you go back to find it.I know this because I had a brush pile that was only 15 ft off the bank,it lined up w/ a stump on the bank,the graphshowed the pile,yet thecursor was 50 ft. from it.Try finding a pile in open water that i marked is almost impossible,heck one day it showed I was crossing inland by 200 yards when I went under a bridge.So if you want a gps,better buy a more high dollar unit.The manual is of no help either.I've had this unit for almost a year,and fish 2-3 times a week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 8, 2013
Easy to fit and has worked well so far. I have only used it for hunting some lakes around Cincinnati and have been pleased with the way it works. I have been interested in watching the fish finding screens but wont be trying to verify they work until the spring. Currently very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Poor Alarm Sound

Date:March 5, 2013
The Elite 5 sonar/GPS seems to work fine EXCEPT the Alarms. They are not nearly as loud as the ones on my current Lowrance and Eagle units, and there is no adjustment to make them louder. The alarm icon does appear on the screen when it should but that isn't much help unless you keep looking at the screen all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowrance Elite 5

Date:March 19, 2013
Installation was a breeze and it looks like it will work well...waiting paitently for the ice to clear from the lake!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good map

Date:April 2, 2013
gps is very good epoxied the dransducer in bilge works great at all speeds to about 42 mph
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Fishin Buddy

Date:April 9, 2013
Works great. Clear display gives up the fish hiding places readily. Now, if only it could tell me what they are biting on and select only the biggest to actually bite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy

Date:May 7, 2013
Great product, exactly what I expected and performs how I wanted. Great clarity on the screen and very intuitive to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good GPS/Depth Finder

Date:May 21, 2013
For the price, it was a good purchase. I mounted it to the front of my boat. I used the universal transducer on my trolling motor for the unit. Everything seems to function fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:May 21, 2013
very good unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly What I Wanted

Date:July 23, 2013
The Elite 5 Sonar/GPS is exactly what I wanted to replace my old fish finder and hand held GPS unit. I found that the graphics are easy to read and once you're acquainted with the menu it is easy to operate (but there is a learning curve!). I haven't found out how to make the GPS adjust the map screen automatically yet when traveling on big water - I will be disappointed if it can't . Great buy for the money spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

GPS Beware

Date:August 3, 2013
Overall, this is an OK unit for the price. However; be aware...at slower speeds the Elite 5 cannot update your GPS location. Per Lowrance service: the internal antenna is not designed to function below 2 mph.
So, if you buy the expensive Navionics lake maps and intend to troll along desired contours, the Elite 5 will NOT show you where you are, nor will it track your progress. Unless you are zooming along too fast to troll....
This is a HUGE problem for sow trollers, and one that should be disclosed in a disclaimer on the box!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Locator for Price

Date:September 10, 2013
This is the first GPS and color DSI locator I have owned. It took me two outings on the lake to get everything figured out. I did purchase the state Navionics Maps and must say they are excellent and detailed. I would recommend this locator to anyone looking for a reasonably priced color locator with GPS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lowrance® Elite 5 Color Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good decision

Date:September 17, 2013
Installation was not difficult. Alignment of sending unit was effortless, as I aligned it with the boat sitting as it would in the water. Using it while experimenting with instructions provided, surprised me. Having used one before, and having another person familiar with Lowrance, it was relatively easy to program. Very clear and easy to see. The bottom and contour with weeds were surprisingly detailed. I have recommended this unit to several of my fishing friends. They also were very impressed. Can't wait to see how it performs in the ocean, but that's next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.