Customer Reviews for EAGLE Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

EAGLE Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder

The new Eagle Cuda® 300 fish finder delivers excellent performance and resolution at a fantastic low price. Sunlight-viewable, 240V x 160H, 4" film SuperTwist LCD, four-level grayscale display teams with Advanced Fish I.D.™ and FishTrack™ to help you locate and identify fish and structure. A high-speed 200 kHz Skimmer® transducer with built-in temp sensor produces results at depths down to 600 ft. 60° fish- detection area at high-sensitivity setting. 800 watts of peak-to-peak power. Hands-free ASP™ operation. Sealed and waterproof. Manufacturer's full one-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Review 1 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gray, Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder

Date:March 11, 2009
Excellent value -- Better if the mounting base was not fixed - no rotation option.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CROYDON, PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CUDA 300

Date:March 24, 2009
I PURCHASED THIS MODEL AFTER MY TRANDUCER BROKE ON THEIR EARLIER MODEL. FOR THE FEW BUCKS MORE IT WAS WORTH IT. THIS MODEL WORKS GREAT EXCEPT IN SHALLOW WATER. THE NEW FEATURES ARE A GOOD ADDITION. FISH - ON !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicago, il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fish finder

Date:April 20, 2009
I needed a new fish finder for my 14 foot Aluminum fishing boat. The old Eagle I had was from 1987 and just crapped out. I just tried this Cuda 300 out over Easter weekend 2009 at Shabbona Lake in Dekalb Ill. For the money you cant beet it, It gave me the water temp, battery level, and most important showed us where the fish are and what depth. It also gave great veiws of bottom and structure. This unit is user friendly and easy to install.
If you have lots of money to burn than burn it! Other wise buy this unit for your small boat,and use the extra money for more tackle. Cant go wrong with this little unit. I am very happy with it and feel my money was well spent. My best friend also said it was a great deal for the money and would also put one in his boat.
Stop shopping and buy the Cuda 300 now! I looked at all the other units for over 4 months and did all the homework. this is the one that gets the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: I live and fish in No. West Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cuday 300 fish finder

Date:May 5, 2009
The pooerest feature is the dark screen. It works well with the sun shining on it but during the day w/o the back light it is difficult to read.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for.

Date:May 18, 2009
Ok for a first time fishfinder. Does a good job of showing bottom depth and structure as well as water temperature. Not so good at showing fish. Resolution makes it hard to distinguish arches and fish ID shows fish that aren't there. Takes a lot of experimenting with settings to get it to function at a somewhat disadvantaged ability. For the price, it is good to learn how to use a fishfinder and encourage you to buy a better one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It's just ok...

Date:June 10, 2009
If you're looking for a cheap sonar and not so much interested in features, this one will do. And that's about all.
I have the transducer mounted on the trolling motor. I am only interested in depth and general bottom composition. It SHOULD be able to do this just fine, it doesn't and that's the problem.
Shallow water operation is "iffy". Sometimes it works, sometimes it's a mess. That's the case with and w/o the trolling motor running; it just seems to not work that well.
Another issue is if you leave it on, pull up the trolling motor, zip over to another spot, it takes minutes for this thing to sync back up and you get real data. Cycle power and it's back in business a lot quicker.
The fish id feature is marginal at best. Since it's not reliable I just turn it off.
I know I'm hard of hearing but if you can hear that alarm you're better than I am. Volume control would be nice but it ain't there.
When it's working it fits the bill. It's the rest of the time I have problems. This one will probably be replaced with another unit next seaon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sinclairville, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Fish Finder

Date:July 18, 2009
Works great! used first in my canoe on a small local lake, for the fisrst time, we were able to see what the bottom is like and were able to find fish. Had the best day fishing there yet. Next time, took it on a friends power boat to see how it compared with the big guys. His big guy failed, the Cuda saved the day. He bought a new unit, took the Cuda along again, was almost line to line with his new unit. After about 10 hours of use, the Cabela's battery went from 12.6 volts to 12.3 volts. Great little unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: UP of MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent price

Date:July 23, 2009
Installation is the only headache with this model,,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not what it is advertised as

Date:July 28, 2009
fish have yet to be seen below the 5 to 6 ft mark on the screen while showing up on 2 others well below that.. just doesnt seem to work properly. hav already replaced with another brand and it works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: EUROPE/ Hungary
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Using

Date:August 12, 2009
It's easy to use! I usually angle for bream, carp on river from boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

for the money hard to beat

Date:December 22, 2009
I bought a Eagle Ultra 17 years ago it finally died used it a lot ice fishing in the boat shallow water lakes to the big lakes I live in Michigan saw this and thought for the money I would try it if it failed no harm. It has passed with flying Colors I tested it with a small swedish pimple and a minnow head in total about a 2 in bait worked perfect a friend that was with me said yea its picking up the metal from the pimple put a 1 1/2 inch minnow on a plain # 10 short shank hook it detected it at 50 foot on Muskegon lake through the ice when I lifted my rod the finder new and showed it it tracked that little minnow at every depth to 50 ft thats all the deeper a spot I couldfind if it will do that, what do you think. enough said
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You don't want this one

Date:June 6, 2010
I have had two of these. It will not give you a accurate reading on the fish. It will not work with a Minn Kota US2 very well. I have a Cuda 350 that works fine. They both take the same adaptor for the US2 so I see the difference. Buy the 350 but stay away from the 300.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eagle Cuda® 300 Sonar Fish Finder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

buyer beware

Date:November 12, 2010
on the good side, it's cheap, on the bad side it looks just like the eagle cuda 242 that stopped working for me after 2 years of very poor service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.