Customer Reviews for MAGELLAN Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MAGELLAN Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS

With Lowrance’s-exclusive Broadband Sounder™ you will see fish you couldn’t see before. This award-winning fish-finding technology displays more targets with greater sensitivity and higher definition. You get superior target marking in all conditions, so you can find more fish hiding in any cover. Bottom contours will show up better than ever. The advantages don’t stop there. You’ll always know where you are on the water thanks to the super-sensitive internal GPS antenna. It’s also fully compatible with Sirius® real-time weather and radio services available through affordable inland and offshore packages. Use the built-in Ethernet connection to share high-speed, high-bandwidth data with all HDS displays on your boat, including sonar graphs, navigation and Sirius weather/radio and radar. The HDS-7 features a panoramic 6.4" SVGA display with crystal-clear 480x640-pixel resolution. Choose exclusive Lowrance mapping plus Insight high-definition charts or the enhanced U.S. basemap: Insight high-definition mapping delivers unprecedented detail with lightning-fast map-screen updates Insight™ USA combines inland and coastal coverage of Lake Insight™, including more than 60,000 marked Fishing Hot Spots Compatible with complete range of Navionics® mapping cartridges, including Platinum and Platinum Plus All HDS units feature Turboview™ for enhanced viewing with top-of-the-line Navionics® Platinum 3-D charts HDS chartplotters are fully compatible with all Lowrance plug-and-play choices, including Lake Master® Pro Maps, Fishing Hot Spots® Pro, NauticPath™ and FreedomMaps™  Lowrance HDS-7 includes: User-friendly menu display lets you fly through control functions with ease and speed Brighter SolarMAX™ PLUS screens deliver the highest-contrast picture detail and the best wide-angle viewing available Adjustable super-white LED backlighting is the best for all fishing conditions, from remarkable brilliance in direct sun or total darkness Built-in broadband high-definition sonar 83/200kHz transducer
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
6 out of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Review 1 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love It

Date:March 13, 2012
I bought my HDS 7 last year and it has been great, note the date of the other reveiws as Lowrance's customers service has gotten better and the new units and updates make things even better every year. I really like the fact that they are still updateing the unit. I would recommend this unit to any one looking for a good unit for fishing and GPS. Adding structure sacn this year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tonawanda,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Problems

Date:September 29, 2009
I bought an HDS7 which lasted 15 minutes and went blank. It was sent to Lowrance 10 weeks ago for repairs. Four other charter captains that I know also bought these and has the same problem! I also have a HDS5 which I am having problems with. Buyer beware.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kemmerer, wyo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS

Date:July 14, 2009
what a unit !!!! it works as promised the display is excellant ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate Ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works awesome

Date:June 25, 2009
The HDS 7 is awesome piece of equipment. The graphics are great and the GPS works unbelievable. Can't be any happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

lowrance hds 7

Date:May 31, 2009
the 1st unit would not start up i returned to lowrance they replaced it with a unit that freezes up i am now sending that one back for a replacement that i hope will work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Waunakee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice unit but mapping issue

Date:April 27, 2009
Overal the unit is easy to use and works very well.
However the Lowrance web site indicates you can use Navionics mapping cards and this unit will not read them. The Lowrance support lines are always busy and no response from online support.
When I contacted Cabelas they called Lowrance on a retailer only number and they were told that May 15th the software will be available (but they also earlier gave dates in March and April that have come and gone) This problem applies to all the HDS units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: PHILA,PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR RECEPTION HDS-7 LOWRANCE

Date:April 20, 2009
INSTALLED UNIT UNDER T-TOP. GPS WOULD NOT LOCK ON . HAD TO PURCHASE ANTENNA IN ORDER TO USE.
CABELA'S SURVICE WAS 5 STAR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:April 10, 2009
I am very pleased with the Lowrance HDS-7. The screen is the perfect size for my boat. I am very impressed with quality of the graphics. I really like the insight mapping. I used it the first time yesterday on the coast of Georgia. It was really nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

HDS 7 - Water problems

Date:March 27, 2009
I've had my unit for about three weeks now. Took it on a 5 day trip. Fished in rain 4 of the 5 days. By day 5 there was water in the unit. NOT condensation, a ring of water around the screen on the inside. The LCD screen looked soaked as well. We hooked everything up, got on the water, powered it up and saw the water. The unit would not obtain a GPS signal. By mid morning it just powered off. So I was in a small tournament completely blind as far as my electronics go. Unit came back on later in the day. I am currently dealing with Lowrance customer support and let's just say they leave MUCH to be desired. They wanted me to pay for shipping which I refused. Have been waiting for 11 days to get my shipping label from them. Called twice and had to be on hold for 45mins + both times. I am giving Lowrance until Tuesday to get me a shipping label. If they don't get it to me then I am returning this unit to Cabelas. This was my first major electronics purchase and I am extremely upset. It is a shame because when it was working it was some kind of cool. But a depth finder needs to be waterproof. Very important.
If you are looking to pay this much money for something I suggest you narrow it down to three companies. Call each company and try to get to their customer service. That is probably going to tell you alot about the product and the upport you can expect. I don't know what I'll buy if I have to return this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HDS-7 and HDS-5 Awesome products!

Date:March 24, 2009
I bought both an HDS-7 and a HDS-5 both with Insight mapping. The mapping software is really neat and very useful. It has maps for nearly every lake in the country built right into the unit so there is not need for those expensive add-on cards.
The sonar is unlike anything I have ever seen before, the clarity is simply awesome.
Can't wait for the StructureScan™ Side-viewing Sounder to come out (July 09) so Side-viewing will be available on both of these units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lowrance HDS 7 Sonar/GPS
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: houston,texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

save your money

Date:March 12, 2009
buy something with side imaging sonar. this unit is overpriced and is not up to date as far as add ons go. will not accept platinum software from navi^nics. although they said it would be available in march they changed there mind and now i own both. wish i had waited for something better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.