Customer Reviews for DOCK EDGE Solar Dock Light™

DOCK EDGE Solar Dock Light™

Help keep nighttime boaters safe by converting your darkened dock into a readily identifiable structure with the Solar Dock Light. These low-profile, waterproof solar-powered lights convert sunlight into electricity to provide your dock, walkways, decks or landing with the lighting it needs. The extended-duty solar-charged batteries power through the night up to sunrise. Uses long lifespan and power saving white LEDs. Batteries included. Manufacturer's two-year warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Dock Light™
Review 1 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2011

25 % of 18 are defevtive, 2 to 16 months

By
Location: Lake Winnebago, Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Easy Installation. Looks and lighting very good.
Undependable ! Some have moisture and fail, no rain
and four feet above the lake. Some fog like old headlights and be cleaned with light rubbing
compound. Some re-light others don't. Some recharge
every day and re-light every night, others only light
some nights. Some dead. Batteries can not be replaced.
Definitely NOT worth the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009

Nice concept, quality suspect...

By
Location: SK,CAN
I bought 2 of these units a few months ago and while they were both working, I loved them.
They are fairly small (an advantage),but have a reasonable light output and install in moments.
One however quit working after a few weeks as it appearantly filled with water...
Currently hoping it will dry out and I will not have to return it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009

solar dock lights

By
Location: elsipogtog,new brunswick
i recently ordered 10 of these for my docks...worked well for few days then out of 10 lights only 4 are now working.very over priced. i ordered 10 more once i received my first 10 and they are definatly going back!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009

Solar Dock lights work

By
Location: Sanford, MI
The lights are close to the dock so don't trip people. Also, they send out a very nice glow to either side. It is enough to enter or exit the boat without lights glaring into your face.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Short Life

By
Location: Live in coastal NC where summers are hot and humid
These lights are self contained. No way to change battery. No way to releace mosture/condensation. Some fade shortly after dark/do not store solar energy well. All I bought are mounted well above water, but all have and hold water/condensation. Some have formed rust inside that clouds the lens. Of the 8 I bought, had to return 3 within a year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

Lights work better than expected

By
Location: Oxford, ME
These dock lights are excellent. They are small and low profile so you can mount them out of the way, near a poll or cleat so no one will trip on them. They project a lot more light than expected and work well when you are walking on the dock in the dark.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2009

Unreliable

By
Location: La Tuque, Quebec, Canada
The item I recieved was defective, providing light only for a few minutes in the dark despite being exposed to bright lighting all day. I'd consider having it replaced, but it turned out to be somewhat smaller and much less powerful than I expected. Definitely not worth the price to me, I will be returning it for exchange or refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2008

solar dock lghta

By
These lights are small and very efficient. The catalogue did not give demensions so I was extremely satisfied when I recieved them and found that they were compact and very bright. They are a great product for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2008

Five Star Special

By
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
These are the perfect dock light. Solar powered, unobtrusive, easy to install. Just enough light, not too much glare. THe price is not great but reasonable for the quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2008

Solar Dock Light

By
Location: Lake Perry, KS
When purchasing keep in mind that these lights are small and that don't light a wide area. I am useing it to light end of a dock, so you don't fall in. So don't expect lighting to see, just a maker is petty much all the light they give you. At night thou sitting at the pond it is a very calming feeling. I have had no problem with the weather sealing on them. They come on when they think it is dark enough and shut off in the morning. Pretty much you can anchor them down and forget about them. The light shines about 7 feet in length for good lighting and tappers fast as you add distance. I would recommend 1 unit per ever 8 to 10 feet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Solar Dock Light™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2008

Solar Dock Light

By
Location: Klamath Falls, OR.
I purchased two of these recently from Cabela's and they seem to work very well where I installed them - along the gangway to our dock on the Williamson River (Oregon).
They appear to be real solild and likely tough (time will tell, eh?), stay lit throughout the night (indicating good charging ability and internal batteries), and produce enough light from the LED lights to adequately light the walkway deck surface enough to find ones way without going into the river.
Only "problem" I have with them is they could be a bit bigger and little cheaper. However, they seem to be decent value for the money and the best product of its kind around that is specifically intended for docks.
Bill
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.