Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor

For years, fishermen have been turning to Cabela's for gear that meets their high standards out on the water. We listened and are proud to offer an underwater viewing system good enough to bear the Cabela's name. These units will provide the superior performance you're looking for at a price that can't be beat. Both are compact enough to easily fit in your boat's storage bins. Available:5.5" Monitor - Get a view of the underwater action on the 5.5" monitor with 380 lines of horizontal resolution. The black-and-white CMOS camera is connected to a 50-ft. cable. The removable ballast weight can be adjusted to change the viewing angle of the camera. The included soft pack makes for easy portability and has a spool for cable storage. Infrared underwater lighting system. Comes complete with a 12-volt battery and charger.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.996 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 231 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
79
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
13
1 Star
16
194 out of 231(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Review 141 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeastern Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's underwater viewing system 7"

Date:February 5, 2009
recieved your 7"underwater camera about a week ago. Have used it in both dark and sunny days and am well pleased with the picture clearity. It has done better than my buddies more expensive camera. he marveled at the picture. The only problem is the soft pack face is about an inch short because of the space needed for the battery. I have read reports on this one before I bought it and the ones that can't see or this don't work should really take the time to go through it and they will be amazed as to what they can see if run properly.
Thanks for a great product. What other company guarentees a product for as long as you own it, if not abused.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 142 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: douglas wyopming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

underwater camera

Date:February 6, 2009
works good except at high noon already saved a lost ice fishing pole setup that went thru the hole , that is a bonus of having one----- game retreival!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 143 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

advanced angler camera

Date:February 7, 2009
This camera is fairly inexpensive and comes in a nice case, but there is no spot for the battery. If it is not the middle of the day and sunny you cant see much. We use this camera in a permanent ice shack and hook it up to a 19 inch tv and it works much better. We also use it with the 12v power we have in the shack so we don't have to mess with the battery. In my opinion spend more money and get a better camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Enosburg falls,Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not so good

Date:February 8, 2009
The cam was to big for a perch so we had to bring the 8in auger every time. I had it for 2 months then the screan was white and fuzzy.So I sent it back and got the new panning 1.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 145 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: chicago il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas underwater camera

Date:February 8, 2009
i bought the 7 in screen camera, works great! the battery was fully charged right out of the box, ready to use. was able to see 1/16 oz. jig two feet away from camera. but is hard to see in direct sun light even with the shields, and no where for the battery to be stored inside the case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 146 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockford, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's 5.5" Camera

Date:February 9, 2009
After ice fishing for 20 years, I just purchased the camera, and it paid for itself in the past two weeks. 5.5" was plenty big, battery lasted at least 10 hours constant with LED's on, and camera shape will NOT spook fish. The picture is very clear, can see at least 15' in clear water, and about 5' in somewhat-stained water at 20' down. Camera works best in a shack, hard to see in sunlight even with the shade on the case. You can learn what the fish are interested in (speed of jigging, colors, minnows vs. grubs, etc), and the camera provides unlimited entertainment!! Camera is worth every penny, and cabelas has sold a few more this week to people that I have shown it to!!
Only minor issue was the lack of battery storage, but 2' wire extensions and an empty plastic 35 lb cat litter container worked great to keep everything dry and in one spot. It provides a great table for the camera to keep it and the battery off the ice and easier to view, plus is a great way to keep the camera safe when traveling. Even if the camera were 3 times the price, it would be well worth it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 147 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Camera

Date:February 9, 2009
My first camera leaked in the camera, but the second was Ok. The thing I liked about this camera is the spool on the top and the compact size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 148 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Williston, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Underwater Camera

Date:February 9, 2009
Good product for the money. Battery connection came apart at fuse box but an easy fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 149 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product for the price

Date:February 9, 2009
Product performs very well for a low-end camera. Doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but does what it is supposed to---show you the fish when they are there. Also, nice screen size for viewing. Carrying case is different than most, and doesn't alway sit upright unless positioned just right, and picture is not tremendously sharp. Still a super camera for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 150 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: South Pomfret, VT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get the better one..

Date:February 10, 2009
I bought the 5.5 screen model. When it arrived I tried it out in my den and immediately thought the led lights didn't work. After turning out all the lights I found they really did and you can see a slight pink glow from them. You can't see the glow or the light emitted in daylight. I have only used it once on the lake. I was pretty cool indeed. However, when it got dark my LED light failed ( for real this time) so it was impossible to use and I will send it back to get another.
One other point, once you put the camera in the water you can't tell what direction it points. If you want to watch your jig from another hole it may be tricky to find it plus it may be trickier to keep it pointing in that direction. That's why I think the panning camera would be worth the upgrade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 151 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Underwater Camera

Date:February 16, 2009
Worked great! Wish I could catch some of the fish I saw. The camera was excellent in low light and the infrared was great when dark. Got more battery time than I had time to fish! Great camera for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 152 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Advanced anglers underwater camera

Date:February 16, 2009
I see no reason to spend big bucks on an underwater viewing camera package. This very affordable unit is very clear, easy to use, and I am very impressed with the battery life. The carrying/storage case is very well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 153 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hook Set

Date:February 16, 2009
The first time out and it would not work. No big deal, but who has extra fuses in the middle of the lake. Battery took a good beating because there is no real good place to put it. Duck tapping it to the side was a real thought because the pockets are not much good for it. For some reason every time i put the camera in the water it scared fish away. It does not look like a northern to me but it shure acts like one. One good thing i can remember is that it has a nice clear picture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 154 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: houghton lake MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excelent

Date:February 17, 2009
the best under water viewer i have used, better picture quality than aqua-vue better than fish tv. i have used it about 50 different fishing trips and it has worked great on all..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Appleton Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's underwater camera

Date:February 17, 2009
Love the 7" cabelas underwater camera. Makes ice fishing much more enjoyable. Works well even in stained water. Easy to use and to recharge. Very nice picture and comparable to the more expensive aquaview. The only negative is I wish the carrying case would have an opening in the back to get at the power cord. My 7 year old is much more interested in ice fishing now that he can see what we are catching. Best thing I have bought in years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 156 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ADK Park, Northern NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so Advanced

Date:February 17, 2009
I purchased the camera with high hopes since I've been ordering merchandise through cabelas for many years and have nothing but good to say about the company and there products and those they sell. But I've got to say this is the worst investment I have made to date. The lights around the camera lens dont come on bright enough to do any good. I tried it only once in the middle of the day and lowered it into the hole in the ice. As soon as the camera got to the bottom of the ice, which was about 18", I lost the picture. Works great if you dont want to see under water. I havent returned it yet not sure if I want to wait till summer and try it in open water or send it back now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

underwater camera

Date:February 18, 2009
Camera was not what I expected. I used it on several lakes in Wyoming when I was ice fishing and the only view I could see was the floor of the lake . This view was probably only a couple of feet from side to side. I figure that the water this time of year was about as clear has it gets so I would be able to view at various depths in order to see where fish were feeding. Needless to say I returned the camera unit. Next I will try out the sonar units to see how they perform ...ukar
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 158 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Cameras

Date:February 18, 2009
I have only used it ine time in a clear water mountain lake and it did all it said it would. The only issue is when you are using it in bright light, th screen is almost impossible to see, even with the fold out guards, you really need to cover your head with a jacket, or dark cloth to block out the sunlight.
I used the camera in 30 feet of water and saw the bottom including a stump, gravel, sandy area very clearly and a couple of fish quickly leaving the area. I believe they were frightened by the camera.
I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Larimore, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

camera opinion

Date:February 18, 2009
new one in the mail had a power switch problem, returned, and got a replacement, works very well. affordable for the angler that doesn't go out every weekend. whole family enjoyed the action on the screen. clarity and ease of use. battery lasted 6 hours straight. very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers Underwater Camera – 5.5" Monitor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Green bay, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not very good picture

Date:February 18, 2009
This was my first underwater camera, I used it on three different lakes, I didn't think visibility was very good. It seemed like I could only see about 2-3 feet distane in 10 feet of water. When I tried to use it deeper than that, it was hard to see anything on the screen. Maybe I expected more and all cameras are limited in distance, but I expected to be able to see a few feet in 15-20 feet of water. I could only see 6" to a foot from the camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 141-160 of 231