Customer Reviews for FISHING ROD CADDY Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

FISHING ROD CADDY Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor

Everything about the newly-designed Riptide ST 80 AutoPilot is engineered to put you in complete command with minimal effort so you can focus on fishing instead of your motor. The Riptide ST 80 AutoPilot is a 24-volt unit with either a 54" or 60" shaft, variable speeds, 80 lbs. of thrust and the all-new digitally controlled AutoPilot™ feature. It keeps you heading where you tell it to go. Just set a course, activate the AutoPilot, and the motor makes infinitely variable steering adjustments for ultrasmooth course corrections and unparalleled heading accuracy. Deployment of a trolling motor couldn't be easier. Just push the handle and fall-away ramps deploy the Riptide ST 80 AutoPilot. Superb balance lets you effortlessly raise and stow the motor and a master cut-off switch prevents motor activation in the stowed position. Digital maximizer technology precisely controls the power draw on the battery at various speeds, eliminating wasted power and extending battery life to keep you on the water longer. The Riptide ST 80 AutoPilot is housed in white casings specially engineered to withstand harsh saltwater environments. The Riptide also places precise control at your fingertips by using the popular handheld CoPilot in place of a foot pedal.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Review 1 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In love...

Date:December 28, 2012
Finally something that does what it is suspose to do...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Riptide

Date:August 11, 2009
I put off the purchase of this bow mount Riptide Trolling motor for too long. I finally decided to buy it and get it mounted before a week long summer vacation and I'm glad I did. This 80lb thrust motor works great I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't already have one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

*** Excellent Choice!!!! ***

Date:May 2, 2009
Installed on a 20 foot Reinell open bow. Fish delta, bay and motherload lakes. Waterski with kids when not fishing.
I bought this motor after having a remote footpedal Motorguide for years. I loved the remote but always kicked myself for not getting the autopilot feature. The other problem I had with the Motorguide was the motor became worthless when the 9 volt battery in it died, which seemed to be every trip if the remote wasn't turned off properly.
When I outfitted my new boat I sucked it up and bought the Autopilot version, optional wired footpedal, and poly quick release bracket to go with it. I have had this motor for over a year and the remote has never need new batteries but if they do die I can always plug in the wired footpedal.
The autopilot feature gives me time to pick a lure and tie it on without changing course and fouling lines. If lake trolling it's like having a chauffeur drive the boat, set it and go. I like having the remote on my wrist so I can move about the boat.
I also bought the poly removable bracket which is well made and doesn't vibrate at all. The installation looks very clean and has a factory appearance. It's nice to be able to take the motor off when waterskiing with the family and have a clean bow. The motor is so quite on low speeds I had to speed up just to make sure it was really on the poly removable plate doesn't vibrate at all.
The power on the 80 is good for my 20' boat but I wish I had more room for the 3rd battery because I would have gotten the 101lb thrust. I have a 101lb thrust on my bass boat and even though the boat is lighter than the v-hull the extra 20 lbs thrust would be nice. Overall I am extremely happy with this motor and the options available.
I would definately spend the money on it again.
Chris
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sutter, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

riptide rt80

Date:April 1, 2009
I use my boat on rivers with considerable current. Great improvement over the previous motors I have had. Plenty of thrust and the feature of the "rabbit" button enables the user to move the boat out of bad situations very quickly. I do not use the remote mounted on my fishing pole and would like to see the size of the remote a little larger with more spacing between the funtions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Mount design is nice

Date:February 6, 2009
The deploy and stow function with the new mount design on these motors is much improved over the older AP T/motor mounts. Finally one hand operation!
Haven't seen any improvement in battery life with this motor over the older MK AP motor it replaced, so I question the veracity of their claim about the effectiveness of the "maximizer".
As for the new controller, I wear it on a lanyard around my neck and man do you ever have to watch out for that "rabbit" button. Very frequent unintentional activation of that function. Not a big deal, but it is a nuisance and I may deactivate it.
Overall I think it's a good motor and the redesigned mount is a big improvement over previous designs, but like a lot of things in life there are some other features that are a bit lacking in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cant replace this

Date:October 27, 2008
This is one heckuva piece of nessecary fishing equipment that once used you will not ever do without again.I refuse to fish without mine,it will make a lazy fisherman out of you in a hurry.Point that sucker the way you want to go and get to fishin,,,Worth every dollar I payed ......Georgia fishinfool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lodi, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor

Date:June 30, 2008
Great motor!!! The Auto Pilot is a must.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor

Date:January 16, 2008
Excellent product! Installation was a breeze and everything works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Secret Weapon

Date:October 30, 2007
The greatest thing since the Power-Pole. This is my 2nd one of these. The other one works just fine and I moved it to another one of my boats, I just wanted the remote Autopilot control and the easier deploy feature. With this thing on the front and a Power-Pole on the back............ if you've got a foot of water or more, there's not much need to get out of a perfectly good and dry boat to "slosh" around in the mud chasing Redfish and Trout. It's extremely quiet at the lower setting (you can't hear it running until about level 3) While all the waders are covering a few square yards, I've covered a few HUNDRED or more.........just as quietly (in most cases) ........ My Secret Weapon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Minn Kota® Riptide RT80/ST/CP/AP Saltwater Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Riptide Motor

Date:April 17, 2007
I previously owned a co-pilot motor and the improvements made are great. Easy to lower into the water and raise. I will not be without one from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.