Customer Reviews for RAINSHADOW Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RAINSHADOW Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™

Everything about the Terrova™ is engineered to put you in complete command with minimal effort so you can focus on fishing instead of your motor. The all-new digitally controlled AutoPilot™ feature keeps you heading where you tell it to go. Just set a course, activate the AutoPilot, and the motor makes infinitely variable steering adjustments for ultrasmooth course corrections and unparalleled heading accuracy. The low-profile, waterproof design of the foot pedal control unit is also new. Precise control is afforded by rapid-response steering resolution of less than one degree using your heel and toe. Steering, speed, on/off and the AutoPilot all can be controlled with the pedal. An included 18-ft. cord lets you put it nearly anywhere in your boat. Deployment of a trolling motor couldn't be easier. Just push the handle and fall-away ramps deploy the Terrova. Superb balance lets you effortlessly raise and stow the motor, and a master cut-off switch prevents motor activation in the stowed position. Digital Maximizer technology precisely controls the power draw on the battery at various speeds, eliminating wasted power and extending battery life to keep you on the water longer. Universal Sonar 2 models feature a built-in DualBeam transducer with temperature sensor. Two-year warranty. Made in USA
Overall Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Review 1 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of Junk

Date:April 30, 2009
I replaced a Minn Kota Maxxum that had given me 7 years of service with no repairs. I bought the Terrova because of the autopilot feature.
I often fish a night casting to the bank. The system indictor ready light is blinding and must be covered with a rag to be able to see anything. This doesnt work well in the wind when the rag blows away. Also there is no directional indicator "red light" to see which way the motor is pointing, and you do not intuitively know this because the foot controller does not tilt like a Maxxum system.
The foot petal part of the foot controller worked for about 3 times out and will no longer turn starboard. Even when it worked you had to use so much force that it was difficult to use from a seated position. The foot controller steering switches at the base of the controller both still work. I constantly hit the momentary or auto pilot switches in the dark and there is no way to turn these switches off to temporarily inactivate them. These additional lights are also blinding in the dark if you want to run on autopilot.
About 1 time in 20 the auto pilot decides to make a U turn so you have to pay close attention to what is happening.
The unit stows easily but it takes about a 30 pound shove to get it to deploy. Deploy is much more of a hassle that the old Maxxum system.
I made the mistake of not ordering universal sonar since I naively assumed you could mount a transducer to the trolling motor. The cable gets caught in the fall away ramps on stow or deploy which is a real hassle in the dark. Minn Kota service sent me an outdated drawing which proved worthless in addressing the problem and the dealer ( one I have been using for the last 8 years) who installed the trolling motor said he learned on his first installation that the universal sonal is essential if you want sonor from under the trolling motor.
The trolling motor itself is powerful and quiet. The foot petal is a piece of junk and the auto pilot is unreliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

minnn kota terrova 80bow-mount w/autopilot

Date:May 8, 2007
I cannot reccommend this product because the autopilot feature did not work right out of the box. Also, I got the US-2 sonar but was unable to find available a connector plug without at least a month and a half backorder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Brandon, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trolling motor okay--Cabelas GREAT

Date:August 24, 2009
I bought a MinnKota Terrova 80 AP trolling motor recently. I replaced a perfectly good working Motor Guide 70 thrust to get to the Autopilot feature.
I crappie tournament fish a lot and recently we have started long-lining jigs and pulling crank baits behind our boats. Others in the Magnolia Crappie Club have the same t.m. and recommended the Terrova to me.
It came in. I installed it and rushed to the lake with a fishing buddy of mine. At first, we were impressed with the ease of operation of the autopilot feature. Plus the t.m. ran smooth and quiet.
Then a breeze kicked up and we noticed that the t. m. strained to pull into the wind. Oops, we said. This t.m. will never make it on a windy day.
Well after checking my new batteries and all the connections I went back another half dozen trips with my GPS to determine just how much pull or thrust this new MinnKota.
Bottom line--with two new batteries, group 27 size, fully charged on a slightly breezy day, the new MinnKota ran my batteries completely down in less than 3 hours. On a non-windy, slick conditions lake, the batteries would last 4 hours.
Man, was I disappointed. I called MinnKota and got no help whatsoever. They were terrible.
I called Cabelas and the second level technician/CSR that I talked to was GREAT. "No problem, sir. How about I send you a brand new one and you keep the box and prepaid return shipping label and return the original one to me."
Hey, you can't beat that.
The second MinnKota came and I immediately took it to the lake. It pulled my boat 50% faster according to my GPS than the first one did. I had already installed 2 more batteries on my boat because of the first MinnKota's battery drain.
From what I can tell after 3 trips with the new one, it should last a full day using 4 group 27 batteries wired in parallel and series with the first battery bank.
Not real happy with the foot control when not using the AP. Seems awkward at best. Poor ergonomic design to me. Talked with other fishermen who have same set up and they don't like the foot control when using it same as cable drive t.m.
I'm not really 100% pleased with the MinnKota or their technical service dept. But, I have no complaints with the service I got from Cabelas regarding my issues with the first t.m.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: red hook,n.y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

foot pedal

Date:May 8, 2009
momentary on switch only works well with ball of foot-momentary on switch at back of the pedal is too narrow,making you to use the tip of your toes,otherwise you're hitting the left or right buttons.First time I tried the auto pilot,it spun the boat around.Power is nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Elmira MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrova 80/AP and Universal Sonar with Copilot

Date:October 10, 2007
Over all I'm happy with the Minn Kota Terrova. I have had this Minn Kota since April, I did'nt have any problem for the first 3 or 4 month. Then I started having trouble with the AutoPilot and Copilot. At first (once in awhile) the Autopilot would track side to side, then spin around now and then. Then about two weeks ago the Autopilot started leaking oil out the head of the unit, now the AuotPilot don't work at all. The CoPilot I love it, the only trouble that I have had with it is that after awhile the remote stop respond like it did when I first got it and stop all together after awhile. This is the second Copilot that I have had the first I returned to Cabela's, this Copilot is starting to do the same thing. So I will be returning for exchange, Minn KotaTerrova AutoPilot with universal 2 and CoPilot for a new one. One thing about the universal 2 is it works alot better then the universal Sonar on the old Minn Kota PowerDrive. That's why you should always purchase your stuff for Cabela's they never give you any trouble on returns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome motor

Date:September 11, 2009
Works as advertised, plenty of power, and pushes my 19' North River Seahawk around for 6 hours while chasing Kokanee. Really like the autopilot and co-pilot. Have only used the foot pedal once, since the co-pilot works so good. Now I can spend much more time fishing and less time tied to my kicker motor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nashville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrova 80 bow mount trolling motor with autopilot

Date:October 23, 2008
I have only used the Terrova for one fishing trip. It worked well and did everything it said it would do. I was unhappy with the mounting. It did not fit my boat very well. I wish it had a Maxxum mount. I also wish the foot control was a little smaller in size. But, it worked flawlessly. I am real happy with the autopilot. I have since bought the copilot for this motor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Haven't used it yet.

Date:July 7, 2008
The base is wider than most gunnels so you will probably need a sub-base or a universal mount. I happened to have a spare universal, but if you're handy with sheet aluminum it wouldn't be hard to make one.
I like the looks of the thing and the up/down action; I think I'll like it but I just haven't been out yet. I like the changes they've made to the foot control, and I like that it's a lot lighter than my old one but 45% more torque.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great motor

Date:June 11, 2007
We just upgraded the electric on our 20' sled. This new Terrova w/Autopilot is a big improvement over our old model Minn Kota with similar features. Our old one was killed on it's way to have the Autopilot repaired for the second time in 10 years.
The new model has a lot more thrust than the old one, 80# vs. 60#.
Which brings up the only thing that could be a problem- I suggest that you turn the power adjustment to zero if you step away from the foot control. It is VERY easy to accidentally touch the "CON" (constant on) switch. It's out on the very edge of the control pedal & very easy to turn on. It could put you in the water if your dog, your kid, (or you) step on it & the power is turned up very far. This thing really shoves our sled around in a hurry.
Our little 7# dog stepped on the CON switch several times the first time we used it. Fortunately we were sitting down. If one of us had been standing on the bow I'm pretty sure we would have been in the water when the boat suddenly went sideways. It was only set on 4 or 5 but it still pushed the boat sideways very quickly.
The "AP" button is just above the CON switch & the dog accidentally turned that off a few times, as did I.
Other than that it is an excellent unit. We ran ours trolling for three or four hours the other day & it still showed the batteries as full. No noticeable loss of power either.
The Autopilot works much better on this new one. It's much smoother. When it adjusts itself it does it in smaller increments. It's also quieter than the old one & has several new steering options that are nice.
Stowing & deploying is *much* more easily done with this setup. My wife loves it, the old one was a struggle for her.
All in all I'm glad the old one was killed by the brown truck brigade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: las vegas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quality product

Date:May 22, 2007
Lot of power, great foot pedal,A little expensive, but definetly the best trolling motor on the market. Stow and deploy is designed 10x better than the powerdrive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Highlands of NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why Did I Wait?

Date:September 30, 2010
I purchased a new 80LB thrust Terrova with autopilot for my new 17' Sea Ark center console. I've used the Power Drive series for years on smaller aluminum boats, and the Maxxum on two bass boats I've owned, so this was the frst Terrova model I ever used. In my opinion, it's the best of the lot. The foot pedal is extremely responsive and very easy to operate, and the motor is well built, tight, and quiet in operation. The autpilot feature really shines, though. I would never, ever, do without it again. Well worth the extra money, especially for river fishing. Point, click, and fish: the motor adjusts itself to keep you where you want to go. I almost feel guilty! BTW, I was concerned about mail ordering this from Cabela's due to possible transit damage; however, the packaging is very well constructed, and the motor arrived via UPS in excellent shape. Easy to mount on a matching Minn Kota removable mount, my little Sea Ark now has adequate power for the Big D, and I'm very satisfied. I wouldn't hesitate to order a similar item from the world's premiere outfitter again...thanks, Cabela's, for the quick and safe delivery!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrova has to be #1!

Date:August 25, 2009
Very smooth operation, love how it combined with universal sonar to my new Lowrance HDS5. 80# model has plenty of power for a Lund 1800 Pro V.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manton, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrova = Terrific!

Date:August 11, 2009
Wow! What a difference auto-pilot makes. This is the trolling motor for the fisherman who wants to fish and not be constantly making corrections to the direction of his boat. I bought the 80 lb. thrust model and it pulls my 17 1/2 foot Alumacraft Dominator around with ease. The convenience of being able to place the foot control anywhere in the boat is also tough to beat. I can sit somewhere other than the bow and tend to my rods or sit under the fisherman's top to escape a rain shower, all while having full control of the electric motor. I simply can't say enough about this motor. Great performance, quality product, ease of use, ease of installation (I highly recommend the detachable sliding base plate mount), etc. Tops the field in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

terrova

Date:July 14, 2009
This is a outstanding motor i have it installed on a 1850 lund tyee and it handles great if your looking for a good dependable piece of trolling help this motor is for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Murray, KY, Kentucky Lake
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Terrova w/remote and autopilot

Date:June 23, 2009
I own and operate a crappie fishing guide service and the Minn Kota Terrova 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot is the perfect ticket for fishing with clients that you want to fish the front of the boat. I can move around the boat with my remote or place the foot control anywhere in the boat. The AutoPilot is also a FIVE STAR, just like the people at Minn Kota says, point the arrow in the direction you want to go and the Terrova is on its way there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Auto-Pilot =Auto-Fish

Date:June 5, 2009
Have only put in apprx 12 hours with it but it is a great fihing tool.Gives me time to re-tie or change lures as I troll for walleye.On the lake it is superb.On the river I fished it was more than adequate trolling albeit with the current ,and it was able to overcome a moderate wind(5-10)Will have a complete opinion after two years of trouble free service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good motor

Date:May 27, 2009
works well when put on auto Pilot it holds the line perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrova 80 AP with remote

Date:September 25, 2008
I purchased the Terova 80 AP with remote about two months ago it is a little pricey so I did look hard at my other options before bying the Terrova. After using it for two months I wish that I had bought it sooner. I have it on a 20 ft poontoon boat and it works great I really like the Auto pilot and I can run it all day and still have 1/2 charge left in the batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Terrova™ Bow Mount

Date:September 6, 2008
Have just started to use this motor and it is a big improvement over my previous Minn Kota. Much easier to deploy and retrive. Foot pedal contols are easy to use. The only negative is that the higher motor speeds, the autopilot goes crazy in wind and/or strong currents. But a lower motor speeds (below about 5 on the speed control) the auto pilot tracks well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Minn Kota® Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor with AutoPilot™
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minn Kota Terrova™ 80 Bow-Mount Trolling Motor wit

Date:July 22, 2008
Fantastic motor. I've used it a dozen times now and it pulls my 18.5' heavy boat around with power to spare.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30