Customer Reviews for Aqua-Vu Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Aqua-Vu Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System

Every camera assembly has military-grade epoxy resin fully encapsulating lifelike fish camera design. Aqua-Vu's proprietary cable is embedded in the epoxy, which makes the camera and cable union a durable connection. Any stress on the cable is transferred directly into the block of epoxy - not to the crimp connection. This material is guaranteed not to crack, flake or deteriorate with extended exposure to ultraviolet sunlight or saltwater. Scratch-resistant camera lenses are made of polycarbonate plastic, the toughest material available. The Scout II's 50-ft., reinforced cable ends with a Bluegill-pattern fish camera. It features Spectral Response Lighting that maximizes the available light the camera can use, increasing the viewing distance at night. The spectral response light source provides at least twice the visibility of traditional infrared lights. The blended red and blue frequencies are designed for optimum light transmission in freshwater, providing a clear, crisp image on the black-and-white monitor. Full 5" screen for easy viewing. Utilizes the same cable storage system available on the Scout XL. Battery and charger included. Available: Scout II.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Review 1 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aqua-Vu

Date:December 2, 2008
I have used my Aqua-Vu numerous times now and am very pleased with the camera. I have had no problems with the camera, everything works well. I do find that the light doesn't seem to help the distance you can see, which I was told before I bought it. I also wish it had a 100' cable instead of a 50' cable. All in all, I recommend it and would make the purchase again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

scout 2

Date:December 29, 2007
This is a great camera. I would like to point out that this camera will fit into a 5 gallon bucket which makes it very nice and convenient for the ice fisherman. This is the perfect portable size. I took a rubber band and rigged the camera so that it faces straight down making it easy to find your bait, and you dont have to keep spinning the cord to view fish coming in at your jig. Read that in a magazine and it works great. My only gripe is that the cord storage brackets are not really big or long enough. It does hold the cord, they could come up with something better though. Night viewing isnt its strong point, but did meet my expectations. There is no such thing as a GREAT night viewing underwater camera. All in all, this thing is sweet. A great search tool. When ice fishing or in a boat, I wont leave home without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ithaca,michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

aqua view scout 2

Date:September 24, 2007
this is my 2nd unit, i had to buy another, cause my wife was always wanting too watch mine. this are great units and the recording feature is a must, for replaying those great days on the hardwater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Buy

Date:July 10, 2007
I could not see anything with this camera. I could see in my fish tank. When it came to me seeing in lake that was not good at all could not see anything in water at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aqu-Vu It's a Keeper

Date:June 24, 2007
Received it as a Christmas gift. It delivers as promised. I fish alot of stained water ponds in my area, and visbility was easily 12 + feet.
Interestingly, many times when I've dropped it in to get a view, the fish will come right up to the camera to check it out. Must look like one of their cousins :)
Only pain worth mentioning is that the cable containment arms could be longer. It barely holds/secures the length of cable.
But, the advantages outweigh the con's. Glad I have it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connellsville, PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:June 3, 2007
The first time I used the Aqua Vu..... The instant it got to the bottom ....The fish was there ....... Walleye 3----- 20 +inch ;
some rock bass and large sun fish.......all in a 25 yard radius.
This viewer is the best thing I have purchased in a long time....Its great ...and worth every penny I spent on it...The
water was not that clear, but I could still see everything down there.......also snags I was getting.... Stumps and rocks.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aqua Scout II

Date:April 16, 2007
If you like looking crappie right in the eye you will love the Aqua Scout. Most reviews about ice fishing with the Aqua Scout. But its good for locating crappie. Are they in the channel, on the beds, off the beds. With all the weather changes this spring their position chances daily.
Also fly fish and now I can check those deep pools for trout
placement and watching to see how their feeding and on what.
Very pleased with daytime performance. Not as good at night
unless the water is very calm as light reflects of the sediment
and and causes an unclear image.
Works great with a downrigger for depth control. Attach it to the ball and lower it to a precise depth and run up creek channels looking for fish.
Now I can verify the images on my locator and can tell
whats fish or schools of shad and whats a false echo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

freaken sweet

Date:February 27, 2007
this is probably one of the best scouting tools i have ever bought. it is difficult to keep in one place long enough to watch fish take your lure but for finding hidden structure rock piles, and weed beds this is a must have. the clarity on it is so good that i had a tipup 20 feet away and i could see the minnow and watch a nice bass hit it. it really helps to find honey holes on heavily fished waters. AWESOME!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marquette, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Quality

Date:February 13, 2007
I had originally purchased the original Scout and was not too satisfied. I didnt like the bulkyness of the product and I didnt find that they IR lights worked as well as I would have thought. So I decided to give the Scout II a try and I am very pleased. I like the fact that it folds up in to an easy to carry unit and I also enjoy some of user freindly options the Scout II has to offer. The fact that the II has the SR lighting was a big selling point, I beleive they are a better quality light and they allow the user to use the product at night. I also appreciate the 50 ft. cord, it saves on weight and size and there are not too many condiitons when veiwing at 100 ft is going to be possible. The scout II also has an easy to use battery port and user friendly monitor controls. I am really satisfied with the II and I highly reccomend it for the price. I have used other aqua-vu products such as the Z series and I found the II to be a better overall product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redby< Mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome product!!!

Date:January 23, 2007
This thing really helps me out on the ice. I can see when the fish are coming for my hook/bait and know when to set the hook almost to perfection. Also the fish shape does very good at not spooking the fish away...so good in fact that I had a huge Northern Pike chase it when I was pulling the camera up(got a good look down the Northern's throat in the process). Couple drawbacks are the low light factor(at night) and the cable does not seem to stay put all the time on mine, but you can easily fix that by purchasing one of thier tripod accessories. But all in all, this is now 1 of my favorite "toys". Cant wait to try it out on the boat!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aqua-Vu Scout II Underwater Camera System
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auburn Dam, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:December 27, 2006
I purchased the Scout 2 @ Cabelas Hamburg in the beginning of Dec. / 06...I took it out on my boat for a trial run and wow!!!..it was awesome...it worked better then I could have ever imagined..I even inpressed my 68 year old fishing partner that was skeptical about its performance cause the body of water we fish if always muddy and murkey....we manged to actually find a fishing rod laying in 15ft. of water couldn't retrieve it..but could see it plain as day......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.