Customer Reviews for NISSAN MARINE Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors

NISSAN MARINE Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors

If you’re looking for quiet, smooth operation with superior fuel efficiency and extremely low emissions levels, the Nissan four-stroke is the answer. Even running wide open, these motors typically use less than one-half gallon of fuel per hour. They meet all EPA standards for 2008 and boast thermostatically controlled cooling systems. For your small boat or kicker motor needs, it’s tough to find an outboard that competes with the performance, power and reliability of Nissan marine. All Nissan outboards are equipped with premium, heavy-duty crankshafts, bearings, connecting rods and pistons. Nissan’s five-layer corrosion protection - successive layers of zinc chromate primer and a durable enamel finish that inhibits corrosion in the harshest marine conditions - now includes clearcoat. Standard CD electronic ignition gives lightning-fast starts. Through-the-prop exhaust system makes them quiet running, while the corrosion- resistant stainless steel water pump housing ensures clean, even cycling. All models 4hp and above include forward, neutral and reverse gears, easy-to-control tiller handles, and aluminum propellers. The 2.5hp and 3.5hp models feature 360° steering with forward and neutral gears. Safety-stop switch and lanyard-mounted cutoff switch are standard. 2.5hp and 3.5hp come standard with composite propellers. If weight is one of your major concerns, Nissan’s featherweight 8hp and 9.8hp outboards make no compromise when it comes to the dependable operation Nissan has become famous for. Perfect for inflatables, jon boats and other small portable boats or as a kicker for larger boats, these four-strokes represent the lightest outboards in their class. Plus, a dynamically balanced crankshaft and upper rubber mounts reduce vibration for smooth, stable running, and a large-capacity air silencer reduces induction noise to create a quiet ride. All motors are tiller steering. Outboard motors may not be returned. Items needing repair should be returned to an authorized service center for repair under manufacturer warranty guideline.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
79 out of 86(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Review 1 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4 hp short shaft

Date:September 28, 2014
I saw a lot of bad reviews on the 4hp model.
I Bought one in the fall of 2013 and have been using it on a regular basis without any trouble save one thing: the internal tank doesn't have a way to prime the fuel system effectively
I haven't had any trouble running it off a remote tank, but if you run the system dry on the internal tank, it is hard to get fuel to the carb initially just off the internal tank..
Anyhow, I have been running it on an external tank with no problems at all. Just prime the system with the remote primer bulb first. It takes a standard Mercury fitting and you have to set the fuel valve at the side of the motor to the remote tank setting. It is very reliable when running off the remote, one or two pull starts every time. no external tank or hose was included with my motor.
It does vibrate a bit, but not more than I would expect from a small single cylinder motor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

15hp nissan electric start

Date:September 20, 2014
Well hats off to Cabela's went there Sat. AM at the Woodbury store to look at outboards been looking for awhile now decided on the Nissan little cheaper then Mercury and they come with a 5 YR warranty. the guys at prepped put it on my boat and went through everything for me and ran it as well. Now I need to get it in the water ill let you know how it goes!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nofunyet

Date:March 14, 2014
well have worked hart to go fishing in my lonestar boat,have had two bad 4 hp moters now going to upgrade 9.6 hp so far it is very smothe and is running great on the brake in , soon will take to the river, thanks to cabalas ,no problem yet just the waite, hope no problums, don't even except a moter don't work right , one vibrated the boat very bad, the 2nd vibrated, almost as bad even the handle was hard to hold on to, and was hard to start , two out of three times, and only had half throddle, run ruff,this the 4 hp ,good service from mc cabals staff in buda tx,thanks for the hat for the waite,and standing for a long time,let you know on the new moter soon, as I take to the river and final be able to catch a nice big bass are catfish with my wife who is not happy as I am ,of course I like to go to the store , I could live in there for weeks and I don't even think they know I was there, it is so big , be like camping in the wild,i recommend this product of cabalas because of the return , rights
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nissan 9.8 "long shaft"

Date:March 12, 2014
I purchased this motor 3 yrs ago and have been using it to push my 15 ft bass boat. Great motor... Basically the same as a MERC for less. The only problem I had was the carb gumming up from "bad gas". had to pay $$$ out of pocket for a carb rebuild/cleaning. If you add a quality stabilizer ( I use CRC phase guard 4) you should be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Motor

Date:July 8, 2013
Just bought the 20 hp short shaft for my inflatable. Started right up out of the box. Been running it 3-4 hours so far. It runs like a fine Swiss watch. Starts in a couple of pulls every time. Very quiet. Probably the best motor I ever had and I've had them since the 1960's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i love this motor

Date:April 16, 2013
I love this motor
this is the best outboard I ever had good power on 12 foot alum craft planes out and is fast easy to start and reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Motor

Date:March 25, 2013
Both myself and my father purchased Nissan 4-stroke motors years ago in the 15 HP long shaft model and they have performed flawlessly! Smooth, (never had vibration issues) quiet, economical and reliable. No mechanical issues whatsoever. They start and run every time. Love this motor and always get comments like "wow that sure is a quiet motor". One motor has been on the water for I believe 12 years and one for ten years. LOVE them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: T.A.WV.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST PURCHASE EVER

Date:January 11, 2012
easy on fuel , used less an 5 gallons of gas on a 7 day fishing trip in canada. trolled the whole time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disaqppointed

Date:December 24, 2011
Live in NJ where very little freshwater can be fished with a gas outboard. Found the 4 hp on Cabela's at the right price in March. Set it up to test it in July a barrel. Started and ran great. Brought it up to Maine with my 11 year old son to use on out annual fishing trip on a small aluminum boat the next week. The motor would start when cold but once warm would not restart for about an hour. Since we were in Northern Maine there were no authorized service dealers close. Needless to say this had a serious negative impact on our trip. Have not yet taken it in for service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works as advertised

Date:July 14, 2011
After much debate, looking at used versus new, I finally decided to just buy a new motor for my new 14ft Jon Boat which I also bought at Cabela's. I ordered the 8hp and did an in-store pick up and it arrived in less that two weeks and packaged very nice. These new 4 stroke motors are bigger and heavier than the 8hp motors I knew as a kid. I prepped the motor myself since my local Cabela's will not do this (Boise Cabela's is a non boat center store). I put in the oil and used a garbage can full of water and it took a some time and effort for me to get it started for the first time which I figured because it was new out of the box. Took me about 35-40 pulls before I got it to start. Ran it at idle for the recommended idle break-in period. Then did not touch the motor again for a couple weeks until last night, the night before I was to take it out for the first time. Fired it up again using the garbage can full of water and it started after the second or third pull. Ran it for about 20 minutes varying the speeds and placing it in forward and reverse. Took it out for the first time today on the lake and it fired right up on the first pull with the choke out. Ran it all morning at various speeds all over the lake with no problems. I did notice some vibration and took note as I had read other posts about vibration. I did not think it was any worse than my previous experiences with other motors I have used or borrowed. My motor is black which is the color I prefer, but I notice on this web page they are shown in blue. As of now I am very happy with the motor, there is still more recommended break-in hours to go. I guess only time will tell after numerous trips and seasons. I am happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cleveland, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20hp Manual Start ~ Quality, yet Economical

Date:July 20, 2010
I purchased the 20hp manual start 15" shaft to add to my collection of outboards for our Quebec fishing trips. I also own a newer Yamaha 25hp 2-stroke and a mid-'90's Evinrude 15hp 2-stroke. This is my first 4-stroke and I was surprised how powerful it is compared to a 2-stroke. On my 14ft alum fishing boat with two 250lb people it would do 23mph. Same setup with my Yamaha 25hp is 26mph and with the Evinrude 15hp is 18mph. It only uses a little more than 1/2 the gas that my 25hp 2-stroke uses.
The build quality of the Nissan 20hp seems to be excellent, yet economical. It doesn't seem like they cut corners. Only things I noticed how they save $ is on exterior nuts/bolts. On my Yamaha & Evinrude most exterior hardware is painted to blend in with the motors. On the Nissan, the hardware is not painted.
Some reviews complained of severe vibration. There is a noticeable vibration at a little more than an idle, but it seems to be normal. Otherwise the vibration is the same or less than my 2-strokes.
I am very happy with my 20hp motor and will recommend Nissan to anyone who wants a quality motor and wants to save $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nisson 6 HP

Date:June 23, 2010
Vibrates a tad more than expected. Getting use to carburated engine again, i.e., starts, runs, quits. Seems to loose pressure at priming bulb. Just coming out of break-in period (10 Hours), and appears to be running more smoothly. Pushes a Lund Alaskan around pretty good. Put it on my new Rebel and it clears the big motor while turning. Overall happy, shipping fast, delivered right to my door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NSF9.8 nissan outboard

Date:March 3, 2010
awsome motor! I put the Nissan 9.8 LS 20" on my 16ft Aluma drifty for the Sandy/clackamas, and it pushed it nicely. Super quiet and ran smooth super strong and way lighter than I expected, After all it's a Tohatsu and Tohatsu makes Mercury under 30hp! Same exact motor just rebadged! so you win both ways. Cabelas did it again I got it shipped to my door for way under what I could have got it for around here, not to mention the price of a Merc! Thanks Cabelas for the great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine product, great Cabelas support

Date:September 30, 2009
I ordered the 9.8 Nissan 4-stroke. It arrived with a broken casing. Cabelas' support told me to ship it back (at no cost) and shipped me a new one (at no cost). The casing damage was cosmetic, really, and could have been replaced for a few dollars. But Cabelas wanted to assure me of no future problems. They shipped me a new motor that runs like a charm: smooth, quiet, easy to start, very efficient on gas.
I'm amazed at Cabelas' customer support, the best of any company I've ever ordered from on the Internet. And that's a lot of companies. I tip my hat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nissan 4-Stroke 20 hp Outboard

Date:August 17, 2009
Excellent product in workmanship, economy, and ease of use. The engine used a gallon and a half of fuel in about six hours of break-in and fishing. The controls are well placed, intuitive, and easy to use. I have this outboard on a 12.5 foot Sea Eagle inflatable and it looks to be a very good match.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Maine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nissan Marine 4 hp motor

Date:June 18, 2009
I'd give the 4hp Nissan outboard a poor rating and Cabella's a high rating for their return policy. I could not get the motor to start, and after about an hour of trying / resting tried starting up with the throttle open (I know this is NOT recommended). In short the motor did start, jumped into forward and we flipped the canoe. I did all the remedial stuff like drying everything out, replacing the oil several times and replacing the fuel...and again it would not start so I returned it to my nearest Cabella's. I now have another brand and am very happy with it. Ease of starting is important to me as I guide clients in the summer for fishing trips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

15 hp electric start

Date:June 3, 2009
DO NOT GET THIS MOTOR.
The only good thing I can say about this motor is that it is fuel efficient (but I'm sure other small 4 stroke motors are just as fuel efficient). This motor is rough and vibrates A LOT... it is worst than my old 1987 8 hp Johnson 2-stroke.
Bought this motor June of 2008 and was very unsatisfied... would've returned it if I didn't accidentally burn the cover (just cosmetic) from welding work on the transom. It had electrical issues after the 3rd month, and has always been hard to start as motor always flooded... dealer has cleaned the carbs and replaced CD pack so hopefully no more down time... still wish I would've gotten something else.
SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND GET SOMETHING ELSE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nissan

Date:June 1, 2009
I haven't had time or opportunity to remve it from the box. I did open the box and look it over. Everything seemed to look intact.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nissan 6 HP 4-Stroke 15"

Date:May 19, 2009
I bought the engine for my 14' portabote, which could handle up to 9.8hp. I chose the 6hp because it was the most weight I wanted to carry around; moving around the truck bed and storing under a 3' crawl space.
I've run it for about 6 1/2 hours, still in the break in period. The first ten minutes, I ran it in a tub of water on idle and slow trolling speed. It started on the second pull and ran great. After that, I ran it for one day out in the water, adhering to the break in instructions. The inital start was multiple pulls. It started right away but I pushed in the choke too soon and stalled. It then took about 15 minutes to start. Once it started, it ran great all day and started on the first or second pull. I'm hoping that getting it initally started was a one time experience.
It is able to run very slow for a good troll. It also pushes the portabote very well at high speeds, faster than I expected. It vibrates a little more than expected, but I got used to it. I really like the shallow water feature. It made it very easy to move the portabote, which displaces 4" of water in and out of a gradual shoreline without bumping the motor on the bottom.
I ran the motor all day on about a 1/4 tank!
My crawl space is too low to store the motor upright on the motor carrier, so I need to lay it down on the handle side, per the instructions, as to not to leak oil.
In all, I'm very pleased with the motor so far. I do recommend a motor carrier to move it around and to keep the motor stable when transporting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Raleigh NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nissan four stroke 20 HP motor

Date:February 16, 2009
Recently, I purchased a Nissan 20 HP 4 stroke motor. I just used it for the first time and it performed to my expections. I was very pleased with it's performance and how fast it pushed my boat on the lake. It started almost immediately and was very quiet. I'm looking forward to my next trip out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 86