Customer Reviews for NISSAN MARINE Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors

NISSAN MARINE Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors

If you’re looking for quiet, smooth operation with superior fuel efficiency and extremely low emissions levels, the Nissan four-stroke is the answer. Even running wide open, these motors typically use less than one-half gallon of fuel per hour. They meet all EPA standards for 2008 and boast thermostatically controlled cooling systems. For your small boat or kicker motor needs, it’s tough to find an outboard that competes with the performance, power and reliability of Nissan marine. All Nissan outboards are equipped with premium, heavy-duty crankshafts, bearings, connecting rods and pistons. Nissan’s five-layer corrosion protection - successive layers of zinc chromate primer and a durable enamel finish that inhibits corrosion in the harshest marine conditions - now includes clearcoat. Standard CD electronic ignition gives lightning-fast starts. Through-the-prop exhaust system makes them quiet running, while the corrosion- resistant stainless steel water pump housing ensures clean, even cycling. All models 4hp and above include forward, neutral and reverse gears, easy-to-control tiller handles, and aluminum propellers. The 2.5hp and 3.5hp models feature 360° steering with forward and neutral gears. Safety-stop switch and lanyard-mounted cutoff switch are standard. 2.5hp and 3.5hp come standard with composite propellers. If weight is one of your major concerns, Nissan’s featherweight 8hp and 9.8hp outboards make no compromise when it comes to the dependable operation Nissan has become famous for. Perfect for inflatables, jon boats and other small portable boats or as a kicker for larger boats, these four-strokes represent the lightest outboards in their class. Plus, a dynamically balanced crankshaft and upper rubber mounts reduce vibration for smooth, stable running, and a large-capacity air silencer reduces induction noise to create a quiet ride. All motors are tiller steering. Outboard motors may not be returned. Items needing repair should be returned to an authorized service center for repair under manufacturer warranty guideline.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
83 out of 90(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Review 1 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2015

so far so good

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Well I got the motor late In the summer I had a 6hp evinrude it was ok for pushing my 14' aluminum boat but I wanted bigger so I got the Nissan 15hp electric start got a battery and set in up. Cabela's set it up and mounted it for me on my boat what a deal. Got it to the water and it started right up push button start sooo nice.
It does have a manual pull start I have yet to try. So it's works so far cant wait to get it out more this year as I got it later in the year last year still in the break in period but going full out this year. my opinion Nissan is a good motor so far and a 5yr warranty cant go wrong
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Great deal

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Super engine for a good price, perfect for my Lowe boat previously purchased from Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2014

Starting problems

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
If your brand new motor is not running well, or not starting easy, locate the brass plug on the carb and drill it out. Use caution when doing this. This is the fuel/air adjustment. Turn this screw out about two turns. After that, you will have to turn down the idle adjustment slightly. Your new motor should run much better after this is done. Don't drill trough the plug. Just enough for it to spin out. It is just press fit over the fuel/air adjustment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014

Had some issues during break in

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
It had some issues when i first got the motor. It was very difficult to start many, many, many pulls. but think it was the gas( i was using Safeway regular grade gas with a marine stabilizer). A friend told me to try Premium gas from Shell or Chevron before i take it back. So i did and it seemed to fix the problem. after the break in period was over i have not had the issue since. It starts 1-3 pulls every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014

4 hp short shaft

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I saw a lot of bad reviews on the 4hp model.
I Bought one in the fall of 2013 and have been using it on a regular basis without any trouble save one thing: the internal tank doesn't have a way to prime the fuel system effectively
I haven't had any trouble running it off a remote tank, but if you run the system dry on the internal tank, it is hard to get fuel to the carb initially just off the internal tank..
Anyhow, I have been running it on an external tank with no problems at all. Just prime the system with the remote primer bulb first. It takes a standard Mercury fitting and you have to set the fuel valve at the side of the motor to the remote tank setting. It is very reliable when running off the remote, one or two pull starts every time. no external tank or hose was included with my motor.
It does vibrate a bit, but not more than I would expect from a small single cylinder motor
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2014

15hp nissan electric start

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Well hats off to Cabela's went there Sat. AM at the Woodbury store to look at outboards been looking for awhile now decided on the Nissan little cheaper then Mercury and they come with a 5 YR warranty. the guys at prepped put it on my boat and went through everything for me and ran it as well. Now I need to get it in the water ill let you know how it goes!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2014

nofunyet

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
well have worked hart to go fishing in my lonestar boat,have had two bad 4 hp moters now going to upgrade 9.6 hp so far it is very smothe and is running great on the brake in , soon will take to the river, thanks to cabalas ,no problem yet just the waite, hope no problums, don't even except a moter don't work right , one vibrated the boat very bad, the 2nd vibrated, almost as bad even the handle was hard to hold on to, and was hard to start , two out of three times, and only had half throddle, run ruff,this the 4 hp ,good service from mc cabals staff in buda tx,thanks for the hat for the waite,and standing for a long time,let you know on the new moter soon, as I take to the river and final be able to catch a nice big bass are catfish with my wife who is not happy as I am ,of course I like to go to the store , I could live in there for weeks and I don't even think they know I was there, it is so big , be like camping in the wild,i recommend this product of cabalas because of the return , rights
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

Nissan 9.8 "long shaft"

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this motor 3 yrs ago and have been using it to push my 15 ft bass boat. Great motor... Basically the same as a MERC for less. The only problem I had was the carb gumming up from "bad gas". had to pay $$$ out of pocket for a carb rebuild/cleaning. If you add a quality stabilizer ( I use CRC phase guard 4) you should be fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2013

Great Motor

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just bought the 20 hp short shaft for my inflatable. Started right up out of the box. Been running it 3-4 hours so far. It runs like a fine Swiss watch. Starts in a couple of pulls every time. Very quiet. Probably the best motor I ever had and I've had them since the 1960's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

i love this motor

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I love this motor
this is the best outboard I ever had good power on 12 foot alum craft planes out and is fast easy to start and reliable
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013

Great Motor

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Both myself and my father purchased Nissan 4-stroke motors years ago in the 15 HP long shaft model and they have performed flawlessly! Smooth, (never had vibration issues) quiet, economical and reliable. No mechanical issues whatsoever. They start and run every time. Love this motor and always get comments like "wow that sure is a quiet motor". One motor has been on the water for I believe 12 years and one for ten years. LOVE them!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

BEST PURCHASE EVER

By
Location: T.A.WV.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
easy on fuel , used less an 5 gallons of gas on a 7 day fishing trip in canada. trolled the whole time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2011

Disaqppointed

By
Location: NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Live in NJ where very little freshwater can be fished with a gas outboard. Found the 4 hp on Cabela's at the right price in March. Set it up to test it in July a barrel. Started and ran great. Brought it up to Maine with my 11 year old son to use on out annual fishing trip on a small aluminum boat the next week. The motor would start when cold but once warm would not restart for about an hour. Since we were in Northern Maine there were no authorized service dealers close. Needless to say this had a serious negative impact on our trip. Have not yet taken it in for service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2011

Works as advertised

By
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After much debate, looking at used versus new, I finally decided to just buy a new motor for my new 14ft Jon Boat which I also bought at Cabela's. I ordered the 8hp and did an in-store pick up and it arrived in less that two weeks and packaged very nice. These new 4 stroke motors are bigger and heavier than the 8hp motors I knew as a kid. I prepped the motor myself since my local Cabela's will not do this (Boise Cabela's is a non boat center store). I put in the oil and used a garbage can full of water and it took a some time and effort for me to get it started for the first time which I figured because it was new out of the box. Took me about 35-40 pulls before I got it to start. Ran it at idle for the recommended idle break-in period. Then did not touch the motor again for a couple weeks until last night, the night before I was to take it out for the first time. Fired it up again using the garbage can full of water and it started after the second or third pull. Ran it for about 20 minutes varying the speeds and placing it in forward and reverse. Took it out for the first time today on the lake and it fired right up on the first pull with the choke out. Ran it all morning at various speeds all over the lake with no problems. I did notice some vibration and took note as I had read other posts about vibration. I did not think it was any worse than my previous experiences with other motors I have used or borrowed. My motor is black which is the color I prefer, but I notice on this web page they are shown in blue. As of now I am very happy with the motor, there is still more recommended break-in hours to go. I guess only time will tell after numerous trips and seasons. I am happy with this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2010

20hp Manual Start ~ Quality, yet Economical

By
Location: Cleveland, OH
I purchased the 20hp manual start 15" shaft to add to my collection of outboards for our Quebec fishing trips. I also own a newer Yamaha 25hp 2-stroke and a mid-'90's Evinrude 15hp 2-stroke. This is my first 4-stroke and I was surprised how powerful it is compared to a 2-stroke. On my 14ft alum fishing boat with two 250lb people it would do 23mph. Same setup with my Yamaha 25hp is 26mph and with the Evinrude 15hp is 18mph. It only uses a little more than 1/2 the gas that my 25hp 2-stroke uses.
The build quality of the Nissan 20hp seems to be excellent, yet economical. It doesn't seem like they cut corners. Only things I noticed how they save $ is on exterior nuts/bolts. On my Yamaha & Evinrude most exterior hardware is painted to blend in with the motors. On the Nissan, the hardware is not painted.
Some reviews complained of severe vibration. There is a noticeable vibration at a little more than an idle, but it seems to be normal. Otherwise the vibration is the same or less than my 2-strokes.
I am very happy with my 20hp motor and will recommend Nissan to anyone who wants a quality motor and wants to save $.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010

Nisson 6 HP

By
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Vibrates a tad more than expected. Getting use to carburated engine again, i.e., starts, runs, quits. Seems to loose pressure at priming bulb. Just coming out of break-in period (10 Hours), and appears to be running more smoothly. Pushes a Lund Alaskan around pretty good. Put it on my new Rebel and it clears the big motor while turning. Overall happy, shipping fast, delivered right to my door.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2010

NSF9.8 nissan outboard

By
awsome motor! I put the Nissan 9.8 LS 20" on my 16ft Aluma drifty for the Sandy/clackamas, and it pushed it nicely. Super quiet and ran smooth super strong and way lighter than I expected, After all it's a Tohatsu and Tohatsu makes Mercury under 30hp! Same exact motor just rebadged! so you win both ways. Cabelas did it again I got it shipped to my door for way under what I could have got it for around here, not to mention the price of a Merc! Thanks Cabelas for the great deal!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009

Fine product, great Cabelas support

By
I ordered the 9.8 Nissan 4-stroke. It arrived with a broken casing. Cabelas' support told me to ship it back (at no cost) and shipped me a new one (at no cost). The casing damage was cosmetic, really, and could have been replaced for a few dollars. But Cabelas wanted to assure me of no future problems. They shipped me a new motor that runs like a charm: smooth, quiet, easy to start, very efficient on gas.
I'm amazed at Cabelas' customer support, the best of any company I've ever ordered from on the Internet. And that's a lot of companies. I tip my hat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

Nissan 4-Stroke 20 hp Outboard

By
Location: Wyoming
Excellent product in workmanship, economy, and ease of use. The engine used a gallon and a half of fuel in about six hours of break-in and fishing. The controls are well placed, intuitive, and easy to use. I have this outboard on a 12.5 foot Sea Eagle inflatable and it looks to be a very good match.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nissan Marine Four-Stroke Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009

Nissan Marine 4 hp motor

By
Location: Maine.
I'd give the 4hp Nissan outboard a poor rating and Cabella's a high rating for their return policy. I could not get the motor to start, and after about an hour of trying / resting tried starting up with the throttle open (I know this is NOT recommended). In short the motor did start, jumped into forward and we flipped the canoe. I did all the remedial stuff like drying everything out, replacing the oil several times and replacing the fuel...and again it would not start so I returned it to my nearest Cabella's. I now have another brand and am very happy with it. Ease of starting is important to me as I guide clients in the summer for fishing trips.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 90