Customer Reviews for KL INDUSTRIES Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat

KL INDUSTRIES Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat

With this serious small-water fishing machine, you can fish those secluded bass holes that would tear up a big expensive rig, yet still enjoy many of the amenities found on a full-size boat. Elevated casting decks in the bow and stern support two padded swivel seats. Underneath are large storage compartments, an aerated livewell, built-in cooler, and a battery compartment. It even comes pre-wired for a bow-mount electric motor. Includes bow and running lights, and has a boatload of other fishing-friendly features. Fused control panel keeps all wiring in check. UV-stabilized polyethylene tri-hull is rugged and super stable. Not recommended for 4-cycle motors over 8hp. Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat Length Beam Capacity Max hp 11'3" 60" 649 lbs. 15
Overall Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Review 1 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2015

4 3/4 Stars

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Ok, tried it out, great boat for the money,,,,,,
Some observations
1) The bow mount for the trolling motor needs to be like the rear mount, better support
2) The floor has ridges for support but is hard to stand on
3) When connecting a trolling motor in the rear and using the battery compartment for hook up, the wire need to come out of the top of the compartment, thus not allowing the lid to close completely
4) You have to fill the live well by hand
5) The trailer should include a jack stand
All in all this a great boat, and these issues can be easily fixed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2014

OK PURCHASE

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought the boat and trailer package and received it in early July this year. I don't know why no one has complained about the areated livewell system in this boat. It must be filled manually from a bucket to be carried in an already limited space in a small boat. It would be so easy for the manufacteror to install a typical bass boat livewell system while building the boat with a timer and all. They already have a circulating pump installed inside the livewell with a large hole drilled through it for the wiring harness near the top where water will leak through into the bilge while running on plane if it is very full. This is my only complaint. Other than that it is a very nice , stable small boat. I feel the livewell system could be greatly improved for minimal to no extra cost during manufactor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Pro 120 / Great little Boat !

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This small boat is exceptionally stable. We have been on Canada's beautiful lakes
for about 15 years and have withstood 24 to 30 inch waves. (with caution)
The double hull boat "floats" over the waves rather then bog down through them.
People walk up to the boat scratching their head in curiosity wondering
what it is ! Our humor is the nickname we have around camp. The "floating bathtub"
I weigh about 230 and my girl is about 110. We carry the usual fishing gear and refreshments.
We have an 8 horse Yamaha and tried a 15 horse (factory spec) last year.
The boat gets up and planes quick.
Its a lot of fun and without expense !
Its a keeper !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014

Great Boat and Trailer!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the Pro 120 Feb 1st from Cabela's. It was shipped to the store and their great staff assembled the trailer and put the finishing touches on the Pro 120. The Cabela's staff was great from beginning to end! Brought the 120 home Mar 8th... and it sat in my garage until the ice melted. This wasn't a bad thing... it gave me time to buy the small items needed. During this boating hiatus, I got familar with the 120. It's a great boat! Compartments, roomy, and great seating! I finally took it out last weekend for it's launching and I wasn't disappointed. It handled well and it was a true pleasure to fish from it's comfortable setting. A Mercury 6HP 4Stroke is placed on the back... more than enough power. The front has a 50lb thrust Minn Kota to troll. It's also easy to get in and out of the water with the trailer by yourself. You won't regret purchasing this boat!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2013

Pro Dolphin 120 - Quality for a great price!

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this bassboat and trailer in Spring of 2012. You will not find another boat that comes close to this one for the money. Easy for one person to handle. Don't even need a gas motor. Mounted trolling motor up front, reversed the head. Purchased it from Cabelas. Store personnel went above and beyond in every way to assist. Plenty of room for two anglers. Livewell, storage, pre-wired. What else could you ask for. Turn-key operation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2012

good, not great - met expectations

By
Location: Orangeburg SC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this boat in 2009, and have kept it on a trailer in my garage. I have used it about 12 times since purchase. Basically it has met my expectations. The electric motor mount on the bow was too flexible to use initially. When I attached my MinnKota 35lb motor to the mount, the powerhead would lift out of the water as the plastic mount flexed backward under the strain. I reported this problem to the manufacturer, and to their credit they promptly sent me an aluminum sleeve to drop over the mount which provided some added integrity. The aluminum sleeve was not wide enough, as the motors clamps were teetering on the edges, but it was a sufficient fix, albeit not optimal. A few other issues: the 50 amp glass barrel fuse in the vicinity of the battery hook-up blew, and I was unable to find a like replacement at ANY hardware store, and so I ended up having to wire around it. No problems thus far with that. The wood screws that secure the hatch hinges are puny, and have a habit of prying off… I wish they would have used flush mount bolts instead of small wood screws. The rear scupper (above the bilge drain) is mounted too far above the floor of the boat, allowing a significant amount of water to accumulate before it bails. I wish this drain was flush with the floor (yet still far enough above the water-line) so that the boat would self bail. The floor is kind of soft and flexible; I would have preferred a more rigid surface to walk on. The foam/velcro rod-holders that come with the boat are not for use while fishing, they are designed to lie two rods flat on the boats deck – and will only work if your rod is the right shape/size. I attached a rod holder to each aluminum handrail, and discovered that the rails are not very sturdy. They wiggle around quite a bit, and to be candid have led me to believe that the rails are there only for cosmetic purposes. All toll however this boat is sufficient, and meets expectations. I prefer it to an Alumacraft Jon Boat (my other option in this price range) because of the internal wiring, the superior compartment spaces, and the convenient decks in the stern and bow. I have had no major structural issues with the craft. It runs nicely with my Yamaha 4HP 4cycle outboard, although @4HP there is insufficient thrust to get on plane. One thought that I would share is that 2K for the boat, 600 for the trailer, and 1200 for the outboard, 200 for the trolling motor, plus various expenses for the rod holders, battery, etc… I am well North of 4K – I probably could have scored a decent used bass boat for that on Craig’s list. Just a thought. Overall I would recommend this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2012

Best Mini Bass Boat In The World

By
This boat is the world's best mini bass boat. The Sun Dolphin Pro 120 comes with all the things you need to slam bass all day long at little or big lakes. The boat can handle up to 15hp so you dont go so slow you get bored with it. The two casting decks have more then enough room. The back deck has a battery box and a big livewell to store all your keepers. The front deck has three compartments with one usually being cooler and the others being tackle storage. Under the front deck is a perfect spot to put your tackle box or life preservors. The boat comes with a rod holder so your poles do not bounce of during travel. It has a control panel so you dont have to go to each electric component to turn it on. The boat is very stable and is super hard to flip(never done it). This boat has plenty of room for two people and all the gear. It also has a very big cabin space for geaar/life jackets/tackle/anything you need. Buy the boat and you will not regret it at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2010

What a geat deal

By
Location: LLano, Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
First of all dealing with Cabelas has been and hope to continue be a great experience. Services with KL Industry was excelent over the phone. I've had this boat for three seasons and never regret a moment of it. More room than my grandson and I need. For small Lakes this is the boat you will require. Try it you will enjoy it. Mini Kota (36) and 5hp Briggs and stratton is all you need. Lest go fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2009

out standing boat

By
Of all the small boats I have owned and fished out of this is by far the best there is. My fishing partner and I fish several tournaments a year, we use a large fiberglass boat on big lakes and rivers. When it comes to restricted horsepower lakes we use the sun Dolphin. It will outrun any other boat on the lake! With two men and our gear it will run 23 mph with a 15 hp mercury. We can both stand and fish all day with no stability problems. The only thing we give up using the "plastic boat is space. I have used this boat for three seasons and have not found any problems.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2008

Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Jon Boat

By
Location: Eastern PA
Eastern PA is full of small lakes, many don't allow outboards.
Instead of an inflateable or regular row/jon boat, I wanted a bass boat. My Honda will only tow 1000 pounds though, so I bought this "mini bass boat". What a great product! All the features of a big boat, low cost, easy to trailer. Great quality and fun to fish from with all day comfort on those raised padded seats. My Minn Kota 36 pushes it great, haven't tried my old Merc 110 on it yet, but it should plain it off for traveling the bigger lakes. Lots of great features and conveniences, this is the real thing. Very stable and plenty of room for two fisherman. Cabela's needs to post the specs on the trailer; it is first class. 12" wheels, bearing buddies, good lights and easy to assemble. K&L has been first class to deal with on all paperwork necessary to license boat and trailer and any questions. You can get nice cover from them too; Cabelas should offer more accessories with this boat.
If you need a small boat, or can't get a bigger more expensive boat; this is the ticket. First class all the way!
I am so glad I bought it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2008

Sun Dolphin

By
Location: Marsh Creek, Pa.
The boat is well made for being a plastic haul. It is very easy to move on and off the trailer. The storage and live well come in handy. Cons: The battery box is only designed for one battery. I used a heat gun to enlarge the box to fit a second battery. The Dolphin also has tubing for running electrical wire from the battery box to the front compartment came in handy wiring a second fuse box and fish finder. I use a 30lb minn kota trolling motor, which is a little underpowered in medium wind. Very stable and very kid friendly.
Nice package for electric only lakes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2007

Great little boat

By
Location: California Delta
I have a Pro 120 fishing boat. I fish around marinas in the california delta. I love this boat. Good for two people, better for one. It has most of the features you will need. I have a foot controlled Minn Kota on the front and a 6hp Nissan at the rear. Tried the Briggs 5hp, not enough power, hard to shift.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2007

A great fishing package

By
Location: Chambersburg, Pa.
Purchased this package in March of 2005 and added the Endora 46 reconditioned to it. The boat is easy to launch and reloaded, our ponds here have shallow ramps which can be a problem. The trailer is very easy to haul and has been a pleasure. Recently I added a Classic "1955" Johnson 10 HP. The boat has so many features that you would only expect to find on a much more expensive boat. The only down side is that so many times while fishing or launching I have had people come over to me and want to see the boat. More than pleased with the products purchased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sun Dolphin Pro 120 Fishing Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2006

Great for little lakes

By
Location: Peachtree City, GA
I live in a town that has two electric only lakes with several other electric only lakes in neighboring communities. I pull the boat/trailer with my golf cart (one lake is only 1 mile from the house) as well as our mini-van. Easy for one person to load and offload from the trailer. We use one storage area for a cooler, and the others for storing tackle, coats, etc.
Only complaint is that the back deck is a little tight for standing and casting. I built a small extension that fits in the center area to give me/kids/friends more back deck area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.