Customer Reviews for HAWKEYE Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder

HAWKEYE Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder

Switch on the compact unit, toss the floating sonar sensor into the water and you'll have instant depth, fish, weed and bottom-contour readings in the palm of your hand. Includes 35 ft. of cable with tie strap. SoftGlow™ backlit display measures 1.5"W x 1.8"H and has a polarized LCD icon readout. WeedID™ programming accurately depicts weed height. ShootThru™ sonar technology obtains readings through boat hulls and ice. Ultra-wide 45° sonar beam angle. Sonar sensor SideScan™ adapter gives readings under docks, ice, etc. Easy two-button programming with quick-reference guide. Updates depth four times per second in feet or meters. Water-resistant housing. Runs for 20 hours on four AAA batteries (not included). Includes storage bag, neck strap and pivoting LCD protector/display stand. Measures: 1.5"H x 2.8"W x 4.3"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Review 1 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2011

Save your money

By
Location: Redmond, Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this for use on my pontoon boat and the depth readings are very inconsistent. Over the same spot readings will jump up and down by as much as 50'. It seems to constantly go into sleep mode after just a minute or so.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010

Happy!

By
Location: Victoria, Kansas
I have fished Kansas lakes for years using a float tube and fishing for walleye and crappie. I can cover several miles of water in one day and have always wished I had some way of knowing the depth. The Hwakeye works perfectly for depth readings. The fish images are just a bonus. I love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

good for ice fishing

By
Location: OH
i tried this unit out for the first time today and i will say it worked pretty well. when placed in the water it gave a reasonably accurate depth for the pond i was at and when it indicated there was cover on the bottom, sure enough my underwater camera confirmed there really was a rock pile down there. i would really give this product 4.5 stars because i could not get it to work through the ice as advertised, but i also noticed there were bubbles in the ice that would screw up the sonar. that pond was definately not 65.7 feet deep as it said through the ice! once in the water though it gave the correct 5 feet, so unless you have perfect ice you will have to drill a hole to get a good reading.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

I was disappointed

By
Location: Ottawa, ON
Went out ice fishing for Lake Trout, I was able to get readings for two times only and that was it. I was in shallow water at that time, so it was pretty much under 30ft of water.
The day was quite cold so I'm not sure if the low temp was causing fishfinder to stall on me.
I was also having trouble disconnecting cable from the finder itself.
Overall, very cheap product and definitely not worth buying.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

Limited but Useful

By
Location: Upstate Illinois
I used the Hawkeye on a fairly large Eastern Wisconsin lake and was pleased with what it displayed. While drift fishing, the depth feature is useful as are the structure, weed and relative fish depth indication. It is easy to find drop-offs, shelf edges and such. The 100ft limit is a pain in a lake setting like this where depth drops to over 200ft, but I knew that limitation going in. As long as you don't expect it to work like a graph or chart fishfinder you will be satisfied. It doesn't tell you how big the fish are or how deep. It tells you there is something swimming down there and it is at a depth that is 10, 20, 30, etc % scale of what the depth indicator says - so if you're in 50 ft of water and the fish icon triggers at fifty percent of scale, then the fish is around 25 feet. This unit showed me in no uncertain terms that I should have been deep trolling instead of tossing live bait rigs on the drift... Next time I will be better prepared for that lake - and I wouldn't have known without this handy little unit...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2009

Compact and Efficient

By
Location: Adirondack Mtns, NY
The Hawkeye is perfect for finding the depths and structure on remote trout ponds. Light and compact, good battery life. The only thing I would change would be to shorten the transducer cable to 6 or 8 foot. 30 foot leaves a lot of cable that is not necessary when fishing from a canoe. All in all its a great unit. I have talked with the folks at the factory and they seem like decent people that care about customer feedback.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

economic fish finder

By
Location: Adirondack Mountains, NY
OK, it works quite well and is inexpensive. The trade off is in functions. It tells you how deep the water is (to 100') and if there are fish, weeds or rocks/cover. The screen is NOT a direct representation of the bottom, it offers symbols which require interpretation. It's easy enought though. It only tells you that there are fish, not what size they are or how many. The size, ease of use, and reliability are all great. Just don't expect too many functions. Battery life has been good too. If I had my druthers, I'd spend a bit more on a unit which has more depth capacity (I've found I fish more places over 100' deep than I thought!), tells the rough size of the fish, and yields a more graphic depection of the bottom. A unit of this nature will be 2 or 3 times as expensive though. Anyway, for the money it works great. It's very easy to use from a canoe or small boat or dock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Easy to use and read

By
Location: San Diego, CA
As a first time user to fish finders this was the easiest to read and set up from out of the box. I really liked the readout showing the structure and weeds is really was most helpful in a new lake. It ran continued to run for over 7 hours on a single set of AAA batteries. Night fishing with the backlight was pretty sweet as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2009

Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder a good deal.

By
Location: Southern New Jersey
The fishfinder was exactly what I had been thinking of getting for years. You don't need a boat, but if you have one it works either way. I had a problem opening the battery cover and didn't want to break it. I e-mailed the manufacturer and received a reply within 24 hours. The info was good. I defiantly recommend this product. Keep up the good work. By the way, I know know the fishing hole in the creek next door is 13 ft. deep. Always wanted to know, but didn't want to get wet finding out:)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2009

Hawkeye Fishfinder

By
Location: Cold Lake, Alberta
An absolute must for the avid ice fisherman as it is small, easy to handle and beats packing a big fishfinder/battery combination out on the ice with all the other gear you have to have. The "Shoot through ice" feature saves a lot of unneccesary drilling only to find mud on your auger tip or no fish in the area. A great piece of fishing kit!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009

Hawkeye handheld fishfinder

By
Location: New england
The Hawkeye portable fishfinder work much better than expected for the price. I used it primarily for ice fishing. It work extremely well . I was able to locate schools of perch, crappie as well as find trout and tell what depth they were at. It saved a lot of time as well assisted in catching a lot of fish this winter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009

fish finders

By
Location: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
The hawkeye fish finders work well. Cabela's went out of their way to find me what I was looking for...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hawkeye Portable Fishfinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2008

hawkeye protable fishfisnder

By
Location: Anderson, IN (several area lakes near-by)
EXCELLENT!! HAVE USED TWICE ONLY, BUT RESOLUTIN IS GOOD, HADBEEN HELPFUL IN ALL OF THE FUNCTIONS. PRICE IS VERY ACCOMODATING. CAN USE BANK FISHING OR FROM A BOAT. THANKS!!!
M. KING
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.