Customer Reviews for INTEX Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

INTEX Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

Built of two layers of Super-Tough™ PVC vinyl laminated to an inner layer of polyester mesh, the Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat is one of the strongest and most durable inflatables ever. The keel rock guard adds extra dependability and the heavy duty, extruded plastic flooring and inflatable keel deliver superior stability and rigidity. The interior features a gear pouch, battery pouch, motor-mount fittings, two rod holders, two welded-on and rotational oarlocks, two grab handles on each bow and an all-around grab line. Two Boston valves make inflating/deflating quick and easy. Includes a set of 54" aluminum oars, a high-output pump and a repair patch kit. Available: Three-Person Boat – 117"L x 50"W x 18"D. Wt. capacity: 790 lbs. Two inflatable seat cushions.  Four-Person Boat – 130"L x 56"W x 18-1/2"D. Wt. capacity: 880 lbs. Three inflatable seat cushions.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Review 1 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Boat but poor equiptment

Date:September 8, 2013
I wasn't very pleased to find out that the repair kit does not come with glue (Due to shipping restrictions). I found this out the hard way after popping a raft on a small stick. We had to deflate it and hike all the way back to camp. Luckily I had some old glue to patch it. After patching the raft, we broke two oars. Other than that, its a good raft for the money. If you buy this, don't forget to buy glue and better oars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:December 12, 2012
Good Boat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Denver
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TOUGH, FUN, LIMITED CAPABILITES

Date:October 5, 2009
The Mariner was purchased with the intention of float fishing Canadian Rivers around Fernie, BC. We had several great days of fishing on the Elk River, but that was the only river in the area that the boat was capable of handling. All others were class 3/4 and too technical to safely float. This was not due to the raft itself, which is very tough and well built. The oars and the seats were poorly matched and worth a 1 or 2 star rating. Two people could "canoe paddle" more effectively than a single oarsman. On one occasion, I was swept into a fallen tree simply because the oars were ineffective. When we decided to wade around hazards while tethering the raft, we had a great time. Another negative is the size. This is advertized as a 4-person raft, which is nonsense. Two adults maximum.
Bottom line: a fine little raft at a good price.
Next summer I expect to use the raft on slower parts of the Colorado River and on lakes. I expect it will perform well there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mixed Feelings...

Date:July 14, 2009
First of all, Cabela's is awesome! No problems with them at all.
Now for the raft. I did a lot of online research before deciding on this product. It seemed to be everything I needed in an inflatable boat, and in range with what I was prepared to spend so I bought one. The item was brand new in a sealed box, in fine condition. I inflated the boat and put it in the water near my home only to find it had a leak in one of the main air chambers. I considered repairing the leak myself but decided to return the raft instead. Got a new one from Cabela's and was on my way.
I went to Boise a few days later and planned a leisurely float down the Boise River with the raft. Everything went pretty well except one of the oar locks broke early in our trip. This was frustrating but paddling without the oar locks proved more efficient anyway. On a positive note, this raft proved itself VERY tough indeed as we ran into several rocks, sharp tree roots, bridge trusses etc. on our way downstream. The river was traveling extremely fast, and in spite of our best efforts, we had several violent collisions. There were no structural problems with the raft at all. As far as the durability of the raft itself, I'd have to say it exceeded my expectations.
Today I decided to call Intex and have them replace the broken oar lock. I've had the craft for about 2 weeks now and I've only used it once. Naturally I assumed Intex would happily send me a replacement oar lock at no charge considering the circumstances. I was wrong. They will gladly send one but I have to pay for it. 3 and change for the part, plus 5-something for shipping. I explained the situation again to the customer service rep I spoke with and still got no sympathy. What I did get was an increasingly rude attitude and eventually hung up on. Long story short, Intex customer service is BAD! REAL BAD!
The raft is fairly reliable but I think I would pass on it if I had it to do again. There are probably better products out there for a bit more money. I'm pretty disappointed in Intex. It's too bad, because if they were even slightly apologetic about the defective parts I would probably still recommend this boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not a 4 person boat, but a wonderful boat

Date:July 26, 2010
My wife and I bought this for the price and we are very happy with it. We have two yellow labs and thought we might be able to go with them and us, but it was tight. It was doable, but we couldn't take any extra gear. This is not a knock on the boat at all, it's built very well and easily transported. The reason I'm giving it 4 stars and not 5 is simply due to the fact that there is no way 4 people could use this comfortably plus the oars are very cheap. I wish I could change them out for something a bit more robust, but the oar locks are too small.
Other than that it's great and we're actually buying a second one so we can both go with the dogs and our gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South Eastern PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stable Boat

Date:August 18, 2009
Wasn't sure what to expect from this inflatable, but it turned out to be better than I had hoped. Very stable, doesn't feel like a toy raft at all. Rigid Floor really works and makes it feel solid. I felt completely confident standing up (hunched over, of course) in this boat. With the inflatable keel, boat was fairly easy to handle and was so light it responded immediately to maneuvering.
4 adults in the Mariner 4 would be tight... but plenty of room for an adult and three kids or a mom and dad and two small kids.
Oars are too short. I knew that going into it just from the product description. But good oars will cost half of a 30-lb thrust trolling motor, so I will go that route instead of longer oars. The hull feels completely rigid enough to be able to handle the torsion a motor might inflict on it. And with how easy it was to scoot around with the mini oars supplied, 30lb thrust should be plenty.
At 85 pounds, the deflated and packed-into-the-duffle-bag boat is difficult to handle and takes up a fair amount of trunk space. I had to lug the boat by myself in the duffle a quarter mile and it was not easy. I'm not a big guy so maybe a larger person would find it easier. But I will avoid such an trek again, if possible.
I can't speak for durability yet; I've only had it a few months.
Overall, highly suggested for the casual boater who doesn't have the space to keep a canoe or johnboat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mariner review

Date:August 17, 2009
The boat is holding up great. I had it out 3x since I got it in Aug.. It's fun and enjoyable to be out on lakes and rivers, and this boat makes it easy to do. It takes me about 20-25 minutes to inflate w/ the pump they give. A short amount of time for the hours of fishing and fun it gives me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kenosha, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great raft

Date:July 30, 2009
I have used the raft about 30 times. It works great for my needs. 2 people and gear no problem. light weight. The seats are okay for leisure. but too low for fishing. I use larger size coolers for seats. works great and adds extra storage. The raft seems to be made of very tough material and have had no leaks yet. Set up is easy. I use a 36lb trolling motor and pushes with no problem. Inflatable keel helps for a pretty solid floor. You can stand up in the raft.
The flap that connects the cap to the keel valve broke, still works, just have to be careful not to lose cap. The oar operation could be a little better, esp. if a windy day.
Overall very happy with raft.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cambridge, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Is that an air leak???

Date:July 24, 2009
This raft was everything I expected. I fish a lot of reclaimed coal mining ground and most of the ponds/lakes are only reachable with a 4x4. So I put the raft in my jeep and head down the trail. Inflating takes about 10 minutes and two people fit comfortably while still carrying fishing gear. My only issue was when my wife dropped a blue gill while taking it off the hook and its dorsel fin puntured the side of the raft causing a pin hole air leak. The hole patched fine and I haven't had any problems since. I must add that I use this raft with a trolling motor as I found the oars to be almost useless when trying to manuever all day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Reading, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no doubt

Date:July 5, 2008
My girlfiend and I bought this boat because we live in an apartment in the city and we have no room for any other kind of boat. It is no doubt heavy-duty material and is not what you'd think when buying an inflatable. We've taken it out on a local river and a few large lakes and we have not been disappointed at all. I would recommend getting a cheap motor of some sort as the paddling can wear you out. Other than that, its really decent for the money. It's big, though I wouldnt recommend it for more than two people as you will likley be bringing fishing gear and food on your trip. I've already ridden this boat over rocks and stones in the Schuylkill River (PA) and I've had no problems. It packs away nice and neat (I actually just keep it in the trunk of my car thought it takes up my entire trunk) and I bought a $50 pump from Cabelas that pumps it up in no more than 10 minutes (for all chambers plus the seats!) Overall, a great buy for the money. I would definitely recommend this for those who dont have room for an actual boat, kayak, or canoe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

Date:August 20, 2013
I recommend this inflatable as a great boat for the price. It is nice and heavy duty. We only use it in small lakes. It handled the wind and was not difficult to maneuver . It claims 3 person but fits two more comfortably. It rolls up and fits back into the bag nicely, thow it took a couple times to get it down at first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Newfoundland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

Date:October 15, 2012
I am using the inflatable as a dingy on my 25 foot Cruiser. It stores nicely and can be inflated in minutes. I am impressed with the ruggyness of the construction and low cost compared to a towable dingy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tough boat

Date:May 16, 2010
I am very impressed with the mariner inflatable boat. I enjoy the quick and convenient inflatable/deflatable 4 chambers. The inflatable keel makes for great handling. I accidently rubbed along submerged rocks coming into shore and the raft hadn't any rips or scratches. I believe this is a quality product - worth sharing and writing a review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island,NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Intex Mariner 4

Date:August 19, 2009
Once again Cabelas customer service came through again.
I ordered the raft and it got damaged in shipping. I called Cabelas and they had another one to me in two days. Just in time for our trip. The new raft is great I put a electric motor on it and used it on the lake and on the Delaware river in flood stage. Cabelas is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great raft

Date:August 18, 2009
Could not believe the quality of the raft for the price. Worked great on river and lake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Intex Mariner

Date:August 10, 2009
Great Boat. We took it rafting with 5 adults and it was great. The solid floor realy sets it apart from other boats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great boat

Date:August 10, 2009
This is a great inflatable boat. We have used it many times in the short period of time that we have had it. It inflates and deflates easy and can be loaded in a smaller vehicle after you float. The material is very durable. The new type floor that comes in it is absolutely wonderful. I have already recommended this to a friend and he has purchased one for a fishing trip. I have absolutely no regrets about purchasing this boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roanoke, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

poor man's yacht

Date:August 5, 2009
The Intex Mariner is the perfect solution for anyone short on storage, and/or money. It has a very sturdy, folding floor, which is why I chose this model over cheaper ones. It fills up really quickly with a rechargeable pump, and deflates just as fast. It folds up and fits in the back of any SUV.
I have rowed long distances on a nearby lake with no problems from the oars. The oar mounts are well-designed, and the oars themselves are durable enough to move you where you want to go.
The only drawback I have found is the seats feel a little low for long legs, but a cooler works great underneath. Problem solved.
The Mariner is not a toy, but is a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silex, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best money spent

Date:June 22, 2009
We go on at least 2 or 3 float trips a year and bought this raft 2 years ago it has been on 5 float trips and we have never had a problem! It has withstood rocks and tree limbs. To rent a raft each time was at least $100 so this has been the best investment by far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good boat

Date:June 15, 2009
I like this boat for its rigidity and hull shape, and portability. I've even taken it as baggage on a commercial airline flight, by dividing it into 2 bags (1 for the floor, 1 for the inflatable part). I use it with a sail kit, which is also very portable and compact. You can find sail kits for it on the web if you search. It's wonderful having a sailboat you can carry in the trunk of your car and store in a closet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29