Customer Reviews for INTEX Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

INTEX Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

Built of two layers of Super-Tough™ PVC vinyl laminated to an inner layer of polyester mesh, the Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat is one of the strongest and most durable inflatables ever. The keel rock guard adds extra dependability and the heavy duty, extruded plastic flooring and inflatable keel deliver superior stability and rigidity. The interior features a gear pouch, battery pouch, motor-mount fittings, two rod holders, two welded-on and rotational oarlocks, two grab handles on each bow and an all-around grab line. Two Boston valves make inflating/deflating quick and easy. Includes a set of 54" aluminum oars, a high-output pump and a repair patch kit. Available: Three-Person Boat – 117"L x 50"W x 18"D. Wt. capacity: 790 lbs. Two inflatable seat cushions.  Four-Person Boat – 130"L x 56"W x 18-1/2"D. Wt. capacity: 880 lbs. Three inflatable seat cushions.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 37(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Review 1 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2013

Good Boat but poor equiptment

By
I wasn't very pleased to find out that the repair kit does not come with glue (Due to shipping restrictions). I found this out the hard way after popping a raft on a small stick. We had to deflate it and hike all the way back to camp. Luckily I had some old glue to patch it. After patching the raft, we broke two oars. Other than that, its a good raft for the money. If you buy this, don't forget to buy glue and better oars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

Good

By
Good Boat
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2009

TOUGH, FUN, LIMITED CAPABILITES

By
Location: Denver
The Mariner was purchased with the intention of float fishing Canadian Rivers around Fernie, BC. We had several great days of fishing on the Elk River, but that was the only river in the area that the boat was capable of handling. All others were class 3/4 and too technical to safely float. This was not due to the raft itself, which is very tough and well built. The oars and the seats were poorly matched and worth a 1 or 2 star rating. Two people could "canoe paddle" more effectively than a single oarsman. On one occasion, I was swept into a fallen tree simply because the oars were ineffective. When we decided to wade around hazards while tethering the raft, we had a great time. Another negative is the size. This is advertized as a 4-person raft, which is nonsense. Two adults maximum.
Bottom line: a fine little raft at a good price.
Next summer I expect to use the raft on slower parts of the Colorado River and on lakes. I expect it will perform well there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Mixed Feelings...

By
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
First of all, Cabela's is awesome! No problems with them at all.
Now for the raft. I did a lot of online research before deciding on this product. It seemed to be everything I needed in an inflatable boat, and in range with what I was prepared to spend so I bought one. The item was brand new in a sealed box, in fine condition. I inflated the boat and put it in the water near my home only to find it had a leak in one of the main air chambers. I considered repairing the leak myself but decided to return the raft instead. Got a new one from Cabela's and was on my way.
I went to Boise a few days later and planned a leisurely float down the Boise River with the raft. Everything went pretty well except one of the oar locks broke early in our trip. This was frustrating but paddling without the oar locks proved more efficient anyway. On a positive note, this raft proved itself VERY tough indeed as we ran into several rocks, sharp tree roots, bridge trusses etc. on our way downstream. The river was traveling extremely fast, and in spite of our best efforts, we had several violent collisions. There were no structural problems with the raft at all. As far as the durability of the raft itself, I'd have to say it exceeded my expectations.
Today I decided to call Intex and have them replace the broken oar lock. I've had the craft for about 2 weeks now and I've only used it once. Naturally I assumed Intex would happily send me a replacement oar lock at no charge considering the circumstances. I was wrong. They will gladly send one but I have to pay for it. 3 and change for the part, plus 5-something for shipping. I explained the situation again to the customer service rep I spoke with and still got no sympathy. What I did get was an increasingly rude attitude and eventually hung up on. Long story short, Intex customer service is BAD! REAL BAD!
The raft is fairly reliable but I think I would pass on it if I had it to do again. There are probably better products out there for a bit more money. I'm pretty disappointed in Intex. It's too bad, because if they were even slightly apologetic about the defective parts I would probably still recommend this boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010

Not a 4 person boat, but a wonderful boat

By
Location: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My wife and I bought this for the price and we are very happy with it. We have two yellow labs and thought we might be able to go with them and us, but it was tight. It was doable, but we couldn't take any extra gear. This is not a knock on the boat at all, it's built very well and easily transported. The reason I'm giving it 4 stars and not 5 is simply due to the fact that there is no way 4 people could use this comfortably plus the oars are very cheap. I wish I could change them out for something a bit more robust, but the oar locks are too small.
Other than that it's great and we're actually buying a second one so we can both go with the dogs and our gear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2009

Stable Boat

By
Location: South Eastern PA
Wasn't sure what to expect from this inflatable, but it turned out to be better than I had hoped. Very stable, doesn't feel like a toy raft at all. Rigid Floor really works and makes it feel solid. I felt completely confident standing up (hunched over, of course) in this boat. With the inflatable keel, boat was fairly easy to handle and was so light it responded immediately to maneuvering.
4 adults in the Mariner 4 would be tight... but plenty of room for an adult and three kids or a mom and dad and two small kids.
Oars are too short. I knew that going into it just from the product description. But good oars will cost half of a 30-lb thrust trolling motor, so I will go that route instead of longer oars. The hull feels completely rigid enough to be able to handle the torsion a motor might inflict on it. And with how easy it was to scoot around with the mini oars supplied, 30lb thrust should be plenty.
At 85 pounds, the deflated and packed-into-the-duffle-bag boat is difficult to handle and takes up a fair amount of trunk space. I had to lug the boat by myself in the duffle a quarter mile and it was not easy. I'm not a big guy so maybe a larger person would find it easier. But I will avoid such an trek again, if possible.
I can't speak for durability yet; I've only had it a few months.
Overall, highly suggested for the casual boater who doesn't have the space to keep a canoe or johnboat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

mariner review

By
Location: PA
The boat is holding up great. I had it out 3x since I got it in Aug.. It's fun and enjoyable to be out on lakes and rivers, and this boat makes it easy to do. It takes me about 20-25 minutes to inflate w/ the pump they give. A short amount of time for the hours of fishing and fun it gives me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009

Great raft

By
Location: Kenosha, WI
I have used the raft about 30 times. It works great for my needs. 2 people and gear no problem. light weight. The seats are okay for leisure. but too low for fishing. I use larger size coolers for seats. works great and adds extra storage. The raft seems to be made of very tough material and have had no leaks yet. Set up is easy. I use a 36lb trolling motor and pushes with no problem. Inflatable keel helps for a pretty solid floor. You can stand up in the raft.
The flap that connects the cap to the keel valve broke, still works, just have to be careful not to lose cap. The oar operation could be a little better, esp. if a windy day.
Overall very happy with raft.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2009

Is that an air leak???

By
Location: Cambridge, OH
This raft was everything I expected. I fish a lot of reclaimed coal mining ground and most of the ponds/lakes are only reachable with a 4x4. So I put the raft in my jeep and head down the trail. Inflating takes about 10 minutes and two people fit comfortably while still carrying fishing gear. My only issue was when my wife dropped a blue gill while taking it off the hook and its dorsel fin puntured the side of the raft causing a pin hole air leak. The hole patched fine and I haven't had any problems since. I must add that I use this raft with a trolling motor as I found the oars to be almost useless when trying to manuever all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2008

no doubt

By
Location: Reading, PA
My girlfiend and I bought this boat because we live in an apartment in the city and we have no room for any other kind of boat. It is no doubt heavy-duty material and is not what you'd think when buying an inflatable. We've taken it out on a local river and a few large lakes and we have not been disappointed at all. I would recommend getting a cheap motor of some sort as the paddling can wear you out. Other than that, its really decent for the money. It's big, though I wouldnt recommend it for more than two people as you will likley be bringing fishing gear and food on your trip. I've already ridden this boat over rocks and stones in the Schuylkill River (PA) and I've had no problems. It packs away nice and neat (I actually just keep it in the trunk of my car thought it takes up my entire trunk) and I bought a $50 pump from Cabelas that pumps it up in no more than 10 minutes (for all chambers plus the seats!) Overall, a great buy for the money. I would definitely recommend this for those who dont have room for an actual boat, kayak, or canoe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2015

Great with Sail Kit on it

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is one of the best inflatable dinghies for use as a sailboat by adding a sail kit to it. (You can just google "sail kit for intex mariner" without the quotes to find one). You wouldn't think a boat this wide would sail, but it actually sails very nicely, including tacking into the wind. Since the sail kit also folds, this is a sailboat in 2 bags. The thing that makes the Intex Mariner good for the sail kit is the Mariner is very firm and rigid when inflated. This reduces hull drag and makes the whole sailing experience better. Also the hull shape is nicely streamlined, being tapered at both bow and stern. You might not think the stern shape matters, but it actually matters more than the bow shape! Boats that are pointed on both ends like the Mariner sail best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2015

Can't beat the value.

By
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
1st let me clarify I own the Mariner 4 and the Seahawk II (Not the Seahawk 2) which was the predecessor of the Mariner 3. My Seahawk has several hundreds of miles of lake, river and bay fishing/scouting on it and is a great inflatable boat. The Mariner is fairly new to me still.
The Mariner has several improvements to the design from the old Seahawk II. The two of note are the inflatable keel and the plank floor. The keel adds noticeable stability in choppy waters and creates a little less drag. The floor is adequate for the occasional user but I highly recommend carpeting some 1/2" to 3/4" hardwood plywood for the floor it is easier to get around on especially with bare feet. There is a small cult like following for these little rafts and every time I run into someone out on the water, I get 20 questions about my little boat. So I decided I would put it here for the world to read...
My Mariner 4 is set up as follows: Custom floor and consoles, Minn Kota Endura Maxx 55 trolling motor, Intex motor mount, KWIK TEK A-2 Complete Folding Anchor System, One - 125Ah Deep Cycle Battery, Two - 22Ah deep cycle batteries (for fish finder, lights and other accessories...), Lowrance Elite-5 CHIRP Sonar/GPS Combo, Two - Cabela's elite low-back seats, with Swivle-Eze ajustable bases.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2015

Great raft

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I loved this raft. The material is excellent, my wife parked a car on it and still no leaks. The only I don't like is the black plastic ore connections the break very easy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2015

good boat

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Gender: Male
Good boat, but you need to get extra repair kits for the holes you will punch in the boat if you do whitewater rafting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2015

Intex Inflateable Boat

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have not had a chance to put it in the lake yet
but this is the perfect boat for what i bought it for
fishing and scuba diving .And is basically the
same type of inflatable boat used by the navy
SEALs and fire rescue departments.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Very well built!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This boat is awesome. The outside ring is 4 seperate chambers then the floor has a small chamber to make the bottom like a V hull on a real boat. The sides don't take much ait at all they must have a bladder in them. I'm 230lbs and can stand up in the boat and it's very stable due to the hard plastic floor. Only downfall is when the river is low the bottom scrapes more than overs because of the V design. Can't wait till I get the 3hp motor!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014

Sweet Boat!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This boat exceeded my expectations. It holds me, my wife, and 2 children. We hooked up a 50 lb thrust electric and it's perfect for fishing our small lakes in the Puget Sound area.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2014

Decent boat for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I took this boat out on a small lake in Snohomish, WA. I have a minn kota C50 motor. We had me, my wife, and two small children and there is still room for fishing gear. It performed better than expected. It is better quality than I expected. We had no issues, and hopefully do not have any in the future. I don't know that I would pay full price though. We bought ours on sale and it was the best price I could find online. It beat other large retail websites hand down. I have not used the oars and hope I don't have to use them. It sounds like people have problems with the oars. Full setup took about 20 minutes and we were on the water fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2013

Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recommend this inflatable as a great boat for the price. It is nice and heavy duty. We only use it in small lakes. It handled the wind and was not difficult to maneuver . It claims 3 person but fits two more comfortably. It rolls up and fits back into the bag nicely, thow it took a couple times to get it down at first.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012

Intex Mariner Inflatable Boat

By
Country: Canada
Province: Newfoundland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am using the inflatable as a dingy on my 25 foot Cruiser. It stores nicely and can be inflated in minutes. I am impressed with the ruggyness of the construction and low cost compared to a towable dingy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 37