Customer Reviews for Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit

Loaded with value and performance, the Humminbird's 500 Series features outstanding new high-contrast display technology with incredible vertical pixel resolutions to deliver clearly better images. The new Clear Edge Grayscale enhances definition and highlights not only the big fish but the smallest fish, faintest structure and a clearly defined thermocline layer. Plus, new accelerated Real Time Sonar operates at up to 40 times per second so you'll see all the action under the boat - instantly! Each unit incorporates Humminbird's legendary ease of use and the only Tilt & Swivel Quick Disconnect Mounting System with no cables to plug in!The Fishfinder 525 features 240 vertical x 240 horizontal pixels, a 5" display and 20? single-beam coverage. Sonar Echo Enhancement? Technology.2-1/2" target separation. One-touch zoom. 1,600-watt peak-to-peak power. Available: Humminbird 525 Humminbird 525 plus w/speed and Temp.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Review 1 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finding fish

Date:September 26, 2009
Have only had one chance to use this product but it seemed to work well. The only complaint so far was that the installation instructions put it at just the level where it causes a rooster tail at high speeds. There is no adjustment left so we will have to drill new holes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Othello, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:September 20, 2009
I bought this sonar as a portable unit so I could have one where I fish in the boat. It works great, clear images and easy to use. We have two other sonars in the boat but they are behind me so I always had to ask what the depth was. Now I can see it for myself. The transducer unit has a suction cup that attaches to the boat. Turn it on and wala! I can see the depth and the fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Catskill Mtns. Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hummingbird 525

Date:August 24, 2009
The reason I gave it a 3 is that I'm not happy with the hookup at the point of connection on the machine itself. It doesn't have a strong enough connection. It kept coming loose on the water. It also is hard to get off the base, when I want to store it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern ca Shasta lake
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird 525

Date:August 19, 2009
Easy to install Also installed speed control. Call to obtain info from Hummingbird resulted in at least a 30 min delay if not more and not to helpfull
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

depth finder

Date:August 9, 2009
This depth finder does all I ask of it andis easy for the weekend fisherman to use. No problems at all so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Eastern NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird 525

Date:August 4, 2009
This is a good unit. It picks up fish very well and works well while moving. This is the second one I've owned. I other one went with the boat I sold. My new unit has built in speed and is very accurate, I checked it with a GPS. I'd buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yuma, Az
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Fish finder

Date:July 4, 2009
The screen resolution is good. The speedometer attachment is awesome. It would get 5 stars but it wont read depth over 8 mph. Very easy to use and install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Barneveld, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use fish finder!

Date:June 17, 2009
This fish finder was quick to install and easy to use! Good buy for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lives up to the Humminbird reputation

Date:June 17, 2009
This product is easy to install and works like it is supposed to. It is easy to use also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Shore of Lake Ontario, Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the Hawk Likes it

Date:June 15, 2009
I'm First time user of a Fish finder. I picked the Hummingbird because of recommendations from other fisherman...works very good..only exception I have is at high speed the depth finder screen kind of goes hay wire and you can't get the true depth until you slow down a notch..nobody seems to know why?.. but other than that it's a great rig for the price...Hawk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good unit for the price

Date:May 19, 2009
For the price you can't beat this unit, I've had many higher end unit's and they are much clearer than this one but this one does the job just fine, it does jump alittle when your in less than 3-4 feet of water but but not all the time either. Good product and easy to use as well, install was simple. Well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Modesto California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Humminbird 525 has its weakness

Date:December 23, 2008
I returned my first one because the power would shut off on the unit. They gave me a new one and it worked well for about 2 weeks. 2 Weeks means 14 days of fishing in a row and removal of the finder each night to prevent theft. The support staff returned my email suggesting they had a problem with these units. The problem is the connection pins where the power supply goes into the unit. They have no strength to rebound flush tight after being disconnected a few times. They need a better quality supply because it is frustrating to have to constantly turn it on every time you hit a wake on the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great worth every penny

Date:October 20, 2008
I replaced a cheaper unit with this one and found that you truly get what you pay for. The clarity and accuracy of the unit are just as advertised. Just be sure to follow the installation instructions completely or the unit will create a huge rooster tail as another reviewer states.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:September 22, 2008
I actually bought 2 of these, 1 for myself and 1 for my best friend for his birthday. I was replacing my hummingbird of 14 years and my best friend's hummingbird that was 20 years old. With that kind of reliability I wanted to stay with Hummingbird. I know that there units with more features, but we just wanted a good basic unit that was reliable and easy to use. The first time out my buddy caught a nice smallmouth and released it and we could see it as it swam back down to the bottom where it was before it was caught. Very Good Unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: QUEBEC ,CANADA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rejean

Date:August 26, 2008
very good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product-Humminbird Cant Be Beat

Date:August 7, 2008
ive always been a longtime humminbird fishfinder fan. recently i purchased a new used pontoon boat, and it was equipped with an older "wide optic" with "tri beam" and "side view". while it is a good unit, i decided i wanted something with a little bit better graphics and bigger screen, so i purchased a Humminbird 525. when i opened the box ( which by the way was factory sealed). when i got it, i opened the box and it was mising the transducer..i contacted cabelas who is supposed to be sending me one out directly via overnight. i found out in the meantime from humminbird that the transducer that was on the wide optic will work with the 525, so i plugged it in temporarly. great unit, and i wouldnt hesitate to buy another one. i would have given it 5 stars except that the transducer wasnt in the box other than that, it would have been a 10 starrer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little unit for the price

Date:August 6, 2008
For the price this is a very nice unit. Easy to install and use, my wife can even get around in it. Good options for screen display and very good clearity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Howell, Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great unit for the price

Date:June 8, 2008
I mounted my 525 in the bow with a transducer adapter on the trolling motor. It performs very well with an easy to read screen, real time data in a flasher format on the side of the screen, and a raw data option. The mount allows room to plug in the power and transducer cables from the front (not intended by Humminbird) which allows the trolling motor to be removed from th boat (I have the quik release mount). Otherwise the mount would have to be disassembled to remove the transducer cable.
I have been a fan of Humminbird products for durability for years, my 1985 4000 still works great.
Codfather
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Antioch, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

525 hummingbird fishfinder

Date:May 17, 2008
Very good product. Displayed fish clearly and depths, speed and temperature of surface water. Only complaint is that it seems to be very sensitive to any small amount of movement. Is there anyway to remedy this?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Humminbird Fishfinder 525 Sonar Unit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gunnison Co.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird 525

Date:May 5, 2008
The Humminbird 525 that I recently purchased is a great unit
that has very precise graphics that read the bottom and any
thing in between with accuracy. I've been reading lake trout
down to 70 feet and trout at 40 feet with good results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29