Customer Reviews for Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo

The Humminbird 595c Color is a combination GPS Chartplotter and sonar capability in one. Boasts a superior wide-viewing angle 5" color TFT display with 320V x 240H pixels. Upgradeable to Navionics seamless cartography with inland freshwater maps from Navionics Hotmaps and Marine Offshore Cartography. 20? single beam sonar optimized for coverage and precision bottom detail. Choose selective Fish ID+ or view actual sonar returns. Accelerated real time sonar operates at up to 40 times per second. Sonar echo enhancement technology is sensitive enough to track a small jig to 40 ft. and separate targets to 2-1/2". Tilt and swivel quick disconnect mounting system with no cables to plug in. Water surface temperature and speed included. One-touch zoom view instantly enhances bottom detail. X-Press menus for instant access to most important features. Adjustable backlight.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Review 1 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard to beat for the price

Date:January 29, 2009
Positives: Best bang for the buck for a color combo gps/fishfinder unit. Built in software for the gps is average but very usable for public waterways.
Negative: Add/on Navonics software is pricy and raises the price of the unit if you purchase it. On the other hand, if you buy a Garmin, they kill you with software prices on top of the very pricey unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: South Berwick, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Five Failures

Date:November 20, 2008
I purchased my 595C in April of 2006 from a different source. I've had five failures for four different reasons. Each time the unit was returned to Humminbird and either a replacement indicator or GPS antenna was returned with different serial numbers.
1st: Would not power up. Blank screen.
2nd: GPS didn't work. Never connected to satellite.
3rd: Depth Sounder failure. Cruising in 6 ft of water the display switched to 1010 ft. Shut off then on showing 6 ft then displayed 1010 ft.
4th: Did not recognize the optional Navionics Memory card.
5th: GPS didn't work.
Worked fine this year but will it work next??
My previous Humminbird is still going after 18 years but it's just a fishfinder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livermore, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it a lot!

Date:November 19, 2008
So this baby went on sale so I took a chance on it. I was looking at buying the same model but not in color. This one went on sale and with the manufacturer rebate it worked out to be about the same price. Installation instructions were fairly self explanatory. First time I have replaced one of these. The only complaint I have is that the transducer shoots a rooster tail but I am going to try and fix this by moving it up a little bit. Easy to use, moderate installation process, all and all I am very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Oegon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

595c

Date:November 2, 2008
I replaced my older Humminburd unit with this one and was pleasently amazed. The screen is bright and even in the direct sunlight. The sonar works well and the map feature, after I added a map card is outstanding. I would reccomend this unit to anyone who fishes inland lakes and large river systems. The unit even plugged right into the older mounting base.
Good job Humminbird, keep up the good work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Milw. WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR RESOLUTION

Date:October 15, 2008
GPS is fine...Loaded the Hot maps not all that satisfied inaccurate depths on the one lake I fish. Major complaint is level of sensitivity. When jigging unable to follow jig down as I was able to with my previous 10 year old eagle. I find this very unacceptable in light of the fact I do a lot of jigging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GPS

Date:September 8, 2008
Easy to use. Great screen. Great unit!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I fish Ohio Lakes and Georgian Bay
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good, not great

Date:September 2, 2008
I used the 595c for the first time and found it to function as it should. My only issue is getting a kink in my neck viewing it with polarized glasses. I have to tilt my head to the side a bit to see it properly, otherwise, the screen is dark. I loaded it with navionics lake maps, and found it easy to navigate an unfamiliar lake following the map and depth sounder info displayed simultaneously. The speedometer with add on transducer works well. I need to remount the depth transducer though. I installed is per the instructions and it throws a rooster tail at 20+mph! It did display properly at all speeds I tried (0-25 mph).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item

Date:August 13, 2008
Easy install and works great.
Color screen is so much easier to see than past mono screens I've owned.
Only bad is mounting transponder inside hull.
I have a wood and fiberglass sailboat and sonar will not work inside.
Looked at Hummingbird web page and only thru hulls available are not flush mounted on the exterior.
Too easy to break off, or damage, non flush transponders.
GPS follows right along and so far very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

humminbird 595c

Date:May 21, 2007
It is easy to use and the external antenna works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good sirvice

Date:November 21, 2006
When i recieved my humminbird it would not work I contacted
Cabellas and they sent me a new one next day air and it
worked perfectly. I found that to be excelent service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

595c combo

Date:November 21, 2006
I received my 595 C Sonar/Gps combo in the mail and I installed it the next day. I used it on three occasions before it decided to give me problems. When I power up, the screen will fail to illuminate unless I shut it off and then power it up again several times. It has since been returned and I am awaiting a replacement unit. While it was working, it worked well, although I would have liked to have seen a little more detail on the base map. I purchased an additional Navitronics map SD card and it seems to help. The only negative aspect about the GPS portion of the unit is that it only has two navigational screen formats and neither are exceptional as far as I am concerned. BUT, the price was right and YES, I would buy another and recommend to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Humminbird Fishfinder 595 c Sonar/GPS Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fishfinder GPS Combo

Date:November 8, 2006
I fished a lot at night over the summer and the GPS map kept off the trouble spots and the fishfinder kept me over the fish. This is a great unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.