Customer Reviews for MERCURY Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

MERCURY Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

When you buy a Mercury, you’re investing in legendary, four-stroke performance in quiet, fuel-efficient outboards. The lightweight 2.5 and 3.5hp models feature 360° steering and forward/neutral shifting. The portable 4hp, 5hp and 6hp have a single cylinder that boasts 123cc of displacement; CDI ignition; forward, neutral and reverse shifting; and through-the-prop. exhaust for a smooth operation. The 8hp and above give you a fuel efficiency your wallet will appreciate, plus a multifunctional tiller handle for one-hand shifting, stopping, throttle control, tilting and steering. All motors have a 3-star C.A.R.B. rating and are tiller steer. Three-year limited manufacturer’s warranty. The 4, 5, and 6 horsepower models have these additional enhancements: Longer tilller handles for easier use, front mount shift handles for more convenience and comfort, integral fuel tanks with remote fuel tank capability is standard and new top cowl styling.  The new 4 HP Four Strokes make operation and portability easy.  Plus, clean, quiet, fuel-efficient Four Stroke performance makes them the obvious power of choice.   Motor ships without oil. Please add oil before starting. Legend: M=Manual start; L=Long shaft; E=Electric start; H=Tiller handle; GA=Gas assist; O=Oil injection; PT=Power trim; XL=Extra long shaft (25"); C=Counter rotation Outboard motors may not be returned. Items needing repair should be returned to an authorized service center for repair under manufacturer warranty guideline.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Review 1 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: White Mountains Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9.9 tiller/elect start Bigfoot

Date:November 2, 2009
I used this motor on the mountain lakes in Arizona where the limit is 10 horse power. This motor never missed a beat, can fish all weekend on less than 1 3 gal tank of ruel and always starts first try. I use it on my 14' Alumacraft and it pushed the boat when fully loaded at 8.1 mph. I have also used it at some of the larger lakes and will push the boat through the chop and wind with litte effect. Plenty fast for me as my go fast days are past me now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9.9 Merc Prokicker F9.9XLHPB

Date:February 10, 2010
I have been using my 9.9 Mercury Prokicker going on three years. It has been excellent every where I go. I use the motor mainly for trolling. I have a Mercury 115 hp 4-stroke.
What I like about this motor:
Electric or manual start
Easy starting
Power trim - no manual lifting
Strapes that center motor when raised. Stays in place with no bouncing around.
Uses the main gas tank with my main motor
Trolls to low or higher speeds
On my 20' Alumaweld it will max out at 6mph.
If the main battery is low because of leaving something on I just manually start the 9.9 hp Merc. Give
it five minutes and the 115 hp Merc starts right up.
I feel better having a backup motor if the main motor fails.
This last Nov 2009 I had the Garmin TR-1 Gold Autopilot installed on my 9.9 hp Merc Prokicker. My wife and I do a lot of trolling for Salmon, Steelhead and Kokanee. This is an awesome combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

8 hp Merc

Date:February 15, 2010
I have two Mercs on my 18 ft Targa. One is the 8 hp Merc kicker that I use for trolling. Mine is set up to either use the boat steering or quick disconect and use the tiller steering. I installed the flex extention arm from Cabelas and use it almose constantly when trolling as I like more tiller control. My boat is a high wall big water design so I had to install a larger prop to keep from heavy wind drift problems, but it works great and uses almost NO FUEL. I can troll for a week and still not used 1/4 tank.. The Other Motor is a 90 Hp Opti Max...I LOVE IT..Lots of power-to 115 hp and uses LOTS LESS FUEL...Best motor on the market...So far between several tournaments a year I have never used a full tank of fuel yet. Tank size 30 gals. I have been using this combo since 2006.
WAY TO GO MERCURY !!!! on another Winner!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4-stroke 30HP with Elec Start and Power Tilt

Date:July 20, 2010
What an engine! I had a Merc some years ago - 2 stroke. This is a wonderful engine. QUIET performance. And plently of power! Have this mounted on an Alumacraft Waterfowler 16. This is an all-welded and thicker hull than the lower end Alumacraft boats so it is considerably heavier. I bet this 30HP move this boat in excess of 20MPH. Power tilt on the heavy motor and electric start are two very nice options.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: port huron , michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Please be careful

Date:April 24, 2011
These smaller 4-strokes require fuel stabilizer, all the time in the fuel.....the carb clearances on these smaller motors, 9.9 and below, is very small.If you use ethanol based fuel, and no stabil, your asking for a carb tear down, and clean within the first year and a few uses...
I had to take mine back to cabela's and have them remove the carb and ultrasonic clean it, and reinstall, as it would not start.I did not realize i needed to use stabil and not let gas sit for more than a few weeks.......BEWARE..........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pull start gave out!

Date:June 26, 2011
Had my 5 horse 4-stroke, long-shaft motor for two years. Had at MOST 15 hours on it. Well, went to pull start it this year on my spring fishing trip, and the handle spins but the motor doesn't turn over. No warning, didn't feel anything break...well, it's off to the service center 35 miles away. A motor with so little use shouldn't break down. Ridiculous. But, I'm sure it's nothing big, the motor had always started on the first or second pull and ran great...until now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Springfield, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the quality Mercury used to be

Date:September 1, 2011
We purchased a new 20 HP 4-Stroke last year. I've been running high performance Mercury outboards for 30 years and I have never had so much trouble as I have with this motor. As most know, you should run the engine out of gas when you trailer the boat to prevent fuel breakdown inside the engine. We did that each time. One day the motor wouldn't start. Took it to our local warranty repair center. The issue the tech stated was fuel break down and they would have to rebuild the carbs. Checked with Mercury and was told the same. They would not cover under warranty and it cost me $436 to repair. Keep in mind this was done after owning the engine for less than 6 months and the engine only had 12 hours of use according to the tech. According to the technician, Mercury did not engineer well enough to prevent this issue and he said Mercury is having a tremendous problem with the fourstrokes. Do your homework, I wished I would have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great motor

Date:November 14, 2012
I have a 2012 20 HP elec. start with about 160 hours, mostly salmon trolling. Only issue was when I took on water in the fuel (my fault) but motor still ran, just rough. Replaced filters, plugs, etc and runs great. When talking to the tech I discovered Merc powerheads are built by Yamaha, Nissan and other manuf. besides Merc. Mine is a Yamaha powerhead. I recommend using Merc Quickkleen (sp), a good fuel stabilizer and adding a water seperator to any vessel fuel system today. I average about 1 1/2 gallons of fuel use per 8 hours of fishing which you can't beat. That includes a two mile run each way. Great motor Merc!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good four stroke engine

Date:May 7, 2013
nice unit, will work nicely for the kicker and trolling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Motor

Date:September 17, 2013
Surprised with the great fuel economy, quick response and very slow idle. I am 70 years old and I thought I would need an electric start for a 15 hp. motor, but this motor pulls and starts easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality product

Date:September 27, 2013
Quietest starting and running motor on the lake. Good power and easy to maintain. Couldnt be happier. My electric start turns right over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I can hear the kitten purring over this engine

Date:June 5, 2014
Okay, so maybe I can't hear a kitten purr over the sound of this little 9.9hp bigfoot, but it is pretty quiet and smooth running. Great little motor that is a reliable backup if we get caught on the big lake with a dead main.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mercury 15 horse

Date:July 22, 2014
My family is very pleased with the upgrade on our fishing boat to the new Mercury 15 horse tiller motor. The fuel tank goes much further out on the water than the older models used to. Forward and reverse control is right there on the handle, along with a kill switch should the need arise. With todays gasoline blends, it is nice to have a carburetor that can digest with ease
and still idle when you need it to. Price is forgotten long after the quality endures. We really got our monies worth this summer out of this little outboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.