Customer Reviews for MERCURY Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

MERCURY Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors

When you buy a Mercury, you’re investing in legendary, four-stroke performance in quiet, fuel-efficient outboards. The lightweight 2.5 and 3.5hp models feature 360° steering and forward/neutral shifting. The portable 4hp, 5hp and 6hp have a single cylinder that boasts 123cc of displacement; CDI ignition; forward, neutral and reverse shifting; and through-the-prop. exhaust for a smooth operation. The 8hp and above give you a fuel efficiency your wallet will appreciate, plus a multifunctional tiller handle for one-hand shifting, stopping, throttle control, tilting and steering. All motors have a 3-star C.A.R.B. rating and are tiller steer. Three-year limited manufacturer’s warranty. The 4, 5, and 6 horsepower models have these additional enhancements: Longer tilller handles for easier use, front mount shift handles for more convenience and comfort, integral fuel tanks with remote fuel tank capability is standard and new top cowl styling.  The new 4 HP Four Strokes make operation and portability easy.  Plus, clean, quiet, fuel-efficient Four Stroke performance makes them the obvious power of choice.   Motor ships without oil. Please add oil before starting. Legend: M=Manual start; L=Long shaft; E=Electric start; H=Tiller handle; GA=Gas assist; O=Oil injection; PT=Power trim; XL=Extra long shaft (25"); C=Counter rotation Outboard motors may not be returned. Items needing repair should be returned to an authorized service center for repair under manufacturer warranty guideline.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Review 1 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2009

9.9 tiller/elect start Bigfoot

By
Location: White Mountains Arizona
I used this motor on the mountain lakes in Arizona where the limit is 10 horse power. This motor never missed a beat, can fish all weekend on less than 1 3 gal tank of ruel and always starts first try. I use it on my 14' Alumacraft and it pushed the boat when fully loaded at 8.1 mph. I have also used it at some of the larger lakes and will push the boat through the chop and wind with litte effect. Plenty fast for me as my go fast days are past me now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010

9.9 Merc Prokicker F9.9XLHPB

By
Location: Oregon
I have been using my 9.9 Mercury Prokicker going on three years. It has been excellent every where I go. I use the motor mainly for trolling. I have a Mercury 115 hp 4-stroke.
What I like about this motor:
Electric or manual start
Easy starting
Power trim - no manual lifting
Strapes that center motor when raised. Stays in place with no bouncing around.
Uses the main gas tank with my main motor
Trolls to low or higher speeds
On my 20' Alumaweld it will max out at 6mph.
If the main battery is low because of leaving something on I just manually start the 9.9 hp Merc. Give
it five minutes and the 115 hp Merc starts right up.
I feel better having a backup motor if the main motor fails.
This last Nov 2009 I had the Garmin TR-1 Gold Autopilot installed on my 9.9 hp Merc Prokicker. My wife and I do a lot of trolling for Salmon, Steelhead and Kokanee. This is an awesome combination.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

8 hp Merc

By
Location: Idaho
I have two Mercs on my 18 ft Targa. One is the 8 hp Merc kicker that I use for trolling. Mine is set up to either use the boat steering or quick disconect and use the tiller steering. I installed the flex extention arm from Cabelas and use it almose constantly when trolling as I like more tiller control. My boat is a high wall big water design so I had to install a larger prop to keep from heavy wind drift problems, but it works great and uses almost NO FUEL. I can troll for a week and still not used 1/4 tank.. The Other Motor is a 90 Hp Opti Max...I LOVE IT..Lots of power-to 115 hp and uses LOTS LESS FUEL...Best motor on the market...So far between several tournaments a year I have never used a full tank of fuel yet. Tank size 30 gals. I have been using this combo since 2006.
WAY TO GO MERCURY !!!! on another Winner!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2010

4-stroke 30HP with Elec Start and Power Tilt

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
What an engine! I had a Merc some years ago - 2 stroke. This is a wonderful engine. QUIET performance. And plently of power! Have this mounted on an Alumacraft Waterfowler 16. This is an all-welded and thicker hull than the lower end Alumacraft boats so it is considerably heavier. I bet this 30HP move this boat in excess of 20MPH. Power tilt on the heavy motor and electric start are two very nice options.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2011

Please be careful

By
Location: port huron , michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These smaller 4-strokes require fuel stabilizer, all the time in the fuel.....the carb clearances on these smaller motors, 9.9 and below, is very small.If you use ethanol based fuel, and no stabil, your asking for a carb tear down, and clean within the first year and a few uses...
I had to take mine back to cabela's and have them remove the carb and ultrasonic clean it, and reinstall, as it would not start.I did not realize i needed to use stabil and not let gas sit for more than a few weeks.......BEWARE..........
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2011

Pull start gave out!

By
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Had my 5 horse 4-stroke, long-shaft motor for two years. Had at MOST 15 hours on it. Well, went to pull start it this year on my spring fishing trip, and the handle spins but the motor doesn't turn over. No warning, didn't feel anything break...well, it's off to the service center 35 miles away. A motor with so little use shouldn't break down. Ridiculous. But, I'm sure it's nothing big, the motor had always started on the first or second pull and ran great...until now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2011

Not the quality Mercury used to be

By
Location: Springfield, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We purchased a new 20 HP 4-Stroke last year. I've been running high performance Mercury outboards for 30 years and I have never had so much trouble as I have with this motor. As most know, you should run the engine out of gas when you trailer the boat to prevent fuel breakdown inside the engine. We did that each time. One day the motor wouldn't start. Took it to our local warranty repair center. The issue the tech stated was fuel break down and they would have to rebuild the carbs. Checked with Mercury and was told the same. They would not cover under warranty and it cost me $436 to repair. Keep in mind this was done after owning the engine for less than 6 months and the engine only had 12 hours of use according to the tech. According to the technician, Mercury did not engineer well enough to prevent this issue and he said Mercury is having a tremendous problem with the fourstrokes. Do your homework, I wished I would have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2012

Great motor

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have a 2012 20 HP elec. start with about 160 hours, mostly salmon trolling. Only issue was when I took on water in the fuel (my fault) but motor still ran, just rough. Replaced filters, plugs, etc and runs great. When talking to the tech I discovered Merc powerheads are built by Yamaha, Nissan and other manuf. besides Merc. Mine is a Yamaha powerhead. I recommend using Merc Quickkleen (sp), a good fuel stabilizer and adding a water seperator to any vessel fuel system today. I average about 1 1/2 gallons of fuel use per 8 hours of fishing which you can't beat. That includes a two mile run each way. Great motor Merc!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

good four stroke engine

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
nice unit, will work nicely for the kicker and trolling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2013

Great Little Motor

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Surprised with the great fuel economy, quick response and very slow idle. I am 70 years old and I thought I would need an electric start for a 15 hp. motor, but this motor pulls and starts easily.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013

Quality product

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Quietest starting and running motor on the lake. Good power and easy to maintain. Couldnt be happier. My electric start turns right over.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2014

I can hear the kitten purring over this engine

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Okay, so maybe I can't hear a kitten purr over the sound of this little 9.9hp bigfoot, but it is pretty quiet and smooth running. Great little motor that is a reliable backup if we get caught on the big lake with a dead main.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Mercury 15 horse

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My family is very pleased with the upgrade on our fishing boat to the new Mercury 15 horse tiller motor. The fuel tank goes much further out on the water than the older models used to. Forward and reverse control is right there on the handle, along with a kill switch should the need arise. With todays gasoline blends, it is nice to have a carburetor that can digest with ease
and still idle when you need it to. Price is forgotten long after the quality endures. We really got our monies worth this summer out of this little outboard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2015

Value

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Owned several merc motors never had an issue this little motor is vary economical
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

6M, a great little motor

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the 6M. Its a great little motor. Starts on first or 2nd pull* and idles very quietly. It is a 1 cyl 4-stroke, so its not the smoothest thing you will find at full throttle. I've had it 3 years and no problems. It is nearly impossible to find anything other than ethanol watered down gas in my area. Here are my keys to success:
I always add stabilizer to new gas.
I do not use an external tank. I fish a lake that I am lucky enough to access from my back yard. A full internal tank is plenty of gas for me plus I carry one of the small fuel bottles that people carry for camping just in case. It holds about a quart and is totally sealed from moisture. The motor stays outdoors on the boat from April till November.
I run the motor at least once a week and I do not drain the carb each time. This thing runs on fumes and it takes forever run the carb dry. Its been 3 seasons and my carb is still spotless inside. I've been servicing boat motors for years, so I do check each season.
*Here's the deal with easy starting. If you have the external tank, you have nothing to worry about (other than moisture). I do not use the external tank, so my first start of the season takes a lot of pulls to get that little diaphragm pump to move the gas. This I why I don't drain the carb and make sure that I use it at least once a week. If you can't run the motor that often, certainly run the carb dry. If you don't have the external tank, it will take some pulls to start if the carb is dry, maybe 5. Even more pulls if the fuel pump got dry. They can be slow pulls so you don't wear yourself out. It is a lot of work for the little diaphragm pump to get the filter and carb filled with gas. If I had the external tank, the squeeze ball pump would make this a non-issue. I would recommend the external tank for most folks. Just pump the ball and start, no extra pulling to get that gas moving. Keep that tank out of the weather. Store it in a dark and dry location and close the vent. Ethanol gas is a terrible thing for small outboards unless you keep ahead of it. Always use stabilizer, every tank. Treat your gas like your camp matches or salt shaker as far as keeping it dry and you will do fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Mercury 15 horse

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a mercury 15 hp electric start 4 stroke for my 14 ft. Jon boat. I love this little motor. I don't have anything bad to say about it. I would defiantly recommend it. The motor has plenty of power for the horsepower that it is.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mercury® Four-Stroke Outboard Motors
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2016

Tough to rate

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought the 2.5 hp. new as a kicker, & after installing on my boat, oiled, & fueled the engine. It absolutely wouldn't start! It was flooded badly & gas was coming out the carb's overflow. I am a mechanic so I knew that the float was stuck in the carb.
My options were a dealer 100 miles away, or fix it myself. I pulled the carb. "tickled" the float, & needle put it back together and it's fixed. Runs good in a test-tank, starts 2-3 pulls when cold. Haven't had it in the lake yet but expect it will be fine. IMPORNTANT! After reading many reviews on other sites I've decided the trouble most are having with this motor is caused by 2 issues. 1, the carburetor is gummed up from the factory as they may have shipped them with gas still in the carb, & 2, the VENT screw on the fuel cap must be fully open in order to vent properly. Fuel starvation will result.
Things like this happen sometimes in manufacturing. Sure is "cute" mounted beside my big Merc. so I reckon I'll keep it.
C-ya!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.