Customer Reviews for EASYTROLLER EasyTroller Trolling Plate

EASYTROLLER EasyTroller Trolling Plate

It's happened to every troller at least once – accidentally gunning the engine at full throttle before pulling up the trolling plate. The result is usually a bent plate or damaged shear pins, not to mention costly repair or replacement. The patented hinge design flexes to divert prop thrust downward, preventing any damage to the plate during premature acceleration. The EasyTroller mounts directly to the engine's anti-cavitation plate and snaps down into position behind the prop to slow the boat to your ideal trolling speed. A pull of the cord raises the plate. If you forget to raise the plate before accelerating, no worries - the bottom half will simply hinge upward. Available in two sizes: one for 30-50 hp outboards and one for outboards and I/O motors 50hp to 150hp. Available in standard model or with optional hydrofoil fins, which enable the boat to plane more quickly for increased handling and performance. Available: Short 30-50 hp, Standard 50-150 hp, 50-150 hp with Hydrofoil.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
47 out of 47(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Review 1 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great!

Date:July 15, 2014
As I write this review I am fishing on Long Lake in
Northern Maine. I have a 1994 Lund Fisherman 17
Ft with a 2002 Yamaha 115 HP four stroke. Prior to installing the Easy Troller the slowest I could troll down to was 3 mph. Now I can troll down to 1.15 mph or even slower depending on wind. The product performs as advertised. Raising the plate up when you I am fishing along is a bit awkward but with a boat mate it is easy enough to have one person pull the release while the other powers up to 3 pr 4 mph and the plate returns to the up position quite nicely. I would definitely recommend this product! Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EASY TROLLER

Date:May 20, 2014
GOOD PRODUCT, I WOULD BUY AGAIN.
BASIC INSTALLATION, SIMPLE ENOUGH.
.9 MPH VIA GPS SOG .BETTER THAN 3.6 MPH.
INSTALLED ON 2005 115 HP YAMAHA.
HAPPY,HAPPY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Trolling Plate

Date:November 12, 2013
Easy to install and works well in the water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best trolling system I have ever tried

Date:October 21, 2013
This new Easy Troller is a big improvement over the plastic systems I have owned (3). First the trolling speeds are much better to control . Second the top speed is still the same as with out a plate with wings measured by GPS and speedo. Third the stiffer wings stop porpoiseing after encountering another wake at faster speeds. lt's easy to install. All things considered this is a big improvement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EasyTroller

Date:August 20, 2013
I purchased the EasyToller with the cavitation side plates to enable my boat to troll down to the 1.6 mph speed for walleyes on Lake Mille Lacs, MN. It works great, I can pick my desired speed without concern of wind direction (even slower if I want). It makes dialing in the right speed just a matter of finding what the fish want rather than what the wind conditions will allow. That said I don't go out in the nasty winds.
The cavtation plate works great too. I have a 90 hsp Yamaha tiller on a 18' Alumacraft. It planes out so much faster, I couldnt believe it. I was considering trading the boat in for a SC boat as I didn't like not being able to see over the bow as well, but not now.
Istallation was easy with the well written instructions. One person job.
The only thing I am not too excited about is the cord that is used to engage the EasyTroller. I need to find a way of keeping it out of the way. Minor problem for the bennifits it provides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Installation

Date:February 5, 2013
I have not yet had the opportunity to use the new Easy Troller, but I will say this; It was very easy to install, with good directions and it appears to work as stated. I can't wait to give it a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bangor, ME
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Product

Date:April 18, 2012
I bought the large size for use on my 1981 Evinrude 70 HP outboard. It slowed my 16 foot Starcraft down to 1.5 MPH per the GPS. Works exactly as advertised. Should you forget to raise the plate when you want to throttle up you will know it immediately as it causes the motor to stall out from all the resistance it provides. This is a great product that installs easily, is well built, and does just what it says it will do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario Canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WORK'S GREAT

Date:February 5, 2012
Work's great slows my boat down to about one mph,great for walleye fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Greate

Date:June 5, 2011
I hâve 40hp motor which in some situation it runs too fast for trolling. With this, it goes down about 1hp of speed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Troling Plate

Date:September 8, 2010
I have a Lund ProV 18' with a 150HP yamaha 4 stroke. And I do a lot of trolling for walleye's, but the boat was going to fast so I looked into this plate.
My boat speed without plate no wind was 3 to 3.5 mph WITH plate my boat speed is now .5 to 1.2 mph.
I did not like the rope that came with the plate so I made my Plate actuator cable system like a lever that is on a lawn mowers. The lever is next to my seat.
I hope this will help!
I have had mine on my boat for 1/2 year and love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: British Columbia Canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Troller says it all

Date:July 16, 2010
I looked at some of the other trolling plates available and most had negative comments, so I wasn't sure that was the way to go.
Then I found the Easy Troller on the web and checked out the details. Right away I could see it was made of quality material and it looked heavy duty.
When I checked the reviews on this item almost all of them were extremely positive.
After purchasing this unit with the fins I am extremely pleased with the operation. I have a 115 mercury that I had a hard time slowing down. With this unit I can troll at speeds from .5 mph to 3 mph with no difficlulty. The engine also revs a little higher (about 800-1000rpm) this is better cause at a slower idle the engine gets fouled from the oil. The faster idle speed keeps it running smoother for longer periods of time.
Overall it works great, does everything that they say it does.
I was going to install a kicker motor on the back of my boat, but this system works so well, I dont need the extra 80 lbs on the back of the boat, not to mention the control logistic problems with having a second motor.
I bought the unit with trim fins, you can really tell the difference at high speed when you trim it out with these fins attached.
Overall I lost about 2 mph at top speed (I went from 40mph at 5500 rpm down to about 38mhp). I very seldom drive it flat out, so to me it doesnt matter. I'm more impressed with the slow speed qualities
I'd buy it again in an instant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Troling Plate

Date:September 13, 2009
Works as advertised. Very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EasyTroller Trolling Plate

Date:August 4, 2009
Received my trolling plate a short time after it was put on Back Order. (They must be very popular!) Was easy to install and have used it a number of times and works GREAT. I have a 75 hp outboard and using the plate slows the boat down to about one to one and a half miles per hour. Have not forgotten to raise it before heading back to the dock, BUT nice to know that the way its made, that it will not bend or break if I was to forget to put it in the raised position. This is the one to buy and not one of the plastic types. Thanks Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trolling Plate

Date:August 3, 2009
This is the first trolling plate I have used. Used it on my out board motor on a patio boat. It did every thing that was advertised. Excellent product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west point,ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy troller

Date:July 20, 2009
i have a 115 yamaha 4 stroke and this product has worked great. easy to install, took about 10 mins. a couple times i have taken off with the plate down and there has been no harm to the plate,i can go as slow as .8 mph well worth the extra money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trolling plate

Date:June 30, 2009
Works very well, I can troll live herring between .5-1.5mph. Easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Great Falls, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great

Date:June 14, 2009
Took 10 minutes to install. After installation was complete, the first thing I did was cut a notch at the 45 degree angle. It is mounted on my 50 Merc and at the full 90 degrees, the motor has to be accelerated and at the 45 degree angle, it is just above idle.So many other reviews mentioned this and they were right. Spoke with other fishermen who installed (more than one) of the plastic trolling plates. I couldn't be happier with mine. Great product. User friendly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT!!!

Date:May 26, 2009
Easy to install and works like a charm. I have a 135hp Mercruiser and when plate is not in use, my boat still reaches top speed and planes out very well. While in use, it gives me the slowness I need.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happy with it

Date:May 5, 2009
i am very pleased with the trollong plate. it is very well made and works well. i to cut a extra notch to make it stay at a forty five degree angle. only because you do have to reeve up some to get it to move when its all the way down. i ;have a 50 horse merc and i can get to go slow enough to jig. witch is pretty slow. it takes alittle getting used to putting it up and down. i have a 15 horse kicker motor that i was trying to replace with the trolling plate. it works very well and no more second motor. simpler is better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EasyTroller Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EasyTroller Trolling Plate

Date:May 4, 2009
Works Great!! Had to put another notch in it, but it works wonderful. I put it on my 50h and I can get it all the way down to 1/2 a mile an hr. I Love it and would recommend it to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 47