Customer Reviews for Eagle Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Eagle Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack

Our FishMark? 480 Soft Pack is a portable, self-contained sonar system. Remote trips into wilderness lakes or fishing out of rentals or small boats doesn't mean you can't pack along a premium sonar. It contains Cabela's soft pack and sonar shuttle case, sealed 7-amp 12-volt battery and wall charger, suction-cup transom transducer with temp and the Eagle FishMark 480 sonar unit. The leakproof battery is capable of running the FishMark 480 over 24 hours of continuous use. And it also makes a great combo for ice fishing. An exceptionally clear 480 x 480 Film SuperTwist pixel 5" diagonal display shows minute details and crisp bottom contours for a superior depiction of the world under the water's surface. The 16 levels of GrayLine? add precise image resolution with clean lines and sharp differentiation between surface and structure types. And 1,500-watt peak-to-peak power pierces the depths for precision detail down to a maximum depth of 800 feet. A window split-screen data display permits you to keep a view of the entire water column while showing a zoom view or a large number display. FishReveal? uncovers fish hidden within weed-beds and other structures. The Hyperscroll? option gives instant screen updates for precision work with finesse lures. Fish I.D. with FishTrack? displays target depth readings above each fish symbol for quick and precise lure presentations. Screen and keypad lighting for low-light use.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Review 1 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High Performance

Date:September 27, 2009
Installed on my pontoon boat as a replacement for Lowrance 51 Pro sonar. The 480DF performs so much better than the Lowrance that came with the boat. I am very happy with 480 and it works at both high speed and trolling speed. I did not install the speed/low freq transducer that came with the unit. Installation was easy and instructions were clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rushford, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Portable Unit

Date:July 7, 2009
This is great for vacations, small fishing boats and I use it ice fishing. Very easy to use and easy to understand controls. I suggest buying an extra battery if going to remote spots where you can't recharge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:July 6, 2009
Works well-everything as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Puget Sound, WA and local lakes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finder great, softpack and wiring not too good

Date:January 22, 2009
I have not had a chance to get on the water with the unit but I have run the simulator and have used a buddy's unit with great success. I do not expect any problems with the Eagle/Lowrance unit. Great screen clarity and pixel count.
I was not as pleased with the softpack and wiring supplied with the unit. The softpack is very tight and hard to fit over the base and handle on the 'holder'. Time will tell if the nylon bag will hold up to long term use. I was very displeased with the wiring items that were supplied--I got a small box of spade lugs, no instructions (not too hard to figure out). For sure it was not a "plug and play" unit. More like a unit that is made for permanent installation in the boat put in a "kit" and called a portable.
Battery and charger look like they will be ok, and did fine on a bench test of run-time for the unit.
Overall ok but not up to what I expect from Cabelas---RAHFISH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power cable hook up and unit case.

Date:September 30, 2008
The Eagle Fishmark 480 works great but I have a problem with the power cable hook up and the soft pack that comes with the unit. If you are not very careful you can bend over or break the little wire pins in the back of it. This hook up should have been extended out away from the unit with some type of guide to make it easier to attach the power cable. Also the soft pack that comes with this unit is way too small. It is almost impossible to use. Other then these two issues I am very pleased with the fishfinder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle FishMark 480

Date:July 14, 2008
I purchased my FM 480 a week before my planned fly in trip to Canada. When I arrived it was a simple job of mounting to the transom and I was in business for the week of great fishing. The unit worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Notheastern, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good product bad accessories

Date:July 7, 2008
The sonar unit works great. However the cover for the unit is too small. The complete unit cover is also too small. Evidently it is for the smaller units that are also sold with this portable get up.
It looks like it is a one size fits all type of thing. Unfortunately the unit I bought is larger than the accessories will fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BC Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gooddeal

Date:February 20, 2008
This is a great unit, easy to put together and easy to use. I made up an ice jig for the transducer and have used it on the ice for three long days and have lots of battery life left. A friend of mine has the 320 and after seeing how his worked I had to get one. I have been fishing in about forty feet of water below the ice and can actually see my bait on the scale on the right side of the screen. My neighbour is now going to get one in time for ice off. I can't wait to try mine on the lake after the ice is off. I know it works well on the ice with good detail so let spring fishing begin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Adirondack mt. area of New York State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good sonar unit but lousy sonar adapter cable

Date:August 22, 2007
In '05 I purchased an Eagle "Fish Easy" 2 Portable for the purpose of having a portable fishfinder for use with canoe/small boat .Having trouble with the contacts on the power/transducer cable going on & off, I finally decided to move up to the "480" Eagle product this Summer, '07. Upon trying it for the first time yesterday, I find the same problem exists-the connection keeps popping out.I suggest that you have some type of screw-on connector or somehow design the connector so that it won't pop out at the least bit of disturbance.If portability is the main purpose for buying thisfinder, be aware of this defect. On the positive side, the resolution on the screen is very good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

480 is a good sonar

Date:August 21, 2007
Puchased the 480 soft pack for a Canada fly in trip. Worked great. Fished sun up to sun down with the 480 on all day. Recharged it every night and it performed with no issues. Very good resolution, marks fish, depths and structure very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: I live in Elkhart Indiana.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Eagle FishMark 480

Date:July 24, 2007
Product works fine but it did not have all the electrical connections. Had to go to the hardware store to buy the wire connectors. It also did not come with a cigarette lighter attactment which when you order a product labeled portable you would think this would be part of the deal. The directions for assembly were average at best as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good unit

Date:July 23, 2007
I found the unit easy to use once we figured out how to hook up the battery connections. Big deficiency in instructions but it went quickly once we figured out what additional pieces we needed (male and female electrical connections). Inexplicably the unit "died" on our last day of 3 days of fishing...We had no alternative power source to replace or charge the battery so we were concerned. Just as inexplicably, after about a 10 minute rest the unit came to life and worked the remainder of the trip.
The unit worked as well as I could have hoped...accurate and reliable for information. Nice size screen and good visability in all light conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First time sonar

Date:July 23, 2007
For the first sonar I ever bought for my 12' V hull jon boat, I give it two thumbs up! Assembly was a little confusing at first but I managed to figure it out. The unit comes with hardware and different mounting brackets for different ways of mounting.
The unit itself is awesome, it works well and it shows clear detail! I would recommend this unit for those who own Jon boats, canoes, or any other watercraft that is small or non-decked. The only downsides to this unit is the battery requires about 15 hours of charge and assembly can be confusing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bedford, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Full-featured sonar.... on-the-go!!

Date:July 7, 2007
The FishMark 480 scores extremely high marks because it fulfills its mission perfectly. This full-featured, high-quality, attractive unit is specifically designed for the small to mid-sized aluminum boat operating on ponds, rivers, and small lakes. Here is why: The unit comes with a suction cup mount for the underwater transducer. Please note, this is not a design flaw or an afterthought..... the transducer SHOULD be mounted with a suction cup on a portable unit. It makes the mounting quick, easy, and flexible...... and if you are not traveling a high speeds (in excess of 20 mph) it remains in place. I can set up the unit each and every time I launch my aluminum boat in less than a minute, and once it is connected, the FishMark 480 can be configured to do anything I wish. The interactive menu display allows quick and easy customization. The display is brilliant! I use the unit to navigate the islands and underwater rock formations on a 374 acre "pond" in New Hampshire, and I configure my shallow water alarms to help me negotiate some fairly tight "rock runs". No matter what you choose, the FishMark 480 will deliver; it is that good. The most important point, however, is to match this unit with the boat and fishing situation for which it was intended. If you have a 21ft, fiberglass, bass boat, with a 225hp outboard, cruising Lake Superior at 70mph, then this is not the setup for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ill
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Canada trip

Date:June 19, 2007
Took this on a recent fly in to Canada. It worked excellent, battery held up well. Very nice portable unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

480 chart

Date:June 5, 2007
Just spent a week in Ontario on a fly-in fishing trip and the unit worked great. The rechargeable battery helped. Had all the power required to provide clear and readable data.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet little unit

Date:March 30, 2007
I was looking for a quality portable unit to use on my inflatable 2-man pontoon boat and the Fishmark 480 is perfect. Since my boat is an inflatable I wanted something that was fairly easy to set up and tear down but I didn't want to sacrifice quality. The Fishmark 480 gives me plenty of resolution, has a simple interface and really good software.
Using the 480, It's fairly simple to identify the type of lake bottom, structure, as well as relative size of fish and exactly where they are.
My only complaint is that while the Fishmark comes with it's documentation, there is nothing to tell you how to put the package together. At first the unit didn't seem to fit the case and I actually thought I had been sent the wrong package but after a little time I was able to get everything put together. A pretty minor annoyance.
Overall this is a great unit right out of the box and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SW Michigan, the mitten state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

finders keepers

Date:November 20, 2006
I bought this to replace an older fish finder that "died" over the winter. I have it on a 14ft deep V fishing boat. I used the portable mounting with the suction cup.
The fish finder I like alot, with two issues that kept it from getting 5 stars. The first issue is that the suction cup does not appear to stay attached at higher speeds, about 20+mph, mine seems to fly off and bounce around in the wake behind the boat. I like the battery, has plenty of life, I used it for a week straight on one charge. I also use the battery to run a portable air compressor to blow up my trailer tires! I suppose that it could also be used to run a portable bilge pump as well.
The second issue is the unit does not fit in the bag very well, perhaps it is meant to be that way, but I did not care for it.
Cheers & good fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eagle® FishMark™ 480 Portable Sonar Unit Soft Pack
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice unit

Date:November 9, 2006
This little unit is perfect for fly-ins or anytime you need durable protability. The 480 has all the pixels you need to find fish & structure.
I've had portable units in the past that were portable but not tough enough to be "port"ed. This unit takes the inevitable abuse that occurs no matter how careful you are. The rechargable battery hasn't given me any trouble and I'm going on year 4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.