Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24

CABELA'S Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24

The next generation of lead-acid batteries, our revolutionary Advanced Anglers series uses a separator similar to fiberglass to hold the electrolyte in place. This physical bond between the separator fibers, the lead plates and the container completely eliminates leaks and makes these some of the most vibration- and impact-resistant batteries on the market. These completely maintenance-free batteries also serve double-duty on the water, serving as either a cranking battery or a deep-cycle power source. In testing, this design lasted up to 600 drain/charge cycles, giving them a life span far surpassing conventional batteries. Meets all EPA/OSHA marine requirements. FAA and DOT approved. 18-month warranty.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 138 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
13
117 out of 138(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
53 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Review 81 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Group 27 AGM Battery

Date:May 5, 2010
I bought this battery 2 years ago to the date. The first year I started having problems with it. It seemed to charge then it didn't then it did etc. This season I put the battery in and it wouldn't charge. I used this battery only to run (2) graphs. For what I paid for it I would never buy another battery like this from Cabela's again. I've had batteries that lasted for 7 years. Very angry and disappointed. I would not recommend this battery to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Value

Date:May 7, 2010
I purchased two Group 27 batteries along with a Minn Kota Fortrex 80 trolling motor. I was tired of not having enough power to manuver in tidal rivers with swift current and not having enough battery life to complete a full days fishing.
Once installed I immediately headed for the river to test the performance. I was blown away with these batteries! I fished all day long in super swift current and when I got home I plugged them into the charger and I they still had 75% charge. It only took 1.5 hours to charge back to 100% with a 10amp charger.
I have been on the water now about 20 times since they were installed and the results are the same. Super reliable and strong.
I'm going to replace my Cranking battery soon and I will be purchasing one of these baby's....1200 Cold Cranking Amps!!! I have not found anything that has that sort of power anywhere for the same money.
My advice.....Buy them and you will not be sorry!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

agm battery

Date:July 18, 2010
i bought a Cabellas size 22 battery about 10 years ago. Also bought a quality AGM charger to serviice it. (pricey but well woth it). (wish I could tell you which one) Have abused this battery severly, drained down to 4.2 volts on numerous occasions, charged partially with jumper cables from the truck and abused again... now it only pushes my trolling motor for about 2-3 hours before showing signs of age. have just ordered another one and understand that each individual battery has its own personality, some good some bad, but this battery is worth its weight in gold when the fish are biting and you are not willing to hang it up because the battery is getting tired. s o n e i l
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wind Lake, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Group 27

Date:July 27, 2010
I got an AGM last year 9-23-09. Used the battery for about 20 hunting trips! When I hooked it back up to the boat in the spring for fishing is was at 3.7 volts and wouldn't take a charge. The battery was stored in the basement and off the floor, also it was fully charged when it was stored. I'm happy I found my receipt!!! If you do buy one of these batteries KEEP your RECEIPT and have an extra battery in your boat!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Short Life

Date:September 10, 2010
I bought 2 of these batteries three years ago. One is completely dead and will not take a charge. Neither battery had the date of manufacture on the case ( or I cannot find it)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The North End of The Last Co., WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Tractor Battery!

Date:October 22, 2010
I was looking to upgrade from a group 45 wet cell battery with only 420 CCA. After doing exhaustive research I found the Cabela’s group 22 AGM battery with 670 CCA will physically fit within the limited space constrictions I have to work with. The price was good to start with but I also used a coupon and my club rewards points to bring down the price to a virtual steel. I am using this battery in a little 29 HP diesel tractor that is fairly cold-blooded. The extra CCA fires up this engine much better than the stock group 45 size battery ever did. If this battery will provide me with at least two years service then I will keep buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The 30 series rocks!!

Date:January 13, 2011
I added some big graphs to my boat this winter, HB 1197 & 998, and had a smaller battery from an area department store....I knew I better get a REAL cranking battery....you can always find a Cabela's coupon from an email and when the AGM's went on sale, it was all good!! ahahaa!! I bought a new battery tray and wired up the new battery!! That thing is sweeeet!!! Even my motor trims up a lot faster!!! ahaha!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WASHINGTON,PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Advanced Angler AGM Group 30

Date:March 2, 2011
I bought 3 AGM Group 30's to replace the aging lead acid Group 24's my boat came with. I feel their capacity has held up much better after being heavily discharged time and time again as compared to the lead acids. I feel the AGM's Group 30 stated capacities may be a bit ambitious. Can't beat the convenience of never needing to pull the battery to check the water level. My boat was equipped with batteries that had a post with a wing nut. Rather than loose the convenience of using wing nuts to hold the wiring rings I convert Cabela's AGM batteries to a wing nut on a stud as follows. Thread is Metric 6mm, 1.0 pitch. Put 3 hex nuts on a M6-1.00 x 50 cap screw and run them up loosely to the hex portion of the cap screw. Locite the threaded end of the cap screw and thread into the battery posts until you feel a little resistance indicating the end of the bolt has bottomed out. Run the 3 hex nuts down close to the post and using 2 wrenches lock the bottom 2 nuts together slightly above the post by turning one nut into the other. Determine how much of the cap screw you need extending above the post. Use the 2 locked hex nuts to hold the cap screw steady while you cut the remaining portion of the cap screw off with a dremel tool or similar cutoff tool. Try to cut as neatly as possible. Hold the "stud" with the 2 locked nuts and unthread the 3rd nut up through the cut you made to finish off and test the end threads. Unlock and remove the 2 remaining nuts, fasten your wiring rings down with a 6mm 1.0 pitch wing nut and you're set. I bought all of the above and stainless steel washers to go between the wing nut and wiring rings at a popular home improvement chain store for under $7.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent.

Date:March 6, 2011
I recently purchased the group size 22 battery to putt my little Coleman Crawdad around the electric-only ponds and streams here in Missouri.
My wife and I took it out earlier today in some pretty good wind. We were constantly being blown around requiring me to give both my new battery and my 34# Minn Kota Trolling Motor a good work out.
This battery flat out delivered.
Pros:
The terminals were easy to hook up my TM to. I really appreciated that, my old battery was kind of a pain to hook up to.
As they might say in Russia, "Is built like Tank". Seamless. Quality.
Workable handle (however, as you will see I can see some room for improvement), much better than any other battery I have seen. I fish many electric only ponds and lakes and streams so I really appreciate that.
Cons:
Super heavy. But hey, we need to stay in shape.
I wish the handle had a more comfortable design. I'm sure I'll rig something up myself with some foam or whatever I can scrounge. Not a big deal if it'll be permanently installed in your boat and hardly even worth mentioning.
Bottom line:
If you are shopping around for a new battery you can finally stop. You just found it.
I plucked mine on sale which is ongoing as I write 06MAR2011. You are getting a quality battery at approximately half the price of most comparable Blue-top units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: isle mn
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no power

Date:May 9, 2011
good bat when new life to short for the cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Edwardsburg MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not that great

Date:June 4, 2011
I purchased two of these AGM Batteries for my boat. When I installes them I had to crimp all new connectors on my wires because the new batteries use a small metric bolt to attach the wires. They do not use the standard 5/16 stud attachment with a wing nut. So they require a metric wrench to remove them and install them. plus with the small bolt size there is less contact area at the attachment point. They seem to be good batteries but could be improved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rainy Lake, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Battery swelled

Date:June 16, 2011
I bought this AGM 6/12/2010. Installed it on my Ranger along with two older batteries all connected to the on board Ranger charger. Five months usage and the balance in storage. One year and 4 days later, the AGM is swelled to the point of cracking and reading 7.4 volts. The other two older batteries are fine. Just my luck, 4 days out of warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PNW
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Batteries

Date:June 24, 2011
I currently have 2 Cabelas AGM batteries.
A group 24 purchased a little over 1 year ago and a group 27 that's about 4 months old.
My group 24 was used as a trolling motor battery for about 10 months. Then I turned it into a starting/accessories battery. Bought the new group 27 to turn into a trolling motor.
Haven't had any problems at all. Charges fast. Lasts long on the water.
I do believe the group 24 specs are inflated. The group 24 is a 75ah battery. And the group 27 is a 90ah battery.
Doesn't make sense for the group 27 to only have an extra 2 mins of RC.
I personally don't trust onboard chargers with leaving in plugged in 24/7. I have a 10amp charger that will charge the batteries. Then disconnect the charger when full.
The batteries will stay charged easily for over 1 month at full voltage. And then plug the charger back in for a little bit to top off if needed.
Always charge battery after use. Don't over charge. Should last for years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: NC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

AGM Battery has Poor Life

Date:August 10, 2011
I purchased 3 of these batteries in Feburary of 2010. 2 of the 3 have already gone bad. I keep these batteries fully charged with an onboard charger. I used 2 of them for trolling motor batteries and 1 for the cranking battery. Well one of the trolling motor batteries died and the cranking battery just as soon as the warranty expired. These batteries should have lasted longer as I have gotten Everstart batteries in the past and usually get 2 years out of those. I will not buy these batteries again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pocono's PA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for Sonar

Date:October 12, 2011
I have alternately used two of these batteries to power my Lowrance HDS-5 Sonar. I can get a full day of constant use from each of them after 4 years of use!. I did get a 3 stage 900mA charger from Napa, that works much better than the supplied single stage "Dumb" charger, and will not overcharge, Considering the price I am more than pleased with the performance of these batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wheatland Ia.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BAD BATTERY

Date:November 7, 2011
I got three of these things. I've had to replace all three. the last one lasted just out of warrenty. Cabelas should pull this junk off its shelves. Get better life out of a dept. store special.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good AGM Batteries

Date:February 18, 2012
I had a set of 2 AGM batteries for my trolling motor on my 21' BASS boat. They were in they 6 1/2 years. I only replaced them because they had been in that long. I just order another one for my cranking batteries. Best AGM for you money I think.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Batteries -

Date:March 1, 2012
I see a lot of reviews regarding failure but just as many regarding great longevity. I have used the Cabela's, Optimas, Rolls, and the basic Interstate group 27's to run my boat electronics and trolling motor. All of them perfromed well but the AGM's were much faster to recharge to full and guaranteed and equal amount of fishing time the next day.
Whats the secret? Never, never let a deep cycle or combo (start/deep cycle) battery drop below 60%. This is the limit that is used when calculating RCA's so your battery will not perform any less than the manufacturer states if you observe this simple rule.
I currently run with two Optima's and two Cabela's. The Optima blue tops are 6 years old and the Cabela's are two. Both sets perform just like the day I installed and charged them for the first time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY - CA and in between
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't Overcharge, Keep Above 50% Charge.

Date:March 8, 2012
These batteries work pretty well. The thing is, do not overcharge your batteries & do not let them fall below 50% charge. They'll last.
When I read the reviews of short life and swelling, I know the batteries have been overcharged. This is immediate death to the battery, any battery, Optima, LifeLine, Trojan, Interstate,,,,,,doesn't matter the brand....What is it about Do Not Overcharge don't people get?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Cabela's Advanced Anglers™ AGM Battery Size 24
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

3rd replacement

Date:March 15, 2012
I know that most reviews are favorable, but I've had lots of problems with my Group 27's. I ordered a pair at the end of December 2010. One failed in February and I was sent another via the replacement warranty. By the end of the summer the other one failed. Again I received a replacement via warranty. I was on the lake last week and noticed my trolling motor had barely in pull to it. I thought to myself--ugh! trolling motor is hosed. Turns out one of the batteries will only charge up to around 6v. Just had to order yet another one and this one isn't covered under the warranty. Very frustrating to say the least.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 81-100 of 138