Customer Reviews for Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 565

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 565

When it comes to big-time performance in sonar systems, Humminbird's 500 series definitely sets a new standard in the industry. With the 565's industry-leading 640 x 320 pixel count, it delivers incredible detail that you have to see to believe. And with its revolutionary accelerated real-time operation updating the screen up to 40 times per second, you'll get the instantaneous feedback of a flasher with an LCD chart's clarity. The Fishfinder 565 uses a dual-beam sonar system with a wide 60? area of coverage. Optimized to show the greatest bottom and structure definition using a narrow 20? beam, and show fish and structure from a wide 60? beam. Sonar from both beams is combined into one image on the display. Plus it boasts Humminbird's Clear Edge Inverse Grayscale to separate fish from cover and identify those normally hidden by the thermocline. The tilt and swivel quick-disconnect mount makes the unit easy to see from anywhere in the boat and incorporates all connections within the housing for instant plug-in as soon as you snap the unit in place. Available: 565 Sonar with temp.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
65 out of 71(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Review 61 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Alamosa CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hummingbird fish finder 565

Date:July 14, 2009
Fish returns are so weak and dim, it is very hard to see them. The bottom display is bright and clear. Using the fish finder on my other boat and the fish returns are bright and clear so its not that there are no fish to look for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Glenelg, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, but ...

Date:July 14, 2009
I did a lot of searching for a fishfinder before I purchased the Humminbird 565. It arrived quickly and was easy to install. For a day or so, it worked great. Then intermittently the depth reading would fluxuate randomly between 0 and 10 feet regardless of the true depth of the water. It fails approximately 50% of the time thereafter.
As always, Cabelas customer service is outstanding. I returned the unit today in exchange for a new one. Hopefully the new one will work.
The bottom line: when the Humminbird 565 was working, it worked very well. The display was crisp and easy to read even in bright sunlight. When it failed, well, it wasn't working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

565

Date:April 10, 2009
All your fish finders should come with a 20 foot long power cord and it should come with a fuse holder .I like to run the unit from my battery for less interferance from the motor and other things on the unit and one less trip to the hardware store.waiting to try in the water still ice on lakes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Springfield MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great resolution...short on durability.

Date:November 25, 2008
As a rule I have found Humminbird finders to be the most accurate for showing structure and fish. I do a lot of crappie fishing and they show up easily on the 565. My problem with it is durablity....I used it for one season...no problems....I used it for a second season and half way through it quit me....2 months out of warranty! My other finders on my boat are fine....some of them as old as 6 years. Unit was professionally mounted and I only charge my batteries through my onboard digital charger...so I doubt a spike occurred...plus the inline fuse as well as the one on the fuse block did NOT blow. I still like Humminbird...but am really dissappointed by how short it lasted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Frederick, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finds the fish

Date:July 28, 2008
I installed my Hummingbird 565 and took it out on the lake. It immediately started turning itself off and locking up. Cabelas replaced it - no questions asked. This is why I buy from Cabelas. No hassles, no fighting with manufacturers, just a brand new one in a couple of days. The second one works great. It finds fish and the color and size scheme allows me to easily see how big, how close and how deep the fish are. It reads depth accurately at my max speed of 35mph. It doesn't see many fish at planing speeds, but I don't really expect it to. The different screen views allow me to see bottom contour while trolling, then switch to a larger depth/speed/water temp display while running at high speeds. The only thing I don't like about it is the optional speed sensor - it doesn't work well at trolling speeds, and my boat already has a speedometer for high speed travel. My recommendation - buy it without the speed sensor, and specifically request that Cabelas use extra packing material in the box. The mfg box doesn't have any padding - probably why my first one was a DOA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Maryland Eastern Shore
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great set-up and screen, however

Date:June 2, 2008
The installation went like a breeze and too about two hours. Took in out on my boat in Chesapeake Bay and stopped working after about two hours. Had to return it. Hopefully it's a problem with all units
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looses signal

Date:January 25, 2008
Have had 565 for 2 years. It is a good piece of equipment for the money. I do lose signal while boat is traveling at 20 mph plus. When I loose the signal I can count on the display screen freezes up. In order to unfreeze the screen I have to slow down to about 5 mph and or turn off the fishfinder and turn it back on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

565

Date:August 29, 2007
What I do not like about the 565, is the transducer mounting bracket. It does not allow adjustment without loosening first with an allan key. Eagle for example is more of a friction bracket where a person can have it tight but still adjust it while in the water. The 565 bracket can not be easily adjusted while in the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: paradise, utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

problems right out of the box

Date:June 17, 2009
the first trip on the water in Lake Powell and the finder will jump to 675" then to some other lower number and then default to a .60' depth.
I have to shut it off and restart and it is good for ?????? time and then it does it again. Speed on the water makes no difference...dead slow or 25 mph. rechecked the installation of the sensor( i have had 3 finders...so I know how to install the sensors) ran it on a separte Cabellas battery and on the boat system.....still inconsistencly gives the .6' foot depth and I have to restart the system.
when it is working good clean screen and easy to read and navigate around the menu......must repackage, take the sensor off the boat.. undo the wiring and send it back and hope the next one works better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: the ozarks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

565 humminbird fishfinder

Date:July 8, 2008
Installed unit last April, used it three times ( 10 hrs. ) then -----#1 The buttons began to stick.---#2 I could not access the advance user screen. I have since returned it to the manufacturer and am waiting for it to be returned. Cost to return was $ 12.93. When I asked customer service to please replace unit rather than repair. I was told that on the first return they only repair the original unit. If further problems they will the replace it. I am not satisfied that I have to pay to return a defective product and that they will not replace it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Olympia, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Humminbird

Date:August 19, 2007
It took over two weeks to exchange the transducer from humming bird. I only have been out once, but could not clear the clutter, from screen. There no way I can see my jig even at 20 feet more or less 40 feet like advertised. At this time I am totally dissatisfied with it. This will be my first and last hummingbird.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-71 of 71