Customer Reviews for Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 565

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Humminbird Humminbird Fishfinder 565

When it comes to big-time performance in sonar systems, Humminbird's 500 series definitely sets a new standard in the industry. With the 565's industry-leading 640 x 320 pixel count, it delivers incredible detail that you have to see to believe. And with its revolutionary accelerated real-time operation updating the screen up to 40 times per second, you'll get the instantaneous feedback of a flasher with an LCD chart's clarity. The Fishfinder 565 uses a dual-beam sonar system with a wide 60? area of coverage. Optimized to show the greatest bottom and structure definition using a narrow 20? beam, and show fish and structure from a wide 60? beam. Sonar from both beams is combined into one image on the display. Plus it boasts Humminbird's Clear Edge Inverse Grayscale to separate fish from cover and identify those normally hidden by the thermocline. The tilt and swivel quick-disconnect mount makes the unit easy to see from anywhere in the boat and incorporates all connections within the housing for instant plug-in as soon as you snap the unit in place. Available: 565 Sonar with temp.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
65 out of 71(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Review 41 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ulster NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fish finder

Date:August 13, 2008
The unit itself works well with easy to use featurs. I did however have I problem with the charger/ battery. After one Charge the charger flashed "short/reverse" and battery would not take a charge. Problem solved by getting a new charger and battery from Cabelas. Great customer service from Cabelas but should not have needed it after such a small amount of usage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird 565

Date:September 8, 2008
I bought this unit to replace a Humminbird Wideview I'd had for several years (it just died one day on the lake), and while the screen on the 565 isn't as large, it's adequate. Easy to use, easy to read, and appears accurate in measuring depth. Very easy to install, especially since it still uses the same power plug and mounting bracket as the previous unit; I only had to mount the transducer in the existing bracket on my trolling motor, route the transducer cable exactly where the old one went, and plug the unit into the existing swivel mount. On the neg. side, the rubber covered buttons stick when depressed (fortunately the power button does not). I got a replacement without hassle (A+ for Cabelas Customer Serv., but then, that's why I almost alway buy from them), but it's buttons stuck worse than the first unit. I've found that if I push them from a slight angle vs. straight in, they pop back out ok. Seems to be getting a little better, but still a minor irratation. Even with the sticky buttons, I'd buy this unit again, but then, I'm accustomed to using a Humminbird and have had good luck in the past with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird Fishfinder 565

Date:September 9, 2008
Works great! The screen navigation and functionality are easy to understand, and I love the features.
Installation was tough since my 15-year old son and I did the wiring and installed the sonar from scratch. The instructions are pretty good, although there are some steps that are subject to "interpretation". The first time out with the boat the sonar worked perfectly, but we had an awesome "rooster-tail" from the transducer.
A call to Humminbird indicated that I probably had the transducer installed to close to the bottom of the hull. We'll see if repositioning the transducer will help on our next outing.
Overall, great experience!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy!

Date:September 15, 2008
This is my first fish finder, and so far has been a great product. It was fairly easy to install and has enough adjustments and customizations that it allows you to make your own. Very easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dr.G Vancouver,Washington U.S.A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird Fishfinder 565

Date:September 23, 2008
Have used a total of 10 fishing days and all and all quite satisfied! Has locked up 3 times showing water depth at 6 ft.,but by removing from base it reset and worked fine.Screen. view great even in bright sunshine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central coast of California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good sonar

Date:September 27, 2008
After using this sonar unit for the past couple weeks, I would say that it works very well. The Hummingbird 565 has a clear picture and fairly accurate. I have used it in fresh and salt water. It has proven reliable in waters upt to 200 feet for me so far in salt water and 110 feet in fresh water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, Illinois area. Musky-pike-walleye-bass
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Portable Unit

Date:October 7, 2008
I recommend this Humminbird 565 portable unit. I chose this model because it has a 20/60 degree transducer and because of its high resolution. It marked fish and showed bottom structure very good. I took it on just one fishing trip so far, so I have not experimented very much with manual usage or other features, and used in full auto mode. The menus makes sense once you punch thru them and play around with it a little. This unit also has a "simulator mode" you can use when it's not in the water, so you can play around with the menus and settings.
The portable package included with this is excellent. A good, solid plastic base and handle are included. All wire connections are underneath this base so they are out of the way. The unit is a quick-disconnect type, so you can remove it from the base without disconnecting cables. The transducer cable connects up front and is easy to get at. The portable 12 volt battery sits nicely out of the way behind the unit and is secured by velcro straps. This battery lasted for a week-long, fish-all-day fishing trip without a recharge. A battery charger is included. All this fits in a nice well-made heavy nylon-canvas (backpack type) bag with extra pockets with zippers, D rings and a no-skid bottom. Flaps zip open and tie down when using the unit. A portable suction cup transducer holder is also included. I cannot comment on that as I did not use it. I bought a portable aluminum bracket for the transducer. (also sold by Cabela's--wrote a review on that too) You will be happy with this portable unit because it is easy to carry around and use and the fishfinder itself is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Springfield MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great resolution...short on durability.

Date:November 25, 2008
As a rule I have found Humminbird finders to be the most accurate for showing structure and fish. I do a lot of crappie fishing and they show up easily on the 565. My problem with it is durablity....I used it for one season...no problems....I used it for a second season and half way through it quit me....2 months out of warranty! My other finders on my boat are fine....some of them as old as 6 years. Unit was professionally mounted and I only charge my batteries through my onboard digital charger...so I doubt a spike occurred...plus the inline fuse as well as the one on the fuse block did NOT blow. I still like Humminbird...but am really dissappointed by how short it lasted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: fresno ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

this is a hummdinger of a humminbird

Date:March 23, 2009
this is the second unit i have bought-first one in 1981 an it is still working great-just wanted one for the back of the boat-dont know what i did without it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

565

Date:April 10, 2009
All your fish finders should come with a 20 foot long power cord and it should come with a fuse holder .I like to run the unit from my battery for less interferance from the motor and other things on the unit and one less trip to the hardware store.waiting to try in the water still ice on lakes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Diamond Springs CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HUMMIN BIRD 565

Date:May 11, 2009
GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY, USE IT ON BY BOW MOUNT FOR MY BASS BOAT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value but why two transducers?

Date:May 27, 2009
Great screen, easy to use but a bit tough to install especially when you have two different mechanisms to adhere to the transom. On the previous sonar unit, only one tansducer housed both speed and temp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: st. clair shores, mi.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent unit

Date:May 29, 2009
I bought the Humminbird 565 portable because I wanted a sonar that would be versatile. I can rent a boat and take the unit with me or I can hook it to a permanent cable on a friends or my future boat. The unit works exremely well. It is very accurate and reliable. I goes along time on a single charge. The portable carrying case is a real nice high quality piece which keeps everything you need for your bird stored securely. Another plus to this unit is that it is easy to use for anyone,even those who are electronically backwards like myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Package

Date:June 1, 2009
I bought this for a Canada remote trip planned later this summer. When it arrived it was as advertised and easy to put together. The bag had just enough room to hold everything , but no extra room, I would say just the right size. Played around with the demo mode and found the menus easy to navigate.
Took it out last weekend for a trial run and was really impressed. Very good detail of fish and structure. It really made a difference and yes it put us in the fish. If I had a complaint it would be the suction cup mount for the transducer. It came off a few times under power, but no big deal. So I made a portable mount for it using a piece of broom handle,clamp,and a few pipe hangers at the hardware store for 10 bucks.
I can't imagine a better portable fish finder for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: cedar grove, Wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hard to install

Date:June 6, 2009
if you get the non portable one it is very confusing to install. other wise it is awesome. Great graphics, very easy to use. big screen!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sumas, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

humminbird fishfinder 565

Date:June 15, 2009
Was easy to install marks fish all over screan from top to bottom depths, good clarity, purchased with speed wheel this also works well. Nice to be able to keep same speed accurately when trolling into or with the wind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: paradise, utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

problems right out of the box

Date:June 17, 2009
the first trip on the water in Lake Powell and the finder will jump to 675" then to some other lower number and then default to a .60' depth.
I have to shut it off and restart and it is good for ?????? time and then it does it again. Speed on the water makes no difference...dead slow or 25 mph. rechecked the installation of the sensor( i have had 3 finders...so I know how to install the sensors) ran it on a separte Cabellas battery and on the boat system.....still inconsistencly gives the .6' foot depth and I have to restart the system.
when it is working good clean screen and easy to read and navigate around the menu......must repackage, take the sensor off the boat.. undo the wiring and send it back and hope the next one works better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Holter Lake
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bargain for a usable fish-finder

Date:June 19, 2009
I've used it for a year and it's an excellent unit. Be sure to demand the surface thermometer, but don't waste your money on the speedometer or GPS options (unless you "cross the bar" or fish out of sight of land).
One battery charge will probably last you all year long. I fish 2 or 3 times a week and have never needed to re-charge. I leave it on the charger all winter ong and the battery loves it.
Don't try to use the permanent mount if you have an aluminum boat. You'll never be able to find a turbulence-free spot. I know. I tried and finally gave up, using the excellent suction-cup mount.
Tight lines!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sun Peaks, Brirish Columbia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Humminbird 565

Date:July 13, 2009
This is the third fishfinder that i have had in my fishing life and probably the best. Easy to use . I like the dual scanning and the carrying case (a portable). Recommend it to others.It is a little awkward to connect and disconnect the battery while it is in the case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Humminbird Fishfinder 565
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Glenelg, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, but ...

Date:July 14, 2009
I did a lot of searching for a fishfinder before I purchased the Humminbird 565. It arrived quickly and was easy to install. For a day or so, it worked great. Then intermittently the depth reading would fluxuate randomly between 0 and 10 feet regardless of the true depth of the water. It fails approximately 50% of the time thereafter.
As always, Cabelas customer service is outstanding. I returned the unit today in exchange for a new one. Hopefully the new one will work.
The bottom line: when the Humminbird 565 was working, it worked very well. The display was crisp and easy to read even in bright sunlight. When it failed, well, it wasn't working.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 71