Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Briggs & Stratton Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor

Everything about this versatile 4-cycle 5-hp motor, from its safety features to its power and easy handling, adds up to an unbeatable value. This lightweight motor weighs in at just 56 pounds, so it's highly portable and easy to hook up. The 5-hp motor gives you ample power for navigating small crafts. It even comes with a 3-gallon remote fuel tank. Plus, you get all the benefits of 4-cycle OHV technology, but at a more economical cost than its 2 and 4-cycle counterparts. The gear shift makes it easy to switch from forward to neutral and reverse. Manual start. Comes equipped with a three-blade aluminum prop. EPA and CARB compliant. Weight: 56 lbs. Colors: Black, Camouflage.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Review 1 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You Cannot Do Better For the Money

Date:November 22, 2008
Bought this Motor in '06 for duck hunting. It is absolutely Stellar, especially for the 899 (camo version) we paid for it. We even use it in the late season when the whole boat and motor are covered in ice. It starts Right up every Time and moves our 16 foot boat around very well even when loaded down with two of us, decoys, and my overweight silver lab. We are still on our first prop- and the motor runs just as well as it did when we pulled it out of the box.
I see it has 3 bad reviews out of 17 total, dont let those nay-sayers sway you- this would still be a great motor if the price was twice what they are asking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exactly what I thought it was

Date:July 18, 2008
Bought this motor to put on my 14 foot Lowe bass jon boat. With the fishing deck, special chairs and batteries for my electric troller I figure the Jon boat outfitted the way it is at about 300+ lbs without passengers. I put the BS 5hp motor on the back and away we went. It performs about as I expected. It is certainly loud, but I knew that going in. The vibration from a single cylinder engine is worse than I thought it would be but for the price and performance of this engine it can't be beat. It really sips fuel, which is not a bad virtue these days.
I have been running it in different lakes all over Pa. since I retired with no down time. I did cut a piece of 2x4 wood about 8 inches long to lock the motor in the up position when I want it raised, I raise it when I troll electrically. I got this idea from another BS 5 HP owner and it seems to be a good fix. The idle speed for me is about 3mph, even with my weight load. Top speed is about 7-8 MPH, I reach this at about 60/70 % throttle which is not bad. Always starts on the first or second pull.
Overall, considering price and performance I like it very much. It was really cheaper than those electric 3 and 5 HP motors and I don't need 6 storage batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fremont,Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:July 15, 2008
great motor it pushes my 12 aluminum boat just as fast and faster than other 5 hp outboards , very easy on gas and very dependable 2 to 3 pull start when engine is cold and 1 pull start when its warm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NORTH EAST TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT MOTOR

Date:February 27, 2008
I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS MOTOR FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS BUT IT HAS BEEN A GREAT MOTOR SO FAR. I PUT IT ON A 12ft FLAT BOTTOM JOHN BOAT.I CLOCKED IT THE OTHER DAY WITH MY GPS AND IT WILL RUN ABOUT 15mph WITH ME AND MY 4 year old AND ALL OF OUR FISHING GEAR . I HAVE NOT HAD MUCH TIME TO GIVE A REAL GOOD REVIEW BUT SO FAR I HAVE BEEN IMPRESSED WITH IT. THE IDLE SPEED IS A BIT FAST (3mph) AND THE MOTOR DOES NOT HAVE A TILT LOCK THOSE ARE MY TWO GRIPES ABOUT IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Motor

Date:November 26, 2007
I have had this motor for 2+ years since it first came out and it works GREAT! Always starts right up, usually no more then 2 pulls! Not the fatsest motor, but reliable. Moves my 12ft V-hull faster then troling speed when loaded with 2 guys and all gear. Highly reccomended motor for those hard to get spots. Best alternative to a mud motor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Briggs & Stratton Outboard

Date:July 17, 2007
I received the motor in great shape. It started on the first pull after reading the instructions. It is an excellent motor for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Osorno , CHILE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my motor

Date:November 29, 2006
exelent second motor for my tri-hull boat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee, Fl
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Briggs abd Stratton Outboard Motor

Date:November 14, 2006
The over all quality of this motor is outstanding. I have used it many times since my purchase. It has already been dropped and hit several submereged trees trunks and has continued to work flawlessly. I could have spent twice the money for another brand for a two cycle motor but I doubt it would have performed as well. The main advantage to this outboard is when (if it ever) breaks down I can fix it without having to go to an expensive outboard repair shop. In can purchase parts for the motor from my lawn mower repair shop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Briggs & Straton Outboard

Date:October 20, 2006
I purchased this engine used from a fellow who tried it on a heavey 15ft fiberglass boat and was not pleased with the performance although that is his personal opinion. My boat is an aluminum 14ft Starcraft and weighs 150lbs. The engine always starts on the first pull. Fuel consumption according to B&S is 1/2 gallon per hour at full throttle. Some have complained that the engine is loud because of it's above water exhaust. At idle and trolling it is not overly loud...when opened up it has a "growl" sound. At 1/3 throttle it will move my boat with two persons right along. At 1/3 to 1/2 throttle, that is where I use it most of the time, there is the classical single cylinder enging vibration. I that is an issue then consider a twin cylinder engine, although you will be in the 8-9.8hp class. Trolling is quite brisk, and if at some time a lower pitch prop is available to slow down the trolling speed I would buy it. On a heavier boat it maybe the right trolling speed as supplied from the factory. I mostly use the engine to "get from here to there" and turn on my electric trolling motor for fishing. Best part is that this engine is half the price of the imports. Please keep in mind this is not a lawn mower engine stuck on top of a lower unit...it is designed from the ground up as a four stroke, AIR COOLED outboard. I like to call my engine "American Iron". I am pleased with the engine and would reccommend it with out reservation especially if you can't afford a $1400. to $1600 import or don't want to risk purchasing an engine used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value so far!

Date:August 14, 2008
I just bought mine. Only out one time but already impressed.
Surprised how much power it has compared to my '70s era 5 hp 2-stroke. Much better.
I'm guessing that the 'afore mentioned 15 mph is abt right at full-throttle on my 15' jon boat.
The lake seems alot smaller now!
Only problem I had was with the twist-throttle handle. If I didn't hold it firmly in place, it would migrate back to abt 1/2 throttle.
I like to set the speed and leave it alone, just using the metal handle to hang onto when under way. Doing this on the lake would let the throttle-handle migrate back to half-speed.
Didn't care much for that.
Maybe vibration causes this, or maybe it's a safety feature.
Anyhow, fixed this by rolling a 1.5-2" dia. O-ring up over the handle and into the space at the top of the twist-grip to create more friction. Seems to stay in place now.
Again, compared to other 5 hp outboards this one seems like an excellent value. A little loud, true, but I don't really need to sneak-up on anything.
11.5 cu in displacement compared to my old motor with 6 cu in.
I like it, the camo finish looks tough!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: southern ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ohiofishman2

Date:August 7, 2008
great little motor. a little noisy. vibrates a little. Overall a good buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Waconia, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shallow Water Rig

Date:October 25, 2007
Bought this in a drought year as our duck slough was down a couple of feet, choked with weeds, and the standard outboard was no longer an option. Amazed on how well this motor runs through the shallows and heavy weeds. Not mud-motor good, but really, really good.
Engine is fussy in starting and often stalls when going into gear when cold, but that is the only thing that prevents a five star rating.
Very good value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: AB, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Briggs 5hp

Date:July 9, 2007
For an air cooled outboard, this engine is pretty solid, and not exactly quiet! So far, not out of the break-in period, I'm happy with the push of this motor on my 10 ft Walker Bay.
Can't beat the price for the HP; great utility engine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: up state New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

5hp briggs & Stratton out board motor

Date:August 11, 2008
I was not pleased it started good but underload it popped and missed hard to keep it running even after warm. It possiblely had a faulty carb or ign. But the good news is that Cabela's took it back and gave me a full refund no questions asked they are great to deal with. I was a little turned off after getting a lemon I bought a electric trolling motor from Cabel's and it works great I think it's as fast as the gas powered motor and goes a long time on a charged battery. You may have better luck with the briggs & stratton than I did, I have had other briggs motors before and didn't have any problems with them and I really like the buying experience I had with Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: concord, nh
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I thought it would be

Date:July 15, 2008
There is a reason this motor is so cheap. Because it is. Ive used it twice. First time it idled so high it left a wake in trolling speed. I bought this motor to troll with. If your buying it for that reason forget about it. After the first run I made the adjustments per the manual to slow down the idle speed. Then it ran even worse and died on me. I had to row the boat back in. Bottom line I shouldnt have to tinker with something thats brand new. I am returning it for a nissan 4stroke through cabelas. Hope I have better luck with that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ARIZONA DESERT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

B&S lover

Date:June 26, 2008
I took this motor out of the box, hung it on the boat, went to the lake and started it. we went about 30ft and quit. I managed to get off the lake, out it back in the box and gave it back to the dealer. I would have taken another in it's place but they did not have one. I will try another when they are available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Briggs and Stratton Outboard Motor
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

outboard motor

Date:May 7, 2008
Used on 14ft john boat. Motor was loud very loud at full throttle. Had bad vibration 1/2 throttle and not good at all speeds. Idle speed to fast 3 mph to fast for trolling. Sent back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.