Customer Reviews for ROCK HOPPER Rock Hopper Motor Guard

ROCK HOPPER Rock Hopper Motor Guard

Submerged rocks, stumps and debris can take an expensive toll on your motor and lower unit, but you can significantly reduce damage to your lower unit and skeg with this motor guard. The innovative lower wing slides over obstacles to protect your motor. Plus, it's hydrodynamically designed for minimal performance loss. The stainless steel construction is tough enough to handle the hardest collisions. The result is a longer lasting motor with higher resale value. Installs in just 15 minutes and can be easily removed. Endorsed by Canadian fish camps. A stabilizer arm is required for Johnson Evinrude 20, 25, or 30hp 1998 and newer.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Review 1 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2015

Great for a kicker

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have used this on my boat for a whole season now. I have it on a Merc 9.9 Pro Kicker. I am very pleased. My dad bumped a rock with it and it held up great. I have only used it on a kicker and not tried to use it at high speeds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014

Great Product,It"s like having 4X4 for a boat!!!

By
I use this on my 2009 30hp 2 stroke merc, and a smokercraft 16 big fish. I travel to Northern Ontario Canada back lakes for walley, lots of rocks and stumps. Works great, it does slow the boat down 2-3 MPH, turns just a bit slower, and does eat a bit extra fuel. But I can go just about anywhere with no worries.I take it off when i fish close to home, where i don"t have to worry about rocks. So far I have hit 2 big rock-bolders with motor tilted up, and several stumps. No damage at all to prop or lower end.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2010

rock hopper

By
Location: ga from the swamp
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
this thing makes my boat 4 wheel drive i love it have a 35 hp 78'johnson and my friends come and borrow my boat cause they dont have one haha i have hit rocks inthe flint river at 25 mph and no damage yet i can test a prouduct out till its max but havent had a problem with mine yet if you ain"t got one you need one if you got one run it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2009

Great product

By
Location: Iowa
I'd say it is a little too spendy, but I wouldn't run with out one. It does add a couple of inches to the over all length. I am going to try it with a jack plate. This is my second one and I haven't had any problems. It has been in the rocks a lot. I fish shallow rivers and haven't had to replace a prop yet. You still have to go slow and make sure your motor is unlocked. I looked all over and it was the same price everywhere. Hope this helps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

Great investment

By
1st time out with the boat I purchashed I hit a rock. glad I had the hopper on as it protected the motor and paid for itself!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2008

Rock Hopper

By
Location: Haines Alaska
I really put this thing thru the test salmon fishing the chilkat river. I hit rocks at wide open throttle going up river and ran aground several times. The rock hopper performed flawlessly. My new prop had only paint chips from sand that was stirred up from the bottom. No other damage. Other products similar to the rockhopper did not posess the same durability or coverage of protection. This rock hopper will outlive the motor for sure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2008

BUY IT

By
Location: Fargo, ND
Very solid, well made, easy to install. As crazy as it sounds, I am looking forward to hitting something!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2007

rock hopper

By
works great. easy to install.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2007

Rock Hopper Motor Guard

By
Excellent product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2007

Best on the market

By
Location: nc
This protects the gear case, skeg and prop. Very well made and gives the best protection for the lower unit that I have found out there. Trust me, I have put it to the test.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Great for smaller outboards!

By
Location: Canada
After blowing a prop from running aground, I picked this up for my 30 HP Johnson. Since then, I have had several more 'incidents' and the skeg and new composite prop are unharmed. It will pay for itself very quickly. I can now use a lower priced composite prop, and don't need to worry about running over rocks and being stranded in the middle of the lake. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Great for Smacken Rocks.....

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The Rock Hopper is great for hitting rocks and stumps head on. Does not protect the prop from the side. It does get you up a shallow river great just don't make any sharp turns when your going over rocks.
This model does not fit the 28 hp Evinrude SP.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Hopper Motor Guard
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

Ok, but not great

By
Location: Coldspring, TX
I received my Rock hopper and I wanted to comment on it. I tried it out. It does install very easily. It does protect against hard and damaging hits to the prop. That is the good side. However it does not protect much against shallow running and small rocks which can be sucked up in the prop. Also the boat now will not plain out. I cannot say this is true for other boats, but this boat will not plain with the rock hopper on it. For some it may be ok, but the problem with the boat not going to plain is an issue with me. I have my motor set at max height and the rock hopper causes the motor to skid at throttle and the boat only pulls a wheelie while the motor suck air. Lowering the motor might fix this problem, but then it causes other problems. So I have removed the rock hopper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.